Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
All Fall Down - cover

All Fall Down

James Leo Herlihy

Publisher: RosettaBooks

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

A teenage boy’s image of his older brother is shattered by tragedy in this “remarkable first novel” by the author of Midnight Cowboy (New York Herald Tribune Book Review).   Some families get a reputation for being strange, and so it is with the Williamses of Seminary Street. The father, once an outspoken socialist, now keeps to his rocks glass. The mother has a reputation for scaring children. But the older son, named Berry-berry, is the most whispered-about of them all. A traveling vagabond, he’s known for his cleft chin, loose morals, and streaks of violence.   Then there’s sixteen-year-old Clinton, who spends his time filling notebooks with every conversation he can overhear, word for word. When Clinton escapes the confines of home to find his big brother, he hopes to make a connection more real than anything he’s put down on paper. But finding Berry-berry in coastal Florida will set off a tragic series of events that will stay with Clinton, and his family, forever.   “There is something very wonderful about this book; it has a luminous thing that is the best thing in writing or any kind of art.” —Tennessee Williams   “Herlihy writes with an edge of iron.” —Nelson Algren, National Book Award–winning author of The Man with the Golden Arm

Other books that might interest you

  • Young Skins - Stories - cover

    Young Skins - Stories

    Colin Barrett

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A blockbuster collection from one of Ireland’s most exciting young voices. “Sharp and lively . . . a rough, charged, and surprisingly fun read.” (Interview)   A National Book Foundation 5 Under 35 Honoree * Winner of the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award * Winner of the Guardian First Book Award * Winner of the Rooney Prize for Irish Literature   Enter the small, rural town of Glanbeigh, a place whose fate took a downturn with the Celtic Tiger, a desolate spot where buffoonery and tension simmer and erupt, and booze-sodden boredom fills the corners of every pub and nightclub. Here, and in the towns beyond, the young live hard and wear the scars. Amongst them, there’s jilted Jimmy, whose best friend Tug is the terror of the town and Jimmy’s sole company in his search for the missing Clancy kid; Bat, a lovesick soul with a face like “a bowl of mashed up spuds” even before Nubbin Tansey’s boot kicked it in; and Arm, a young and desperate criminal whose destiny is shaped when he and his partner, Dympna, fail to carry out a job. In each story, a local voice delineates the grittiness of post boom Irish society. These are unforgettable characters rendered through silence, humor, and violence.   “Lyrical and tough and smart . . . What seems to be about sorrow and foreboding turns into an adventure, instead, in the tender art of the unexpected.” —Anne Enright, Man Booker Prize Award–winning author   “Sometimes comic, sometimes melancholy, Young Skins touches the heart, as well as the mind.” —Irish American Post
    Show book
  • Manhattan Transfer - cover

    Manhattan Transfer

    John Dos Passos

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This novel by the author of the U.S.A. Trilogy offers an “expressionistic picture of New York” in the 1920s (TheNew York Times).   Much like the vivid experience of riding the city’s mass transit system, Manhattan Transfer introduces us to a large and diverse cast of characters—from wealthy power brokers to struggling immigrants—and paints a portrait of this place and its people in the period between the two world wars. From Fourteenth Street to the Bowery, Delmonico’s to the underbelly of the city waterfront, John Dos Passos chronicles the lives of Americans struggling to become a part of modernity before they are destroyed by it.   Called “a novel of the very first importance” by Sinclair Lewis, Manhattan Transfer is a masterpiece of modern fiction written by an icon of the Lost Generation whose books still “read as if they were written yesterday” (Dave Eggers, bestselling author of The Circle).
    Show book
  • The Woman in the Blue Cloak - cover

    The Woman in the Blue Cloak

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The Woman in the Blue Cloak is a brilliant novella which will thrill and entertain fans of Deon Meyer's much-loved detective Benny Griessel.
    
    Benny Griessel is a cop on a mission: he plans to ask Alexa Bernard to marry him. That means he needs to buy an engagement ring - and that means he needs a loan.
    
    So Benny has a lot on his mind when he is called to a top-priority murder case. A woman's body is discovered, naked and washed in bleach, draped on a wall beside a picturesque road above Cape Town. The identity of the victim is a mystery, as is the reason for her killing.
    
    Gradually, Benny and his colleague Vaughn Cupido begin to work out the roots of the story, which reach as far away as England and Holland... and as far back as the seventeenth century.
    Show book
  • The Maggie Black Case Files Books 1-3 - cover

    The Maggie Black Case Files...

    Jack McSporran

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Have you met secret agent Maggie Black?
     
    She’s deadly, beautiful, and the first person the British government calls when things go wrong. Now, for the first time, read all three books in this collated collection and discover the bestselling thriller series that’s exploded onto the scene. If you like adrenaline fuelled action, shocking twists, and heart-pounding thrill rides across the globe, these are the books for you!
     
    A perfect read for fans of Lee Child, James Patterson, and Vince Flynn, fans are calling the series ‘totally binge worthy’ and ‘impossible to put down.’
     
    Grab your copy of the first Maggie Black Case Files collection today and discover the action-packed thriller series everyone is talking about!
    Show book
  • The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson (Illustrated) - cover

    The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll...

    Robert Louis Stevenson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This eBook features the unabridged text of ‘The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde’ from the bestselling edition of ‘The Complete Works of Robert Louis Stevenson’.  
    Having established their name as the leading publisher of classic literature and art, Delphi Classics produce publications that are individually crafted with superior formatting, while introducing many rare texts for the first time in digital print. The Delphi Classics edition of Stevenson includes original annotations and illustrations relating to the life and works of the author, as well as individual tables of contents, allowing you to navigate eBooks quickly and easily.eBook features:* The complete unabridged text of ‘The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde’* Beautifully illustrated with images related to Stevenson’s works* Individual contents table, allowing easy navigation around the eBook* Excellent formatting of the textPlease visit www.delphiclassics.com to learn more about our wide range of titles
    Show book
  • Tombstone Courage - cover

    Tombstone Courage

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    With grit, courage and dogged determination, Joanne challenged the status quo -- and won. Now, as newly elected Sheriff of Cochise County, Arizona, she must battle the prejudice and hostility of a mistrustful, male-dominated police force -- and solve a grisly double homicide that threatens to tear the sleepy desert community to pieces. For the two bodies baking in the harsh Southwestern sun are connected by sinister threads that reach back generations -- and by devastating family secrets of greed, hatred and shocking abuse that could destroy the innocent along with the guilty.
    Show book