Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Kith and Kin - A 1920s mystery - cover

Kith and Kin - A 1920s mystery

Jane A. Adams

Publisher: Severn House

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When two bodies are washed up in the Kentish marshes, Detective Chief Inspector Henry Johnstone is propelled into a disturbing investigation.December, 1928.  When two bodies are found washed up in the Kentish marshes, it doesn’t take long for DCI Henry Johnstone and DS Mickey Hitchens to identify at least one of them. Billy Crane was a known associate of Josiah Bailey, one of the East End’s most notorious gangsters. But what were the victims doing in this remote and desolate spot? Is it a set-up? A revenge attack? Or could this be the start of a vicious turf war?If so, who would be brave enough to challenge Josiah Bailey, whose tentacles have a disturbingly long reach? With witnesses too frightened to talk, the two London detectives must dig deep into the past if they are to make headway in the investigation and stop the escalating violence.

Other books that might interest you

  • Remains of Innocence - A Brady Novel of Suspense - cover

    Remains of Innocence - A Brady...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    Sheriff Joanna Brady must solve two perplexing cases that may be tied together in New York Times bestselling author J. A. Jance’s thrilling tale of suspense that brings to life Arizona’s Cochise County and the desert Southwest in all its beauty and mystery. 
    An old woman, a hoarder, is dying of emphysema in Great Barrington, Massachusetts. In cleaning out her house, her daughter, Liza Machett, discovers a fortune in hundred dollar bills hidden in the tall stacks of books and magazines that crowd every corner. 
    Tracing the money’s origins will take Liza on a journey that will end in Cochise County, where Sheriff Joanna Brady is embroiled in a personal mystery of her own. A man she considers a family friend is found dead at the bottom of a hole in a limestone cavern near Bisbee. And now there is the mystery of Liza and the money. Are the two disparate cases connected? It’s up to Joanna to find out.
    Show book
  • Heart of the Hunter - cover

    Heart of the Hunter

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Six-foot five-inch Thobela "Tiny" Mpayipheli was once a feared assassin and freedom fighter, trained by the Stasi and KGB. In post-apartheid South Africa, he's happily working in a garage. But Tiny’s quiet domestic life is interrupted by a desperate plea from the daughter of a trusted old friend: he’s being held hostage after taking an incriminating hard drive and needs help. Tiny’s old training kicks in, and as he races across the South African landscape on a stolen BMW motorcycle to the rendezvous point, he is pursued by several interested and hostile forces, including South Africa’s Presidential Intelligence Unit. None of them have a clue what they’re up against.With his books published in twenty languages, the critically acclaimed Deon Meyer has won a reputation as one of the best thriller writers in the world. Heart of the Hunter is an epic adventure across the landscape and history of a remarkable country.
    Show book
  • Lethal Injection - cover

    Lethal Injection

    Perry Miller

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    “You won’t want to close your eyes in a hospital ever again.” —Harvey Schwartz, author of Never Again 
      
    A syringe is switched and the patient dies on the operating table. Dr. Gideon Lowell takes it upon himself to help the anesthesiologist, who happens to be his wife. The hospital and the police do not want his help, so Gideon ignores them, and carries out his investigation behind the scenes. He recruits an interesting cast of characters, including a newspaper reporter with a magic wand, a cybersecurity expert who likes to bend the rules, and a somewhat skeptical police detective. Gideon rattles cages and shakes things loose to solve the crime. A tale of murder, revenge and coercion, love and friendship, all told with tongue-in-cheek humor.
    Show book
  • The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe and Savage Thriller - cover

    The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe...

    James Hayman

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller! 
    Two identical women.  
    Two identical murders. Two lives brutally cut short  
    108 years apart 
    June 1904. 
    Aimée Garnier Whitby, a beautiful French artist and wife of one of Maine's richest and most powerful men, is found near death on the Whitby family's private summer island, the letter "A" mysteriously carved into her chest. 
    June 2012. 
    Veronica Aimée Whitby, the eighteen-year-old descendant and virtual double of the first Aimée, becomes the victim of a near perfect copycat murder. With another beautiful, promising young Whitby woman slain, the media begin to swarm and pressure builds for Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage to bring the killer quickly to justice. But the key to solving Aimée's death just might have been buried with her beautiful ancestor. 
    The latest McCabe and Savage thriller from USA Today bestselling author James Hayman is a crackling, twisty novel of suspense, perfect for fans of J.A. Jance and John Sandford.
    Show book
  • Murder in Georgetown - cover

    Murder in Georgetown

    Margaret Truman

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    The author of Murdered at the FBI delivers a political thriller that “ends with several bangs. It may be deemed the best of Truman’s bestsellers” (Publishers Weekly).   When the corpse of a young woman is found floating down Washington’s C&O Canal, everyone is shocked to learn the victim is none other than Valerie Frolich—a senator’s daughter, Georgetown graduate, and a rising star in the cutthroat world of investigative journalism.  Washington Post reporter Joe Potamos is good at unearthing the skeletons in the nation’s capital, so when he’s assigned the Frolich story, he immediately senses this case is rife with secrets. As he digs further to uncover the truth about Valerie’s death, it soon becomes apparent someone wanted the young, beautiful reporter dead.   And when Joe’s search reveals an evil labyrinth of intrigue involving murder, bribery, kidnapping, and even international espionage, he’ll have to race to find Valerie’s killer—before his own life is snuffed out. “Truman[’s] . . . murder mysteries . . . evoke brilliantly the Washington she knows so well.” —The Houston Post   “Truman does it again!” —United Press International  
    Show book
  • Dead End - cover

    Dead End

    Sally Spencer

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    He was going to have to terminate Monika, he decided. It was a pity, but there it was.
    
    The body has lain buried for years, and has no face and no fingertips. Monika Paniatowski’s team have no real leads, but when they discuss the case at her hospital bedside – where she lies paralysed – Monika begins to see possible links with a case she closed four years earlier.
    
    Are the two cases connected? Did the first murder make the second almost inevitable? She doesn’t know, but she does know that she is being watched by an old enemy who will kill her if he decides there is ever any chance of her sharing her thoughts and information with her team.
    Show book