Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
A Fable for Critics - A Humorous Critique of Literary Trends and Personalities in 19th Century America - cover

A Fable for Critics - A Humorous Critique of Literary Trends and Personalities in 19th Century America

James Russell Lowell

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In James Russell Lowell's 'A Fable for Critics', the author cleverly satirizes the literary figures of his time through a series of witty and humorous poems. Written in the format of a mock-heroic poem, Lowell's work offers a unique and entertaining insight into the literary world of the 19th century. Through sharp and incisive verse, Lowell provides commentary on the literary trends and personalities of his era, making the book a valuable resource for understanding the cultural context of the time. The poems are filled with clever wordplay and allusions, showcasing Lowell's talent as a satirist and poet. 'A Fable for Critics' is a must-read for those interested in American literature and the history of literary criticism. It offers a fascinating glimpse into the world of 19th-century letters, while also providing entertainment and insight for contemporary readers.
Available since: 04/11/2021.
Print length: 40 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Trench - The True Story of the Hull Pals - cover

    The Trench - The True Story of...

    David Bilton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The book details the history of the 10th Battalion of the East Yorkshire, known as the Hull Pals, from September 1914 to May 1918.  In around 150 pages it will provide viewers with answers to the questions the program will generate: Who were these men? What did they do? Which of them survived? Where did they really come from? Did they really live like this? Over 150 photographs, illustrations and maps record in detail the lives of these men; many of the illustrations have never been seen before.Known locally as "The Commercials" because they were a battalion of office workers, the 1400 men trained in England, were sent to fight the Turks in Egypt and then returned to spend nearly three years in the trenches of the Western Front. Their losses were heavy, with around one in four being killed.
    Show book
  • Transformation After Trauma - Embracing Post-Traumatic Growth - cover

    Transformation After Trauma -...

    PhD Stephanie M. Hutchins

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Are you feeling like life is swallowing you whole? After experiencing trauma, we often feel like the weight of the world is crashing down on us. This book will provide you with the tools to help break the chains that keep you anchored to the past where your pain and trauma lie.  
    There are numerous strategies for overcoming and transforming through trauma, and this book provides proven techniques. Transformation After Trauma will help you heal as you learn how to:Achieve all your goals by cutting them down into attainable pieces.Release old habits that keep you stuck in your trauma.Use exercise and yoga as a means of working through trauma to heal your mind and bodyUtilize various forms of creativity to process your pain and let out emotions that may be holding you back. 
     There is hope, and you can emerge from your trauma a stronger person than before.
    Show book
  • The Kybalion - Hermetic Philosophy - cover

    The Kybalion - Hermetic Philosophy

    Initiates Three

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The most popular occult work of the twentieth centuryThe Kybalion has long fascinated readers and listeners with its exploration of hermetic wisdom. Credited to the mysterious Three Initiates, The Kybalion is an esoteric classic that has remained popular since its initial publication in 1908. The book explores the Seven Hermetic Principles—including the Principles of Causation, Mental Transmutation, and Polarity—and the philosophies it contains became founding ideas in the New Thought movement.This edition of the original text is the latest title in the Essential Wisdom Library, which brings sacred wisdom, both ancient and modern, to today’s audience. It includes a new introduction to frame the historical context and importance of the text.The Kybalion is a perfect resource and a key source of wisdom for the growing wave of listeners interested in the occult and esoteric.  A Macmillan Audio production from St. Martin's Essentials
    Show book
  • Blood's Campaign - There can only be one victor - cover

    Blood's Campaign - There can...

