Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
The Annotated Pride and Prejudice: A Revised and Expanded Edition - cover

The Annotated Pride and Prejudice: A Revised and Expanded Edition

Jane Austen

Publisher: CDED

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Pride And Prejudice, the story of Mrs. Bennet's attempts to marry off her five daughters is one of the best-loved and most enduring classics in English literature. Excitement fizzes through the Bennet household at Longbourn in Hertfordshire when young, eligible Mr. Charles Bingley rents the fine house nearby. He may have sisters, but he also has male friends, and one of these—the haughty, and even wealthier, Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy—irks the vivacious Elizabeth Bennet, the second of the Bennet girls. She annoys him. Which is how we know they must one day marry. The romantic clash between the opinionated Elizabeth and Darcy is a splendid rendition of civilized sparring. As the characters dance a delicate quadrille of flirtation and intrigue, Jane Austen's radiantly caustic wit and keen observation sparkle.

Other books that might interest you

  • My Animals (and Other Family) - A rural childhood 1937-1956 - cover

    My Animals (and Other Family) -...

    Phyllida Barstow

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Falling truly, madly, deeply in love with one animal after another was a recurrent theme of the author’s childhood, actively encouraged by her beautiful, impetuous mother as she single-handedly held the family together during the war’s darkest days.
    
    While her husband’s regiment battled through the Tunisian desert to Italy and Austria, she criss-crossed beleaguered Britain with children, ration books, and an unwieldy train of rabbits, dogs, cats and ponies, dreaming of land of her own.
    
    But farming can’t be learned overnight, and translated into the reality of 400 acres of hilly, rain-lashed Radnorshire, that dream became a challenge for all ranks. Dragooned into acting as unskilled, unpaid labour for jobs that would make today’s Health-and-Safety freaks blench – burning rushes, driving tractors, riding on Land-Rover bonnets and towering haywains – the children came to look on boarding-school as a rest-cure, though they retain from those days of carefree, unregulated farm life a treasure-house of memories. 
    
    This elegant memoir, told with disarming honesty and gentle humour, follows the development of a lively, headstrong, self-effacing young girl into womanhood.
    Show book
  • Generation Robot - A Century of Science Fiction Fact and Speculation - cover

    Generation Robot - A Century of...

    Terri Favro

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    A history of robotics and technology told from Terri Favro's experiences growing up with robots on TV to today's technological reality. 
    
    
    
    
    For fans of Mary Roach and Jon Ronson, written from the point of view of the late-boomer generation known as Generation Jones (born 1954 to 1962). 
    
    
    
    
    Covers a century of science fiction, fact, and speculation –– from the 1950 publication of Isaac Asimov’s I, Robot, to the release of Tesla’s self driving car, to the 2050 Singularity when artificial and human intelligence is predicted to merge. 
    
    
    
    
    Generation Robot addresses hard science, technological innovation, and pop-culture in a fun and accessible voice that will appeal to a wider readership, not just for serious scientific readers . 
    
    
    
    
    Terri Favro has published several works of science fiction in Canada, this is her non-fiction debut
    Show book
  • Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II and Her Court - cover

    Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II...

    Robert Hardman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Perfect for fans of The Crown, this “intimate portrait” of England’s longest-reigning queen takes you behind the scenes of a thoroughly modern monarchy (BBC Entertainment). History knows no monarch like her. She has traveled farther than all her predecessors combined, lived the longest of any of them, and known more historic figures—from Winston Churchill to Nelson Mandela, Charles de Gaulle to Barack Obama—than anyone alive. Now, distinguished royal writer Robert Hardman has been granted special access to the world of Queen Elizabeth II in order to produce an unparalleled portrait of one of the most popular public figures on earth. Arguably Britain’s best-known observer of the royal family, Hardman follows Elizabeth’s journey through her country’s transformation from an imperial power to a multicultural nation; details a twenty-five-year period in which she steered the monarchy through more reforms than in the previous century; and interviews those closest to her, including her grandson Prince William, Duke of Cambridge. Written in celebration of Elizabeth’s Diamond Jubilee, Her Majesty celebrates the head of an ancient institution that remains simultaneously popular, regal, inclusive, and relevant in a twenty-first-century world. “At long last, we have the definitive portrait of Queen Elizabeth’s world today,” raves Andrew Roberts, author of The Royal House of Windsor. “Robert Hardman knows the true story and tells it superbly.”
    Show book
  • Edward VIII 166 Success Facts - Everything you need to know about Edward VIII - cover

    Edward VIII 166 Success Facts -...

