Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Vendetta - cover

Vendetta

Jack McSporran

Publisher: Inked Entertainment

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Venice. The Mafia. A drug deal gone wrong.
 
When a British covert intelligence agency learns of an impending drug deal between the Venetian mafia and one of the UK’s most notorious importers, agent Maggie Black is sent to stop it.
 
Under the alias of an American drug lord, Maggie must infiltrate the crime family and stop their product from reaching British soil. A feat that gets more complicated when her colleague and old flame Leon is sent along with her.
 
Maggie is soon thrust into the middle of a vicious war that spans generations. As blood is spilled and the scent of death lingers across the lagoons, a failed mission becomes the least of her worries. Because someone has a score to settle and they won't let Maggie stand in their way...
 
Join Maggie Black in VENDETTA, the first heart-pounding novella in the Maggie Black Case Files series, and the perfect read for fans of Lee Child and James Patterson.
 
Get your copy of VENDETTA today and discover the action-packed world of Maggie Black.

Other books that might interest you

  • Moving On - cover

    Moving On

    Anna Jacobs

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    ‘A beautifully told and engaging story with brilliant characters’ Books Monthly 
    Molly Peel feels trapped by her family: her ex-husband Craig cannot seem to abandon his controlling ways, despite leaving her for a younger woman; her lazy son Brian has long been taking advantage of her generosity; and her selfish daughter Rachel is embarrassed by her. When she is blamed for ruining Rachel’s wedding in circumstances beyond her control, Molly decides enough is enough and makes a clean break to Wiltshire to begin a new life. However, the persistent interference of her ex presents difficulties. Can Molly find the courage to stand up for herself and finally move on?
    Show book
  • The Cuban Comedy - cover

    The Cuban Comedy

    Pablo Medina

    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    -Major review coverage: Medina is a well-respected established author
    -National tour and placement at major festivals
    Show book
  • Inhabitation - A Novel - cover

    Inhabitation - A Novel

    Teru Miyamoto

    • 1
    • 1
    • 1
    A living lizard nailed to a pillar and a young man bound by a family misfortune––a tale that poses questions about life, death, and karma by one of Japan’s most beloved living writers.
    
    In 1970s Osaka, college student Tetsuyuki moves into a shabby apartment to evade his late father’s creditors. But the apartment’s electricity hasn’t been reconnected yet, and Tetsuyuki spends his first night in darkness. Wanting to hang up a tennis cap from his girlfriend, Yōko, he fumbles about in the dark and drives a nail into a pillar. The next day he discovers that he has pierced the body of a lizard, which is still alive. He decides to keep it alive, giving it food and water and naming it Kin.
    
    Inhabitation unfolds from there, following the complications in Tetsuyuki’s relationship with Yōko, a friendship with his supervisor who hides his heart disease at work, and his father’s creditors, always close on his heels. Daunted, Tetsuyuki speaks to Kin night after night, and Kin’s peculiarly tortured situation reflects the mingled pain, love, and guilt that infuses Tetsuyuki’s human relationships.
    
    For more than four decades, Teru Miyamoto’s gentle prose—which often explores a kind of spiritual isolation—has enthralled Japanese readers. Now, translator Roger K. Thomas brings one of Miyamoto’s most well-loved novels to an English-speaking audience for the first time. 
    
    Praise from Booksellers
    
    "Miyamoto’s Inhabitation, appearing for the first time in English thanks to the fine folks at Counterpoint Press, begins simply and strangely: Tetsuyuki, in the pitch black of a new apartment, drives a nail into a pillar, and accidentally pierces through a lizard that miraculously survives. The novel unfolds from there, dealing with themes of love, human relationships, life, and death. Blending the surreal with the mundane, Miyamoto’s novel is sure to appeal to fans of Japanese literature and those who enjoy a fair dose of existential philosophizing in their novels. Strange, bleakly humorous, and at its core deeply human, Inhabitation is an engaging literary novel about the deeper questions in life." —Caleb Masters, Bookmarks (Winston-Salem, NC)
    Show book
  • The Flying Goat - cover

    The Flying Goat

    H.E. Bates

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    The Flying Goat (Jonathan Cape, 1939) features sixteen diverse stories from slapstick sketches to portraits of marital tension; one Uncle Silas tale; and three that hark back to Bates's boyhood roots.  
     
