As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Gillespie and I - A Novel - cover

Gillespie and I - A Novel

Jane Harris

Publisher: Harper Perennial

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

From the Orange Prize-nominated author of The Observations comes an absorbing, atmospheric exploration of one young woman’s friendship with a volatile artist and her place in the controversy that consumes him. Jane Harris’s Gillespie and I presents a strongly voiced female protagonist evocative of Moll Flanders and Becky Sharp, who offers a keen sensibility, deeply felt observations, and poignant remembrances of the world of a young artist in turn-of-the-century Glasgow in this fantastic work of historical fiction. London’s Sunday Times calls Gillespie and I “a literary novel where the storytelling is as skilful as the writing is fine.” Fans of The Piano Teacher and The Thirteenth Tale will find it irresistible and unforgettable.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Phoenix of Florence - Mystery and murder in medieval Italy - cover

    The Phoenix of Florence -...

    Philip Kazan

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    'Stunningly, unputdownably good' Diane Setterfield, author of Once Upon a River 
    Deep in the Tuscan countryside, a long-held feud between two aristocratic families ends in tragedy, leaving only one young girl alive. 
    Years later, amidst the winding streets and majestic facades of Florence, two murders are not all they seem. As Onorio Celavini, commander of the Medici police force, investigates, he is horrified to find a personal connection to the crimes, and a conspiracy lurking beyond. 
    Poignant and compelling, The Phoenix of Florence is a richly told and cleverly crafted tale of a struggle for identity and a battle for justice in an Italy besieged by war. 
    'A beautifully written tale of the Florentine underworld' The Times
    Show book
  • Single White Vampire - cover

    Single White Vampire

    Lynsay Sands

    • 4
    • 21
    • 0
    “[Sands’s] trademark humor and genuine characters…keep her series fresh and her readers hooked.”—Publishers Weekly The third book in her phenomenal Argeneau vampire series, Single White Vampire by the incomparable Lynsay Sands is an unadulterated delight! This paranormal romance classic follows the romantic adventures of a dark and handsome immortal who writes paranormal romances, and who’d love to sink his teeth into his sexy new editor. When it comes to red hot vampire love stories, New York Times and USA Today bestseller Lynsay Sands is Queen of the Night!
    Show book
  • Ham On Rye - A Novel - cover

    Ham On Rye - A Novel

    Charles Bukowski

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    “Wordsworth, Whitman, William Carlos Williams, and the Beats in their respective generations moved poetry toward a more natural language. Bukowski moved it a little farther.” –Los Angeles Times Book Review   
    In what is widely hailed as the best of his many novels, Charles Bukowski details the long, lonely years of his own hardscrabble youth in the raw voice of alter ego Henry Chinaski. From a harrowingly cheerless childhood in Germany through acne-riddled high school years and his adolescent discoveries of alcohol, woman, and the Los Angeles Public Library's collection of D.H. Lawrence, Ham on Rye offers a crude, brutal, and savagely funny portrait of an outcast's coming-of-age during the desperate days of the Great Depression.
    Show book
  • Sins of the Fathers - cover

    Sins of the Fathers

    Susan Howatch

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The “grippingly readable” New York Times–bestselling follow-up to The Rich Are Different: a tale of wealth, greed, and power in post-WWII New York (The Sunday Times).   Among the Wall Street elite, no name inspires as much awe and envy as Van Zale. The family’s sprawling banking empire, run by the determined and talented Cornelius Van Zale, is thriving. Their lifestyle, glittering and luxurious, is the epitome of the American Dream. But behind the gilded perfection of their public persona, the Van Zales hide dark secrets: a world of complicated affairs, bitter rivalries, dangerous alliances, and grasping corruption.   Vicky Van Zale, caught between the maneuverings of her father, Cornelius, and the ambitions of her husband and lover, finds herself a pawn in a vicious battle for control. And they’re all willing to pay any price to win—no matter how deadly.   Author Susan Howatch, renowned for her historical family sagas, takes on the disturbing world of the American elite in this novel inspired by the bitter reigns of Julius Caesar, Mark Antony, and Octavian, a classic tale of American avarice in the booming postwar years that still resonates today.  This ebook features an illustrated biography of Susan Howatch including rare photos and never-before-seen documents from the author’s personal collection.  
    Show book
  • The Procession - cover

    The Procession

    Kahlil Gibran

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A collection of poetry by Kahlil Gibran, Eastern literature’s most prolific thinker and the author of The Prophet, one of the most renowned books of the last century. Kahlil Gibran’s reflections on the wistful beauty, lofty majesty, and abiding peace of Eastern wisdom revolutionized Arab literature. This collection of dramatic poems uses the dialogue between age and youth as a platform to discuss deep subjects such as freedom, death, and the eternal soul. From “Of Life and Sorrow” to “Of Science and Knowledge,” Gibran’s vision transcends boundaries of religion and culture, finding beauty and wisdom in the universal struggles of everyday life.
    Show book
  • The Ice Storm - A Novel - cover

    The Ice Storm - A Novel

    Rick Moody

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A “powerful” novel of two families and a brutal winter storm in suburban Connecticut by the award-winning author of Purple America (Newsday). A potentially devastating blizzard approaches New Canaan, Connecticut, while internal forces of desire, frustration, and ennui threaten to tear apart two quintessentially affluent, suburban families. Elena Hood rightfully suspects her husband, Benjamin, is having an affair with neighbor Janey Williams, while Benjamin resents Elena and his mounting feelings of ineptitude. As the snow begins to fall, Benjamin and Elena, as well as Janey and her husband, attend a neighborhood “key party,” where they and other respectable suburbanites agree to go home with whomever’s keys they draw from a bowl. Meanwhile, the Hoods’ and Williams’s teenage children are caught up in their own experimentations with sex and drugs as they test the boundaries of their structured upbringing.   With author Rick Moody’s sharp eye for the nuances of suburban life and allusions to 1970s America from Watergate to the Fantastic Four, the novel’s landscape is vivid and immersive. This timeless, unforgettable novel is a compassionate portrayal of flawed characters and reflects Rick Moody’s sharp eye for the contradictions of suburban life.This ebook features an illustrated biography of Rick Moody including rare images from the author’s personal collection.
    Show book