What's better than reading? Reading withour limits :D
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Catsitters - cover

The Catsitters

James Wolcott

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Bartender by day, actor by night, Johnny Downs cheerfully floats through life, living alone with his jukebox and his cat. Blindsided when his dazzling girlfriend dumps him, Johnny is wounded, stunned, and, most of all, clueless.  
You're like most men -- oblivious, says his friend Darlene. Her diagnosis: Johnny is doomed to be rejected by every woman he desires as long as he clings to his outmoded bachelor ways. Darlene puts him on a rigorous crash course to re-brand himself as husband material. But does Darlene really have his best interests at heart? And who are all these catsitters that keep coming into his life?

Other books that might interest you

  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 2
    • 42
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book
  • Bone Rattler - Duncan McCallum #1 - cover

    Bone Rattler - Duncan McCallum #1

    Eliot Pattison

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    "Hauntingly beautiful are the bonds between the cultures of the Scots Highlanders and the Indians" – Historical Novel Society 
     
    Aboard a British convict ship bound for the New World, Duncan McCallum witnesses a series of murders and apparent suicides among his fellow Scottish prisoners. A strange trail of clues leads Duncan into the New World and eventually thrusts him into the bloody maw of the French and Indian War.  
     
    Exploring a frontier world shrouded in danger and defying death in a wilderness populated by European settlers, Indian shamans, and mysterious scalping parties, Duncan, the exiled chief of his near-extinct Scottish clan, finds that sometimes justice cannot be reached unless the cultures and spirits of those involved are appeased. 
     
    Bone Rattler is a powerful historical mystery set against a backdrop of culture clashes, greed, deceit and murder as seen through the eyes of an honest Scot swept up in both the wonder and heartbreak of early colonial America. 
     
     
    "Having already won an Edgar for his Inspector Shan series, Pattison makes a strong bid for another with this outstanding mystery set in colonial America… Pattison's moving characters, intricate plot and masterful evocation of the time, including sensitive depictions of the effects of the European war on Native Americans, set this leagues beyond most historicals." – Publishers Weekly 
     
    ELIOT PATTISON is the author of The Skull Mantra, winner of the Edgar Award and finalist for the Gold Dagger, Water Touching Stone, and Bone Mountain. Pattison resides in rural Pennsylvania with his wife, three children, two horses, and two dogs on a colonial-era farm.
    Show book
  • Blood of the Oak - Duncan McCallum #4 - cover

    Blood of the Oak - Duncan...

    Eliot Pattison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The year is 1765, at the beginning of the Stamp Tax dissent, the first organized resistance to English rule.
    
     
    Duncan McCallum is drawn into the mystery of a series of murders and kidnappings that are strangely connected to the theft of an Iroquois artifact. In following the trail, he uncovers a network of secret runners supporting the nascent "committees of correspondence," engaged in the first organized political dissent across colonial borders. 
    
     
    When he is captured and thrown into slavery with the kidnapped runners, Duncan encounters a powerful conspiracy of highly placed English aristocrats who are bent on crushing all dissent. Inspired by an aged Native American slave and new African friends, Duncan decides not just to escape but to turn their own intrigue against the London lords.
    
     
    The fourth instalment of the Bone Rattler series moves ever closer to the beginning of the American Revolution.
    
     
    Blood of the Oak takes a fresh view on the birth of the new American nation, suggesting that the "freedom" that became the centerpiece of the Revolution was uniquely American, rising not just from unprecedented political discourse but also from the extraordinary bond with the natural world experienced by frontier settlers and native tribes.
    
     
     
    
     
    Praise for Blood of the Oak:
    
     
     
    
    "The fourth in Pattison's Bone Rattler series combines well-drawn fictional and historical personages in a vivid portrayal of a pivotal year in American history. Historical mystery at its best." — Booklist (Starred Review)
    
     
    "The fourth instalment in Pattison's Bone Rattler series is another complexly plotted historical mystery written in a baroque style highly suggestive of the period and unblinking in its portrayal of American history's dark lessons." — Kirkus
    
     
    ELIOT PATTISON is the author of The Skull Mantra, winner of a Edgar Award and finalist for the Gold Dagger, Water Touching Stone, Bone Rattler, Eye of the Raven and most recently, Original Death. Pattison resides in rural Pennsylvania with his wife, three children, two horses, and two dogs on a colonial-era farm.
    Show book
  • Slave Old Man - A Novel - cover

    Slave Old Man - A Novel

    Patrick Chamoiseau

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    The “heart-stopping” (The Millions), “richly layered” (Brooklyn Rail), “haunting, beautiful” (BuzzFeed) story of an escaped slave and the killer hound that pursues him
     
    Shortlisted for the National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction, Patrick Chamoiseau’s Slave Old Man was published to accolades in hardcover in a brilliant translation by Linda Coverdale, winning the French-American Foundation Translation Prize and chosen as a Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2018.
     
    Slave Old Man is a gripping, profoundly unsettling story of an elderly slave’s daring escape into the wild from a plantation in Martinique, with his master and a fearsome hound on his heels. We follow them into a lush rain forest where nature is beyond all human control: sinister, yet entrancing and even exhilarating, because the old man’s flight to freedom will transform them all in truly astonishing—even otherworldly—ways, as the overwhelming physical presence of the forest reshapes reality and time itself.
     
    Chamoiseau’s exquisitely rendered new novel is an adventure for all time, one that fearlessly portrays the demonic cruelties of the slave trade and its human costs in vivid, sometimes hallucinatory prose. Offering a loving and mischievous tribute to the Creole culture of early nineteenth-century Martinique, this novel takes us on a unique and moving journey into the heart of Caribbean history.
     
     
    Show book
  • Rabid - cover

    Rabid

    Kris Rimmer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Rabid is to humans what King's Cujo was to dogs...
     
    Nestled among shady pines, a pair of brothers splash in a babbling brook, their faces lit up with childlike glee. Around them, squirrels frolic in trees, and rabbits nibble on grass. Birds sing a symphony of harmony.
     
    Shortly after their father’s death, Adam and his 14-year-old brother embark on a camping trip. Because their father was an abusive alcoholic, they both struggle with a myriad of sentiments—sadness that he’s gone, relief that the abuse is over, sorrow that they’ll never experience fatherly love or pride. Surely therapeutic nature can remedy their afflictions.
     
    Precipitously, horror replaces their tranquil panorama. Thrashing wildly, Adam spews obscenities, and foam bubbles from his lips. In a paradox of iniquity, brothers become enemies, as their inner demons spring to life. 
    Show book
  • The Accidental Adventures of Bernie the Banana Slug - cover

    The Accidental Adventures of...

    G Michael Smith

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Bernie the Banana Slug lives under a strawberry patch, but now he is lost in the forest. He makes new friends who will help him find his way home.
    Show book