    'A Funny Thing' is an escalating bragging match between Uncle Silas and Uncle Cosmos. Cosmos is modelled on Bates's paternal grandfather, Charles Lawrence, who was "known about Rushden as a dapper and dashing figure who spent his holidays in the south of France, where he reputedly had a number of mistresses". A television adaptation starring Albert Finney was aired in 2003. 
     
    In a cautionary tale, ever-relevant today, 'Shot Actress – Full Story' is an account of the death of a former actress, and of the damaging effect of rumours. In commenting on the public's obsession with scandal and journalism, the tale reflects Bates's early newspaper work at the Northamptonshire Chronicle as well as a wider social commentary. 
     
    The Times Literary Supplement singled out 'The White Pony' and 'The Ox' as "faultless things, jewels as luminous and as finely cut as any Mr. Bates has turned out. In each of them the evocative strength of his countryside pictures is joined to a still and poignant emotion that seems to project a background of universal experience for a particular sorrow." 
     
    The bonus story 'Pensioned Off' is a sensitive and touching tale of a Latin teacher approaching the end of his career, reflecting on his obsolete methods of trying to teach a dying language. The story is based in part on Bates's own Latin teacher who he described as "extremely fat", so in a sweetly comic moment we hear how he fasts every Thursday so as not to become obese. Published in the New Adelphi (1929), and not republished since.
    Show book
  • Magic Kingdom Dream Lake - cover

    Magic Kingdom Dream Lake

    Zenith Publishing

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Magic Kingdom” is a rich mix of delightful tales and entertaining activities that make this magazine ideal for preschool children and children of primary school age. Your toddler will be fascinated by bright and colorful illustrations.Our magazine is specially designed for little hands and growing minds; it will inspire your kids to make their first attempts in reading, painting, drawing, writing. Also, it will encourage your child to play, imagine and explore with his friends. Beautifully illustrated fairy tales, interesting practical tasks, recipes to cook together with Mums, home workshops and board games give your children opportunity to enjoy time with parents, grandparents and loved ones.Welcome to the wonderful world of good and wise tales, where everyone can find a pretty princess and naughty king, dwarves and fire-breathing dragons, all-powerful wizards and brave princes.
     
    In this issue:
     
    Fairy tale “Dream Lake”
     
    Smart little tasks for little ones
     
    Board game
     
    Little cookery experts. Super berries
     
    Home workshop. Photo gallery
    Show book
  • The Essential Clive Barker - Selected Fiction - cover

    The Essential Clive Barker -...

    Clive Barker

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    "I wonder if the reverse is not also in some way true. That the artist is constantly working on an elaborate and fantasticated self-portrait, but at the end has drawn, unbeknownst, a picture of the world." -- Clive Barker, "Private Legends: An Introduction" 
    Clive Barker, award-winning and New York Times bestselling author, playwright, artist, producer, director, screenwriter, and one of the world's master storytellers, writing in the haunting and moving traditions of Poe and Dickens, invites us to join him on a dazzling, wondrous journey through the worlds of his imagination and to experience visions, dreams, love, terror, heaven and hell, and revenge. 
    As we read, we discover and explore the dream-sea Quiddity and the islands of Ephemeris; the five Dominions of the Imajica, of which the Earth is but an imperfect facet; the rapturous world woven into an ancient, threadbare carpet in a derelict house in Liverpool; Hood's Holiday House where each day contains four seasons and children's wishes may come true; the Sky Room of Galilee, where the creation of the universe may be witnessed; and the clubs and bars of San Francisco and New York, in which all manner of sexual adventures lie in wait. 
    In these stories, the real and the miraculous are within a breath of one another, life gives way to death, and death to life; doorways open into other states of existence, and each doorway leads us back to our own dreams and fears. 
    The Essential Clive Barker is an irresistible narrative compendium that superbly represents the impressive quality and range of Barker's fiction, spanning more than twenty years of writing. It contains more than seventy excerpts from novels and plays and four full-length short stories, all personally selected by Barker, and offers a privileged insight into a remarkable writer and his art.
    Show book