Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
History's Weirdest Deaths - History's Weirdest Ways to Die - cover

History's Weirdest Deaths - History's Weirdest Ways to Die

James Proud

Publisher: Portable Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Tales of the most mind-blowing deaths—from dangerous sports to tragic accidents—that will make you shake your head and reconsider the next viral stunt.   Death comes in many forms—sometimes peaceful, sometimes tragic, sometimes dramatic . . . and at other times, just plain weird. In History’s Weirdest Deaths, you’ll read the true stories of more than a hundred people who met their end in a bizarre fashion. Each cautionary tale is unique. Meet the victims of stunts that went horribly wrong, ordinary people who made boneheaded blunders, and famous figures who realized too late that celebrity isn’t a cure for stupidity.   Don’t be . . . The US Army scientist who allowed mosquitoes to bite him to prove his theory that the insects were responsible for yellow feverThe novelist who swallowed a 3-inch toothpick from the olive in his martiniThe magician who used cement instead of dirt when he allowed himself to be buried alive in a plastic coffin—which was crushed“Historical horrors (and sometimes hilarities) . . . sure to generate interest as you bring up people we’re all glad we’re not.” —Critical Blast
Available since: 06/11/2019.
Print length: 136 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Women Who Make Our Novels - cover

    The Women Who Make Our Novels

    Grant M. Overton

    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
    ”This book, the rather unpremeditated production of several months’ work, is by a man who is not a novelist and who is therefore entirely unfitted to write about women who are novelists.” The author is a literary reporter and from that perspective he offers a short biographical sketch “of all the living American women novelists whose writing, by the customary standards, is artistically fine . . . [or] whose writing has attained a wide popularity.” This book was published in 1918. (Summary taken from the Introduction by MaryAnn)
    Show book
  • 2br02b - cover

    2br02b

    Jr. Kurt Vonnegut

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    2br02b is a classic science fiction short story by Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. 
    Regarded by critics and fans alike as one of the most accomplished and witty social commentators of the twentieth century, all of Kurt Vonnegut's unique strengths as a writer shine in the short fiction piece 2br02b. The title is a clever take on Hamlet's famous rhetorical question, "To be or not to be?" In this brave new world, it's the phone number one calls to schedule an assisted suicide or termination -- both of which are commonplace occurrences in a time when the population is strictly controlled by government mandate. 
    As part of our mission to publish great works of literary fiction and nonfiction, Sheba Blake Publishing Corp. is extremely dedicated to bringing to the forefront the amazing works of long dead and truly talented authors.
    Show book
  • Ward No 6 - cover

    Ward No 6

    Anton Chekhov

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The line between sanity and insanity is blurred in this classic novella by Anton Chekhov.  The disillusioned idealist Dr. Rabin is in charge of a provincial lunatic asylum, overseeing with weary, dubious policies a motley group of patients, a group that mirrors in microcosm all of human and especially Russian society.  Seeking answers to profound questions, Dr. Rabin enters into dialogues with both staff members and patients, trying to make sense out of what has become of his life, until it becomes less and less clear who is the doctor and who is the patient.  Written with obvious reformist concerns about the dehumanization of "lunatics," the story is also a harrowing parable about the meaning of human existence. Summary by Expatriate.
    Show book
  • The Great Gasbag - An A-to-Z Study Guide to Surviving Trump World - cover

    The Great Gasbag - An A-to-Z...

    Joy Behar

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    One of our most beloved comedians, the brilliantly witty and outspoken star of The View, hits the most unpopular President ever elected where it hurts—and makes us laugh and cheer—in this hilarious alphabetical guide to everything that's wrong with the "Orange One," Donald Trump. 
    Put down the knife, lock away the gun, lay aside the noose, Joy Behar is here to save you from suicide as she hot walks you through the next four years (two if we are lucky, less if liberal dreams come true). Besides despair, the sane response to the insanity in the White House is laughter. On her hit ABC daytime show The View, Joy has been blunt in her condemnation of the comb over-in-chief, and her words have electrified and inspired millions in the resistance for whom #notmypresident has become a rallying cry. 
    The Great Gasbag is Joy's answer to the hell that is the Trump Orange House. Structured as an A-Z guide (G is for Gold . . . en shower; P is for Pence and pussy-grabbing; T is for Tweets; Twits, and Twats, etc.), Joy, joined by New York Times bestselling humor author Larry Amoros, offers much-needed doses of levity and humor for everyone determined to #resist. With a major network television profile and a social media audience in the millions, this fearlessly confident star has a powerful platform to entertain Americans of all stripes—from Never Trumpers to fired-up progressives—as she takes on the worst president since . . . well, since ever.
    Show book
  • The Brazilian: brilliantly witty holiday read exposing the garish world of reality TV - cover

    The Brazilian: brilliantly witty...

    Rosie Millard

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    'Hilariously observed… a much-welcomed comedy of manners.' Jane Green, New York Times Bestselling author 
    Perfect for fans of Rachel Johnson and Claire Sandy, The Brazilian offers a much-needed dose of celeb scandal for fans of Love Island and other reality TV shows. 
    Following a sensational scandal at one of London's most desired postcodes, Jane and Patrick decide to escape the gossip with a family holiday to Ibiza, their eight-year-old son George in tow. 
    Also on the island that week is a TV reality show involving an eccentric artist, a horny It Girl, a Brazilian footballer and a famous magician. 
    As hapless celebrities are picked off one by one, Jane is desperate to be on the programme, leaving childcare in the not so capable hands of a teenager. 
    One lesbian escapade and an explosive row over hair removal later, the contestants of Ibiza or Bust leave the island with more than sand in places they never knew existed... 
    'Quirky... and real fun too!' The Independent 
    'Worthy of Trollope, Austen and Arnold Bennett' Mature Times 
    'Pin-sharp and wickedly funny' Adam Foulds 
    'Shot through with wit... Punctures the tawdry and vacuous world of Reality TV with a racy, pacy wit. ' Jonathan Maitland 
     
    'A hilarious bit of escapism. The perfect accessory forany beach vacation.' Jo Piazza 
    'Packed with sun, scandal and crackling humour, this is a beach read full of belly laughs.' Chrissie Manby 
     
    'The Brazilian is what happens when Wish you were here? meets I’m a Celebrity: Rosie Millard’s well-observed island romp depicts the ultimate all-inclusive fortnight in Ibiza. A fun, fast-paced read ideal for a summer getaway' Simon Calder, Travel Journalist & Broadcaster 
    'Hilarious naughty fun - The Brazilian could not have been a more perfect companion for the beach!' Lucy Sykes 
    'An irresistible energy pulsates through Rosie Millard's latest novel. She capture the foibles and follies of her characters with a wry humour that is hard to resist.' Mark Palmer, Daily Mail
    Show book
  • The Semi-Detached House - cover

    The Semi-Detached House

    Emily Eiden

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This novel represents a wonderful mixture of comedic intrigue and ironic social satire. Lady Blanche Chester is a beautiful, temperamental, newly married, pregnant young woman installed in a suburban house while her husband is away on diplomatic responsibilities in Germany. She soon takes a strong interest in her neighbors; many of which annoy her to no end...
    Show book