Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Women of Waterloo Bridge - the heart-wrenching WW2 saga of 2020 - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

The Women of Waterloo Bridge - the heart-wrenching WW2 saga of 2020

Jan Casey

Publisher: Aria

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

London, 1940. 
 
After her fiancé breaks off their engagement, Evelyn decides to do her part for the war effort by signing up for construction work on Waterloo Bridge. Enjoying the physical work and her newfound purpose, she begins to realise that there could be so much more to her life than anything she'd ever dared to dream of. 
 
Grieving after her little boy dies in an air raid, Gwen is completely lost when her husband sends their younger children to the countryside for safety. Enlisting as a construction worker, she is partnered with cheerful Evelyn. Despite Gwen's initial reticence, the two women strike up a heartwarming friendship – but will it be enough to save Gwen from her sorrow? 
 
Musical prodigy Joan's life has always been dictated by her controlling mother. When an affair nearly ends in scandal, Joan finally takes her life into her own hands. Determined never to touch a violin again, she soon finds work at Waterloo Bridge. Yet there are other troubles for her to overcome... 
 
For these three women, only one thing is certain: the Second World War will change their lives forever. A heart-wrenching new WW2 saga for fans of Jenny Holmes and Soraya M. Lane.

Other books that might interest you

  • Olympe de Gouges - Escritos disidentes - cover

    Olympe de Gouges - Escritos...

    Lina Meruane, Olympe de Gouges

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    En 1793, la escritora de la primera reivindicación de los derechos de la mujer, Olympe de Gouges, fue guillotinada en la actual Place de la Concorde de París. En plena Revolución francesa, de Gouges se convierte en una de las intelectuales más osadas de su tiempo: empuñaba su pluma para escribir tratados, diatribas, ensayos epistolares e incluso teatro abolicionista, enfrentando los incesantes sabotajes de sus pares políticos y literarios.
    Estos escritos, que ella misma imprimía en formato de libros, afiches y panfletos, revistieron los muros de la ciudad. De Gouges pasó a la historia como una de las figuras más importantes de las primeras corrientes feministas, hasta ahora leída únicamente a través de biografías. Escritos disidentes coloca en circulación, por primera vez en nuestra lengua, una selección de su dramaturgia y ensayos políticos prologados por Lina Meruane. Ambas autoras conforman una escena letrada ficticia donde irrumpen con la potencia de su imaginación política y dialogan en las lindes de sus propias épocas.
    Show book
  • The Transcript of President Trump's Phone Call with Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskiy - cover

    The Transcript of President...

    Donald Trump, Volodymyr Zelenskiy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    President Trump has released a transcript of his July call with Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskiy.
    
    The call is the source of a controversy over whether Trump asked the newly elected president of Ukraine to investigate Joe Biden.
    Show book
  • The Genealogy of Morals - cover

    The Genealogy of Morals

    Friedrich Nietzsche

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Contains a Preface and three interrelated essays that expand on the concepts he laid out in Beyond Good and Evil. The essays are: First Treatise: “Good and Evil”, “Good and Bad”; Second Treatise: “Guilt”, “Bad Conscienc”, and “Related Matters”; “Third Treatise”: “What do ascetic ideals mean?”.
    Show book