Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Emma - cover

Emma

Jane Austen, ABCD Classics

Publisher: AB Books

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Emma es una novela cómica escrita por Jane Austen, en inglés, publicada por vez primera en 1815 por el editor John Murray, sobre los peligros de malinterpretar el romance. El personaje principal, Emma Woodhouse, se describe como "hermosa, lista y rica" pero también está bastante mimada. Antes de comenzar la novela, Austen escribió, "Voy a elegir una heroína que, excepto a mí, no gustará mucho."

Other books that might interest you

  • Jane Austen Complete Collection (All Novels and Minor Works including Pride and Prejudice Sense and Sensibility Emma and Persuasion and More) - cover

    Jane Austen Complete Collection...

    Jane Austen, ABCD Classics

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The Complete Works of Jane Austen includes all six novels, and Austen's shorter works; Lady Susan, The Watsons, Sandition, and her complete Juvenilia. Jane Austen is famous for her six novels, Sense and Sensibility, Pride and prejudice, Mansfield Park, Emma, Northanger Abbey, and Persuasion. Her works of romantic fiction, set among the landed gentry, earned her a place as one of the most widely read writers in English literature. Her realism, biting irony and social commentary as well as her acclaimed plots have gained her historical importance among scholars and critics.
    Show book
  • The Brontë Sisters Boxed Set: Jane Eyre Wuthering Heights The Tenant of Wildfell Hall Villette (A Penguin Classics Hardcover) - cover

    The Brontë Sisters Boxed Set:...

    Charlotte Brontë, Emily Brontë,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This book, contains now several HTML tables of contents that will make reading a real pleasure!
    The first table of contents (at the very beginning of the ebook) lists the titles of all novels included in this volume. By clicking on one of those titles you will be redirected to the beginning of that work, where you'll find a new TOC that lists all the chapters and sub-chapters of that specific work.
    
    Here you will find the complete novels of the Brontë Sisters:
    
    - Agnes Grey, by Anne Brontë
    - The Tenant of Wildfell Hall, by Anne Brontë
    - Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Brontë
    - Shirley, by Charlotte Brontë
    - Villette, by Charlotte Brontë
    - The Professor, by Charlotte Brontë
    - Wuthering Heights, by Emily Brontë
    Show book
  • The Complete Works of Jane Austen (In One Volume) Sense and Sensibility Pride and Prejudice Mansfield Park Emma Northanger Abbey Persuasion Lady Sandition and the Complete Juvenilia - cover

    The Complete Works of Jane...

    Jane Austen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Complete Works of Jane Austen includes all six novels, and Austen's shorter works; Lady Susan, The Watsons, Sandition, and her complete Juvenilia. Jane Austen is famous for her six novels, Sense and Sensibility, Pride and prejudice, Mansfield Park, Emma, Northanger Abbey, and Persuasion. Her works of romantic fiction, set among the landed gentry, earned her a place as one of the most widely read writers in English literature. Her realism, biting irony and social commentary as well as her acclaimed plots have gained her historical importance among scholars and critics.
    Show book
  • The Sense of the Past by Henry James (Illustrated) - cover

    The Sense of the Past by Henry...

    Henry James

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This eBook features the unabridged text of ‘The Sense of the Past’ from the bestselling edition of ‘The Complete Works of Henry James’.  
    Having established their name as the leading publisher of classic literature and art, Delphi Classics produce publications that are individually crafted with superior formatting, while introducing many rare texts for the first time in digital print. The Delphi Classics edition of James includes original annotations and illustrations relating to the life and works of the author, as well as individual tables of contents, allowing you to navigate eBooks quickly and easily.eBook features:* The complete unabridged text of ‘The Sense of the Past’* Beautifully illustrated with images related to James’s works* Individual contents table, allowing easy navigation around the eBook* Excellent formatting of the textPlease visit www.delphiclassics.com to learn more about our wide range of titles
    Show book
  • The Famished Road - A Novel - cover

    The Famished Road - A Novel

    Ben Okri

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Winner of the Man Booker Prize: “Okri shares with García Márquez a vision of the world as one of infinite possibility. . . . A masterpiece” (The Boston Sunday Globe). Azaro is a spirit child, an abiku, existing, according to the African tradition, between life and death. Born into the human world, he must experience its joys and tragedies. His spirit companions come to him often, hounding him to leave his mortal world and join them in their idyllic one. Azaro foresees a trying life ahead, but he is born smiling. This is his story.   When President Bill Clinton first went to Africa he quoted from The Famished Road, which has inspired literature, art, politics, and pop songs—and even been referenced in an episode of The Simpsons. A transformative story for all ages and all times, it means many things to many people. Few contemporary novels have aroused as much passion as this one. Indeed, twenty-five years after its breakout publication, the iconic story of Azaro’s travels continues to mesmerize new generations.   For readers of Things Fall Apart or One Hundred Years of Solitude, this Man Booker Prize–winning blend of fabulism and gritty realism by the Nigerian author of Astonishing the Gods and Dangerous Love is a “dazzling, hypnotic” journey through Africa that “weaves the humblest detail with the most extravagant flight of fancy to create an astonishing fictional tapestry” (San Francisco Chronicle). Already considered a classic of world literature, it is “a masterpiece if ever one existed” (The Boston Sunday Globe).  
    Show book
  • On Love - cover

    On Love

    Stendhal

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Although Stendhal considered On Love his best creation, not many critics and readers will ever agree with him. Henry James called the book unreadable; others have called it bizarre; and some disconcerting and exasperating. Here’s a warning by means of a question: what is the 21st century reader to make of this book? In my estimation, with some patience one can find not only an abundance of wit, but also much hidden wisdom about the mysterium tremendum that is human love. If Stendhal’s On Love is considered a failure, then all I can say is that he is in good company, for Aristophanes, Plato, Denis de Rougemont, Ortega y Gasset, Eric Fromm and others also fell short—and no one can say they disgraced themselves. Here’s a gem that never fails to give hope to men who search for love: “A requirement of love is that a man's face, at first sight, should show both something to be respected and something to be pitied.”
    Show book