Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Pistoleer - A Novel of John Wesley Hardin - cover

The Pistoleer - A Novel of John Wesley Hardin

James Carlos Blake

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The award-winning author’s “fearless” debut novel chronicles the life of a legendary Texas outlaw with “a ruthless sensibility . . . spare and tough” (Publishers Weekly).   Some called him a Texas hero. Some called him the Devil himself. But on one point they all agreed. While he was alive, John Wesley Hardin was the deadliest man in Texas.   A killer at fifteen, in the next few years he became skilled enough with his pistols to back down Wild Bill Hickok in the street. The law finally caught up with him when he was twenty-five. By then, he had killed as many as forty men and been shot so many times that, it was said, he carried a pound of lead in his flesh.   In jail he became a scholar, studying law books until he won himself freedom, and afterwards he tried to lead an upright life. It was not to be. By the time he was killed in 1895, Hardin was an anachronism—the last true gunfighter of the Old West.   With each chapter told from a different character’s perspective, The Pistoleer is “a genuine tour-de-force” of Western historical fiction from the Los Angeles Times Book Prize–winning author of In the Rogue Blood (Rocky Mountain News).   “Astonishing.” —Kirkus Reviews   “Detailed and cinematic.” —Publishers Weekly   “An achievement by any standards, but as a first novel is simply astounding.” —Roundup Magazine
Available since: 12/13/2016.
Print length: 464 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Mystery of the Blue Train - cover

    The Mystery of the Blue Train

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    American millionaire Rufus Van Aldin has only one weakness: his daughter Ruth. She, on the other hand, has two weaknesses: jewels and dangerous men. The paternal gift, the Ruby Flame Heart, will not bring her happiness...Catherine Grey is also traveling on the Blue Train, and she was the last to see the victim alive. From her testimony, Hercule Poirot begins his work.Who murdered the millionaire's daughter? Where is the Flame Heart? To whom will Catherine Grey give her heart?Fortunately - as he himself says in the novel - "Papa Poirot always laughs last."
    Show book
  • The Disappearance at Père-Lachaise - cover

    The Disappearance at Père-Lachaise

    Claude Izner

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Fin de siècle Paris: the world of Verlaine and Zola, Renoir and Toulouse-Lautrec; a time of anarchists, scientists, and occultists, when can-can skirts were raised at the Moulin Rouge and fortunes were lost on the Panama Canal. Armand de Valois was one of these latter unfortunates, stricken by yellow fever at the site of his ruin. When his widow Odette disappears into his tomb in the Père-Lachaise cemetery and never returns, her maid Denise fears the worst. Alone in the great metropolis, Denise knows just one person she can go to for help: Odette's former lover, Victor Legris. When the frightened girl turns up at his bookshop, Victor feels there must be a simple explanation for Odette's disappearance. But it soon becomes apparent that something sinister lies behind events at the Père-Lachaise. When Denise turns up drowned in the Seine, and Odette's corpse is found buried in an overgrown backyard, Victor throws himself into his second investigation, aided by his trusty assistant Joseph and much to his lover Tasha's chagrin. Once again, Paris and its denizens come alive, and events of world and local history give the mystery a thrilling backdrop. From the the Bois de Vincennes to the streets of Saint-Germain, from trams to carriages, from artists' lofts to coffee bars, diligently researched and tightly plotted, The Disappearance at Père-Lachaise immerses readers in a fascinating mystery in the glorious City of Light.
    Show book
  • Patriot Target (A Zack Force Action Thriller—Book 5) - Digitally narrated using a synthesized voice - cover

    Patriot Target (A Zack Force...

    Vin Strong

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This recording has been digitally produced by Vin Strong, using a synthesized version of an audiobook narrator’s voice under license. When high-ranking military officials fall victim to a determined assassin, It's up to Homeland Agent Zack Force to unravel the mystery and halt this lethal game of cat and mouse before it reaches its climax.
    
