Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read
without limits.
Subscribe to the pleasure of reading and enjoy the already more than a million books on all your digital devices.
All characters a62979f362eee8153229a51fdca0de40524eab52f63679cf7c23b9c6bb4e80d5
The King of Alsander - "For the spear was a desert physician That cured not a few of ambition" - cover

The King of Alsander - "For the spear was a desert physician That cured not a few of ambition"

James Elroy Flecker

Publisher: Stage Door

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

James Elroy Flecker was born on 5th November 1884, in Lewisham, London. 
Flecker does not seem to have enjoyed academic study and achieved only a Third-Class Honours in Greats in 1906.  This did not set him up for a job in either government service or the academic world. 
After some frustrating forays at school teaching he attempted to join the Levant Consular Service and entered Cambridge to study for two years. After a poor first year he pushed forward in the second and achieved First-Class honours. His reward was a posting to Constantinople at the British consulate. 
However, Flecker’s poetry career was making better progress and he was beginning to garner praise for his poems including The Bridge of Fire.  Unfortunately, he was also showing the first symptoms of contracting tuberculosis. Bouts of ill health were to now alternate with periods of physical well-being woven with mental euphoria and creativity. 
Before his early death he managed to complete several volumes of poetry, which he continually revised, together with some prose works and plays. It was a small canon of work but on his death on 3rd January 1915, of tuberculosis, in Davos, Switzerland he was described as "unquestionably the greatest premature loss that English literature has suffered since the death of Keats".

Other books that might interest you

  • Fantasy World of Bettie Page #3 - cover

    Fantasy World of Bettie Page #3

    Michael Frizell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This issue: Bettie Page fights alone! Trapped in the enemy stronghold, Bettie must use all her acquired skills and singular charm to obtain the information necessary to prevent war with Russia and to stay alive! Meanwhile, Colonel Vetrov’s plan nears fruition, and the Red Menace is born!
    Show book
  • City as a Political Idea - Citizenship Sovereignty and Politics - cover

    City as a Political Idea -...

    PLYMOUTH UNIV

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The question of citizenship is becoming one of the central social and political problems, where sovereignty is being challenged by globalisation and militarisation. The old model of citizenship is no longer valid in the contemporary reality of mass migrations and ethnic, religious and cultural integration. Krzysztof Nawratek revives the socio-political potential of the city as a tool for social change. He proposes to establish the city’s own sovereignty by introducing a new type of multiple and flexible city citizenship. City as a Political Idea combines reflection on urban planning, architecture, politics and society. It questions reasons for the existence of contemporary cities as well as their future.
    Show book
  • Singing and posture postural and osteopathic principles for singers - cover

    Singing and posture postural and...

    Mauro Banfi

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A book dedicated to students and professional singers interested in a funcional perspective of the daily practice of singing.
    It rediscovers the often forgotten micro mobilities of the body, which are very useful for artists, by not considering posture as a static concept.
    It is not a manual of vocal technique but it is a text aimed at improving the “body posture for a good voice “.
    It’s dedicated to teachers and students who want to explore these topics with particular attention to the most frequent problems occurring to singers.
    It also proposes exercises and pratical prevention in support of the artistic training.
    Mauro Banfi, Osteopath and Physioterapist is specialised on the treatement of performing artists. His approach rapresents the updated result of practical experimentation, workshops, masterclasses for choirs , vocal groups , music schools and conservatories in over twenty years of experience.
    Show book
  • Animation Development - From Pitch to Production - cover

    Animation Development - From...

    David B. Levy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Whether a novice curious about the cartoon production process, a visual arts student who has not yet experienced that big break, or a seasoned professional looking for valuable insight, Animation Development is the go-to guide for creating the perfect pitch. David Levy has been through every aspect of the pitching process--preparation, hope, rejection, success--and now he wraps up his valuable experience to deliver this comprehensive guide on the industry and process. Animation Development will help readers discover how to tap into their creativity to develop something personal yet universal, push projects through collaborations and partnerships, set up pitch meetings, get legal representation and agents, and manage the emotional roller-coaster common to the pitching and development process.Allworth Press, an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing, publishes a broad range of books on the visual and performing arts, with emphasis on the business of art. Our titles cover subjects such as graphic design, theater, branding, fine art, photography, interior design, writing, acting, film, how to start careers, business and legal forms, business practices, and more. While we don't aspire to publish a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are deeply committed to quality books that help creative professionals succeed and thrive. We often publish in areas overlooked by other publishers and welcome the author whose expertise can help our audience of readers.
    Show book
  • Twelve Lessons on Breathing and Breath Control - For Singers Speakers and Teachers - cover

    Twelve Lessons on Breathing and...

    George E. Thorp

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This vintage book contains a detailed guide to the various breathing techniques employed by singers and public speakers. Written in simple, clear language and full of useful information, this timeless handbook is highly recommended for modern readers with a practical interest in singing. Contents include: "In Breathing", "A Study of the Movement in Ordinary Inspiration", "In Breathing", "The Parts of the Act of Inspiration", "In Breathing-The Backward Expansion", "In Breathing-The Forward Expansion", "In Breathing-The Upward Expansion", "In Breathing-The Upward Movement of the Chest, continued", "Power", "Breath Control", et cetera. Many vintage books such as this are increasingly scarce and expensive. Originally published in 1896, we are republishing this volume now in an affordable, modern, high-quality edition.
    Show book
  • Mozart in the Jungle - Sex Drugs and Classical Music - cover

    Mozart in the Jungle - Sex Drugs...

    Blair Tindall

    • 0
    • 20
    • 0
    In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland’s Dancing on My Grave, Mozart in the Jungle delves into the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music. In a book that inspired the Amazon Original series starring Gael García Bernal and Malcolm McDowell, oboist Blair Tindall recounts her decades-long professional career as a classical musician—from the recitals and Broadway orchestra performances to the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth in the backbiting New York classical music scene, where musicians trade sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions— working-class musicians who schlep across the city between low-paying gigs, without health-care benefits or retirement plans, a stark contrast to the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars. An incisive, no-holds-barred account, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.
    Show book