Pimp your reading experience and read without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Gillespie and I - A Novel - cover

Gillespie and I - A Novel

Jane Harris

Publisher: Harper Perennial

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

From the Orange Prize-nominated author of The Observations comes an absorbing, atmospheric exploration of one young woman’s friendship with a volatile artist and her place in the controversy that consumes him. Jane Harris’s Gillespie and I presents a strongly voiced female protagonist evocative of Moll Flanders and Becky Sharp, who offers a keen sensibility, deeply felt observations, and poignant remembrances of the world of a young artist in turn-of-the-century Glasgow in this fantastic work of historical fiction. London’s Sunday Times calls Gillespie and I “a literary novel where the storytelling is as skilful as the writing is fine.” Fans of The Piano Teacher and The Thirteenth Tale will find it irresistible and unforgettable.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Hidden - A British Police Procedural set in 1970's England - cover

    The Hidden - A British Police...

    Sally Spencer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Monika Paniatowski knows exactly who the killer is – but there’s no way she can tell anyone else! DCI Paniatowski’s team are increasingly convinced that the girl found dead in the woods is the victim of a ritual killing, carried out by a secret society which has been established in the very heart of Whitebridge. Their problem is that without Paniatowski there to back them up, they find it impossible to persuade the ambitious DCI ‘Rhino’ Dixon that treating it as a mere domestic murder will get them nowhere. And so Meadows, Crane and Beresford find themselves out on a limb - cutting corners, ignoring procedure, and running the very real risk that their careers could be brought to an abrupt and dramatic end.Meanwhile, Monika herself knows not only who the killer is, but also that he is stalking Louisa, her beloved daughter. But as she is one of the killer’s victims too, and is lying in a coma – hearing everything, but unable to move or speak – there is nothing she can do about it!
    Show book
  • Selected Short Stories of Nietzsche - cover

    Selected Short Stories of Nietzsche

    Friedrich Nietzsche

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    The German philosopher Friedrich Nietzsche became one of the most influential thinkers of the nineteenth century. Nietzsche's utterance 'God is dead', his insistence that the meaning of life is to be found in purely human terms, and his doctrine of the Superman and the will to power were all later seized upon and unrecognisably twisted by, among others, Nazi intellectuals. The works of Friedrich Nietzsche have fascinated readers around the world ever since the publication of his first book more than a hundred years ago.
    Show book
  • BC Blues Crime 3-Book Bundle - Creep Undertow Cold Girl - cover

    BC Blues Crime 3-Book Bundle -...

    R.M. Greenaway

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Dion and Leith aren’t just detectives, they’re human beings. See, that’s the problem. 
     
    
    
    RCMP officer David Leith and his team investigate a series of murders from the snowbound Hazeltons to Lower Mainland B.C. in this atmospheric new crime series. 
     
    
    
    Cold Girl — Book #1 
    
    A singer vanishes in the snowbound Hazeltons. Has she been snatched by the so-called Pickup Killer? Investigator David Leith has much to contend with — punishing weather and wily witnesses, plus a young constable who’s more hindrance than help. Suspects multiply, but only at the bitter end does Leith discover who is the coldest girl of all. 
     
    
    
    Undertow — Book #2 
    
    RCMP detective Leith fears he’s made a mistake bringing his family to North Vancouver. His first Serious Crimes Unit case has rocked his senses: who would brutally murder a mother, father, and baby? Detective Dion, also regretting the move, has returned to the city where he no longer fits in — but is he back in the swim, or destined to drown? 
     
    
    
    Creep — Book #3 
    
    A pair of dead bodies don’t seem linked, or even suspicious, at first, but Dion and Leith soon find themselves with a hairy murder case on their hands. As Dion gets tangled up with a witness and Leith loses himself in the case, a different kind of killer is on the prowl. But the rumours about him being more than human can’t possibly be true …
    Show book
  • Shadows of the Past - cover

    Shadows of the Past

    Ikechukwu Joseph

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the beauty salon woman's house the strange ring cried out at midnight. "I want to drink water. I want to drink water," repeatedly. The curious husband of the Saloon owner dropped the crying ring into a bucket of water and behold the act was displayed and played out the money game. The ring transformed into a kid's head. Drinking the water the kid's head vomitted bundles of money at each gulp. In the morning the man rushed to the bank and deposited the money...“The law should not just have found me only guilty but also human, not only to have condemned me but to have corrected me also, not only lowered me but would have given me a second chance. The police instead of being peace keepers or peace enforcement agents, they prefer to enforce the law. They prefer crime detection to crime prevention. Crime detectives wait for a crime to be committed instead of preventing it and in some strange cases will lure you or help you into breaking the law so that they can enforce it. The world I met! No one told me that there was no uhuru. No one told me that all that glitters were not gold. No one told me that all that are black are not bad...""I came across a membership document of a white lodge in his file. Some detailed information there said that two pythons are fighting over his life. The day one kills the other, he will die. Pastor could this be serious. I dont know what I have gotten into in this marriage?" the wife cried...Shadows of the Past (Shadows Series Book One) is a page turner and game changer. A novel of how the dark past comes to haunt people. Some were swallowed by the past while others overcame. This series is revealing and suspense full. Get your own copy today and recommend it to others.
    Show book
  • Refuge - A Novel - cover

    Refuge - A Novel

    Merilyn Simonds

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    To whom do we offer refuge — and why?
     
    After a life that rubbed up against the century’s great events in New York City, Mexico, and Montreal, 96-year-old Cassandra MacCallum is surviving well enough, alone on her island, when a young Burmese woman contacts her, claiming to be kin. Curiosity, loneliness, and a slender filament of hope prompts the old woman to accept a visit. But Nang’s story of torture and flight provokes memories in Cass that peel back, layer by layer, the events that brought her to this moment — and forces her, against her will, to confront the tragedy she has refused for half a century. Could her son really be Nang’s grandfather? What does she owe this girl, who claims to be stateless because of her MacCallum blood? Drawn, despite herself, into Nang’s search for refuge, Cass struggles to accept the past and find a way into whatever future remains to her.
    Show book
  • None So Deadly - A Cullen and Cobb Mystery - cover

    None So Deadly - A Cullen and...

    David A. Poulsen

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    A police investigator’s murder has put Cullen and Cobb back on a twenty-five-year-old cold case. 
     
    
    
    It’s a case that has haunted Cullen and Cobb for years  — the murder of eleven-year-old Faith Unruh. And now the brutal killing of a police investigator who was similarly obsessed with the little girl’s murder has put PI Mike Cobb and former crime-writing journalist Adam Cullen back on the killer’s trail — and directly in the line of fire. 
     
    
    As the case is unfolding, Cullen is desperately trying to get out from under the thumb of a local biker gang without ruining his relationship, getting arrested … or worse.
    Show book