    PATRIOT TARGET (A Zack Force Action Thriller—Book 5) is the fifth novel in a new series by thriller author Vin Strong. The series begins with PATRIOT FORCE (book #1).
    
    Zack Force is an action thriller you won’t be able to put down. With heart-pounding suspense and unforgettable twists, this series will have you falling in love with a brand-new action hero—and turning pages late into the night. Fans of Vince Flynn, Tom Clancy, and Brad Thor are sure to fall in love with their next favorite action hero.
    
    Future books in the series are also available!
    Show book
  • The Hack Trilogy - International Crime Thriller Books 1 - 3 - cover

    The Hack Trilogy - International...

    Will Patching

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Do you enjoy fast-paced thrillers that make you think? Then you'll love these killer stories from this award-winning author.  
    Featuring damaged but deadly ex-CIA assassin, Doug Hunter, and feisty UK journalist, Kate O'Sullivan – a young woman determined to make a name for herself in the cut-throat world of investigative reporting.  
    These three rapid-fire conspiracy thrillers will take you on a roller-coaster ride involving child exploitation, modern day slavery and organ trafficking, through criminal enterprises rife with drugs and money laundering, to unnecessary wars and genocidal conflicts. This gripping trilogy blends fact and fiction, covering subjects in a way some readers describe as disturbingly twisted – yet also fascinating, thrilling and thought-provoking. 
    NB. Not for the faint hearted. 
    The Hack – A vigilante on the hunt. A journalist on a warpath. To expose an international crime ring they might have to pay the ultimate price… 
    The Hunter – She’s an up-and-coming reporter. He’s a reformed assassin. Can they uncover the shocking secrets behind a callous double murder? 
    The Hangman – A killer looking to retire. A country on the brink of war. A betrayal that could cost him everything.  
    "Thriller writing at its best. The whole trilogy is highly recommended." 
    Strap in for a pulse-pounding thrill ride and grab your copy today!
    Show book
  • The Musgrave Ritual - Sherlock Holmes - cover

    The Musgrave Ritual - Sherlock...

    Sir Aarthur Conan Doyl

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "The Musgrave Ritual" is a short story by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, featuring his fictional detective Sherlock Holmes. The story was originally published in Strand Magazine in 1919, and was collected later in The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes. Unlike the majority of Holmes stories, the main narrator is not Doctor Watson, but Sherlock Holmes himself. With Watson providing an introduction, the story within a story is a classic example of a frame tale. It is one of the earliest recorded cases investigated by Holmes, and establishes his problem solving skills.In the story, Holmes recounts to Watson the events arising after a visit from a university acquaintance, Reginald Musgrave. Musgrave visits Holmes after the disappearance of two of his domestic staff, Rachel Howells, a maid, and Richard Brunton, the longtime butler. The pair vanished after Musgrave had dismissed Brunton for secretly reading a family document, the Musgrave Ritual. The Ritual, which dates from the 17th century, is a riddle set in question/response form.
    Show book
  • If I Run - cover

    If I Run

    Terri Blackstock

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Casey knows the truth. But it won’t set her free. Casey Cox’s DNA is all over the crime scene. There’s no use talking to police; they’ve failed her abysmally before. She has to flee before she’s arrested . . . or worse. The truth doesn’t matter anymore. But what is the truth? That’s the question haunting Dylan Roberts, the war-weary veteran hired to find Casey. PTSD has marked him damaged goods, but bringing Casey back can redeem him. Though the crime scene seems to tell the whole story, details of the murder aren’t adding up. Casey Cox doesn’t fit the profile of a killer. But are Dylan’s skewed perceptions keeping him from being objective? If she isn’t guilty, why did she run? Unraveling her past and the evidence that condemns her will take more time than he has, but as Dylan’s damaged soul intersects with hers, he is faced with two choices: the girl who occupies his every thought is a psychopathic killer . . . or a selfless hero. And the truth could be the most deadly weapon yet. Full-length romantic suspense novelOther series from Terri Blackstock: Cape Refuge, Newpointe 911, the SunCoast Chronicles, and the Restoration series
    Show book