    Aaron Fields

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    First in its Edward VIII field. This book is your ultimate resource for Edward VIII. Here you will find the most up-to-date 166 Success Facts, Information, and much more.In easy to read chapters, with extensive references and links to get you to know all there is to know about Edward VIII's Early life, Career and Personal life right away. A quick look inside: British Merchant Navy - History, Château de Candé, Adolphus Cambridge, 1st Marquess of Cambridge - Marquess of Cambridge, Edward & Mrs. Simpson - In nobility, House of Windsor - Members, Culture of the United Kingdom - National costume and dress, Balmoral Castle - Ownership, Mary of Teck - Queen mother, Constitution (Amendment No. 27) Act 1936 - Timing, Great Seal of the Realm - History, Halfpenny (British coin) - Design, Lying in State - United Kingdom, George Nathaniel Curzon, 1st Marquess Curzon of Kedleston - First marriage (1895–1906), Commonwealth War Graves Commission - Formal establishment, Alberto Da Zara - Family, Cultural depictions of Edward VIII of the United Kingdom - Screen, Prince of Wales - Heraldic insignia, King Edward VIII of the United Kingdom - Early life, Claude Bowes-Lyon, 14th Earl of Strathmore and Kinghorne - Life and family, Coronation of the British monarch - History, Baron of Renfrew (title), Chariots of Fire - Cast, Alexander Hardinge, 2nd Baron Hardinge of Penshurst, Acapulco - History, Sandringham Time, Royal Shrovetide Football - The Ashbourne game, Reich Chancellery - Social legacy, Prince George, Duke of Kent, Green Mount Cemetery, Alan Lascelles - Life, Prince Edward, Duke of Kent - Early life, Joseph Lyons - Aftermath and legacy, Osborne Naval College - Naval College, and much more...
    Show book
  • My Animal Life - A Memoir - cover

    My Animal Life - A Memoir

    Maggie Gee

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    How do you become a writer, and why? Maggie Gee's journey starts a long way from the literary world in a small family in post-war Britain. At seventeen, Maggie goes, a lamb to the slaughter, to university. From the 1960s onwards she lives the defining events of her generation: the coming of the Pill and sexual freedom, tremors in the British layer-cake of class and race. In the 1980s, Maggie finally gets published, falls in love, marries and has a daughter -- but for the next three decades and beyond, she survives, and sometimes thrives, by writing. This frank, bold memoir dares to explore the big questions: success and failure, sex, death and parenthood -- our animal life. 'A wise and beautiful book about what it feels like to be alive -- I really loved it' Zadie Smith 'Exceptionally interesting and brave ... a wonderful book' Claire Tomalin 'A fine, honest, complex portrait of an artist's mind' Michele Roberts, Independent 'Every word strikes like a hammer on an anvil, throwing off sizzling sparks' Bidisha, The f word 'Anyone who yearns for that lost post-war Britain would do well to read this vivid, minutely observed memoir ...Gee has a sensuous eye for detail' Sinclair McKay, Telegraph 'It is a testament to Gee's skill with structure, her lightness of touch and her honesty, particularly about the most painful episodes, that she has fashioned this account of a fundamentally satisfying and happy writer's life into such a page-turner.' Melissa Benn, New Statesman 'Maggie Gee writes with such courage and wit. This is a vivid portrait of a woman finding her way through the maze of class ridden post war England, the 60's, feminism and how to be a mother and a writer.' Diana Melly 'Highly recommended for all aspiring writers' Bernardine Evaristo 'Observant, honest and sensitively-written...' Michael Holroyd 'Fresh and funny ... with a zest for living that bounces off the page...' Psychologies 'Sensitive, honest, courageous, stylish' The Times '[Gee's] utterly compelling on the rollercoaster of writing life, from early success to rock-bottom rejection. Often joyous; infinitely wise; passionate and poised, this is a book you'll want to sit in silence with and hug to yourself -- then start again.' Daily Mail
    Show book
  • Mary Queen of Scots - cover

    Mary Queen of Scots

    Jacob Abbott

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sorry, we have no synopsis for this book right now. Sign in to read it on 24symbols.com
    Show book