    Angus Donald

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    One of the most turbulent reigns in history paved the way for the first modern revolution. After the Tudors came the Stuarts...  August 25, 1689The English Army is besieging Carrickfergus in Ireland. Brilliant but unusual gunner Holcroft Blood of the Royal Train of Artillery is ready to unleash his cannons on the rebellious forces of deposed Catholic monarch James II. But this is more than war for Captain Blood, a lust for private vengeance burns within him.French intelligence agent Henri d'Erloncourt has come across the seas to foment rebellion against William of Orange, the newly installed Dutch ruler of England, Scotland and Ireland. But Henri's true mission is not to aid the suffering of the Irish but to serve the interests of his master, Louis le Grand.Michael 'Galloping' Hogan, brigand, boozer and despoiler of Protestant farms, strives to defend his native land - and make a little profit on the side. But when he takes the Frenchman's gold, he suspects deep in his freedom-loving heart, that he has merely swapped one foreign overlord for another.July 1, 1690           On the banks of the River Boyne, on a fateful, scorching hot day, two armies clash in bloody battle - Protestant against Catholic - in an epic struggle for mastery of Ireland. And, when the slaughter is over and the smoke finally clears, for these three men, nothing will ever be the same again . . .Angus Donald mixes historical fact with fiction in this exciting new series. For fans of S. J. Parris and Andrew Taylor.'Splendid series . . . a sword-and-spies romp that has a keen sense of the political pressures of the time' The Times'A proper story-teller' S. G. MacLean
    Show book
  • The New Deal - A Modern History - cover

    The New Deal - A Modern History

    Michael Hiltzik

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Franklin Roosevelt’s New Deal began as a program of short-term emergency relief measures and evolved into a truly transformative concept of the federal government’s role in Americans’ lives. More than an economic recovery plan, it was a reordering of the political system that continues to define America to this day. With The New Deal: A Modern History, Pulitzer Prize–winning writer Michael Hiltzik offers fresh insights into this inflection point in the American experience. Here is an intimate look at the alchemy that allowed FDR to mold his multifaceted and contentious inner circle into a formidable political team. The New Deal: A Modern History shows how Roosevelt, through the force of his personality, commanded the loyalty of the rock-ribbed fiscal conservative Lewis Douglas and the radical agrarian Rexford Tugwell alike; of Harold Ickes and Harry Hopkins, one a curmudgeonly miser, the other a spendthrift idealist; of Henry Morgenthau, gentleman farmer of upstate New York; and of Frances Perkins, a prim social activist with her roots in Brahmin New England. Yet the same character traits that made him so supple and self-confident a leader would sow the seeds of the New Deal’s end, with a shocking surge of Rooseveltian misjudgments. Understanding the New Deal may be more important today than at any time in the last eight decades. Conceived in response to a devastating financial crisis very similar to America’s most recent downturn—born of excessive speculation, indifferent regulation of banks and investment houses, and disproportionate corporate influence over the White House and Congress—the New Deal remade the country’s economic and political environment in six years of intensive experimentation. FDR had no effective model for fighting the worst economic downturn in his generation’s experience; but the New Deal has provided a model for subsequent presidents who faced challenging economic conditions, right up to the present. Hiltzik tells the story of how the New Deal was made, demonstrating that its precepts did not spring fully conceived from the mind of FDR—before or after he took office. From first to last the New Deal was a work in progress, a patchwork of often contradictory ideas. Far from reflecting solely progressive principles, the New Deal also accommodated such conservative goals as a balanced budget and the suspension of antitrust enforcement. Some programs that became part of the New Deal were borrowed from the Republican administration of Herbert Hoover; indeed, some of its most successful elements were enacted over FDR’s opposition. In this bold reevaluation of a decisive moment in American history, Michael Hiltzik dispels decades of accumulated myths and misconceptions about the New Deal to capture with clarity and immediacy its origins, its legacy, and its genius.
    Show book
  • Hemingway in Spain - cover

    Hemingway in Spain

    David P. Reiter

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The source book for the film Hemingway in Spain, this hybrid work melds several Hemingway “voices", the author, the “Hemingway Hero”, and the author projecting the Hemingway consciousness and aesthetic on a contemporary Spanish landscape."The poems stitch you into a tapestry...with loose threads left hanging just to trip you up if you become complacent.” Bev Braune, Australian Book Review.
    Show book