Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default_profile_50px
Grey

Read without limits

Read this book and other 200,000 more START YOUR 30-DAY FREE TRIAL

Start now
Persuasion - cover

Persuasion

Jane Austen

Publisher: Project Gutenberg

  • 40
  • 365
  • 1

Summary

More than seven years prior to the events in the novel, Anne Elliot falls in love with a handsome young naval officer named Frederick Wentworth, who is intelligent and ambitious, but poor. Sir Walter, Anne's father and lord of the family estate of Kellynch, and her older sister Elizabeth are dissatisfied with her choice, maintaining that he is not distinguished enough for their family. Her older friend and mentor, Lady Russell, acting in place of Anne's deceased mother, persuades her to break off the match.

Now, aged 27 and still unmarried, Anne re-encounters her former fiancé when his sister and brother-in-law, the Crofts, take out a lease on Kellynch. Wentworth, now a captain, is wealthy from wartime victories in the Royal Navy and from prize-money for capturing enemy ships. However, he has not forgiven Anne for her rejection of him.

You might also like

  • Free Will Sex & Love: Alice in Wonderland Wizard of Oz Frankenstein Gulliver 3 Musketeers 50 Shades of Grey’s Anatomy Fairy Tales: Sleeping Beauty Cinderella Snow White Rapunzel Goldilocks Hansel & Gretel 3 Pigs Little Bo Peep Nude Photos - cover

    Free Will Sex & Love: Alice in...

    Grimm Brothers, Erica Erotica,...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This is a fun adaptation of the classic Grimm brothers' fairy tales.  This e-book contains the erotic love scenes of all of the famous fairy tales of the Grimm brothers.  This e-book also contains the erotic lovemaking from classic literature and children's books. There are many artistic nude photos of couples inside and plenty of samples from dozens of other erotic e-books.  Check out the list of other erotic e-books at the end of the story. This book is a favorite among college students! Free-Dumb of Speech Free Will Free Love Naked Sex Stories Fantasy Fiction Fuck (Publisher)
    Show book
  • Vampire Diaries - Coming Home - cover

    Vampire Diaries - Coming Home

    Matthieu Jason

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Awakening: Elena Gilbert is used to getting what she wants and she wants mysterious new boy, Stefan. But Stefan is hiding a deadly secret - a secret that will change Elena’s life for ever ...The Struggle: Elena is torn between her boyfriend, Stefan, and his brother, Damon. But these brothers hide dark secrets and a tragic past that threatens them all. Damon wants to lead Elena astray - and he’d rather kill Stefan than let him possess her ...
    Show book
  • People We Love - cover

    People We Love

    Jenny Harper

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    For readers of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, David Nicholls
    
    Her life is on hold – until an unlikely visitor climbs in through the kitchen window
    
    A year after her brother’s fatal accident, Lexie’s life seems to have reached a dead end. She is back home in small-town Hailesbank with her shell-shocked parents, treading softly around their fragile emotions.
    
    As the family business drifts into decline, Lexie’s passion for painting and for her one-time mentor Patrick have been buried as deep as her unexpressed grief, until the day her lunch is interrupted by a strange visitor in a bobble hat, dressing gown and bedroom slippers, who climbs through the window.
    
    Elderly Edith’s batty appearance conceals a secret and starts Lexie on a journey that gives her an inspirational artistic idea and rekindles her appetite for life. With friends in support and ex-lover Cameron seemingly ready to settle down, do love and laughter beckon after all?
    Show book
  • Player The - cover

    Player The

    Akhona Bota

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Twenty-eight-year-old Hlobo Sondlo thinks she is a “Plain Jane”. Focused on her career at a top accounting firm in Johannesburg, Hlobo has no time for girly things like make-up and pretty clothes, and certainly no time for romance. But there’s no resisting hot rugby star Sizwe Bala. When he proposes to her after merely three months, Hlobo immediately starts planning her dream wedding. But what about the rumours that Sizwe is a player, and that he still likes to flirt with other women? Why did he propose to her of all people, and does he really love her?
    Show book
  • Two Gay Muslim Couples - cover

    Two Gay Muslim Couples

    Ali

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Ali, the author of this book, is from Tehran, Iran. He belongs to an upper-class Iranian family. He holds an MA in Philosophy and an MA in English literature. He has travelled throughout the Middle East, the subcontinent of Indo-Pakistan, and Europe. He has studied the cultural history of the region very well. 
    He has written this book titled Two Gay Muslim Couples in light of the Muslim culture, which is antagonistic to the gay lifestyle. The protagonists of this novel represent the sad plight of gay men in the Islamic world, where gays are psychologically and physically punished and repressed. Therefore, the purpose of writing this romance is to tell the world that millions of gays in the Muslim world are in desperate need of help from their fellow human beings.
    Show book
  • The Laird of Lochandee - cover

    The Laird of Lochandee

    Gwen Kirkwood

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    At sixteen, Rachel O’Brian finds herself alone in the world and accepts a home with an old friend of her father’s, but she is unprepared for his wife’s malice and cannot guess at the secret which feeds the woman’s hatred.
    The younger Maxwells welcome Rachel to their Ayrshire farm, especially Ross, but he too has earned Gertrude Maxwell’s spite. When Ross disappears Rachel is dismayed to find herself destitute and expecting his child.
    How will past secrets revealed help the two find each other again?
    Can they face the challenges of life at the Glens of Lochandee where they must strive to build up the farm, raise a family, and rear their animals despite the heartbreak of diphtheria and foot-and-mouth disease.
    Is their love of the land and each other enough to give them the strength and determination to face these hurdles, and more, as the shadow of a second World War looms?
    Show book