Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Booking In - A Crang Mystery - cover

Booking In - A Crang Mystery

Jack Batten

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 2
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Mystery-solving criminal lawyer Crang returns to investigate the disappearance of two rare books. 
 


Fletcher Marshall is a Toronto antiquarian book dealer, internationally respected in the business. One night, someone blows the safe in his office and makes off with the contents, which include an infamous forged first edition of Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s Sonnets from the Portuguese that is in itself a collector’s item. Fletcher, who was still in the process of verifying the book, doesn’t even know whether it was the real thing or a clever forgery (of a forgery). But rather than summon the cops to investigate the theft, he turns to his pal Crang, the nervy criminal lawyer, hoping he can retrieve the books before their owner gets wind of the crime. The owner happens to be the richest woman in Canada and a tough cookie who could ruin Fletcher’s career. 
 

Crang gets on the hunt, learning much about the trade in musty books and the lucrative business it makes for forgers. Just as he seems to be getting close to answers, a shocking development makes things much more complicated — and much more dangerous.

Other books that might interest you

  • Cherringham - Playing Dead - A Cosy Crime Series - cover

    Cherringham - Playing Dead - A...

    Matthew Costello, Neil Richards

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    When Cherringham Drama Society invite a local TV celebrity to direct their Christmas show, they get more publicity than they bargained for. Someone's out to sabotage the event, and rehearsals spin into chaos. Jack and Sarah are asked to investigate and soon discover that there's a darker mystery taking place behind the scenes ... 
    
    Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new mystery thriller released each month. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the 12 self-contained episodes is a quick read for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. 
    
    For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury. 
    
    Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90’s, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few.  Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham. Now into its second season of 12 novellas, Cherringham is popular around the world and has been adapted as a series of audiobooks in English and German.
    Show book
  • Inspector Ghote Plays a Joker - cover

    Inspector Ghote Plays a Joker

    H. R. F. Keating

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Inspector Ghote, 'one of the great creations of detective fiction' (Alexander McCall Smith), is assigned his most baffling case yet: preventing the murder . . . of a flamingo, in this classic mystery - with a brand-new introduction by bestselling author Vaseem Khan.
    
    Inspector Ganesh Ghote of the Bombay CID is taken aback when his boss, the rage-prone Deputy Superintendent Naik, cheerfully summons him with an unusual order: to stop a murder. But his boss's good mood turns out to be the least bizarre thing about the situation. For the potential murder victim is an expensive flamingo - a gift from the US Consul - and if Ghote doesn't prevent it meeting the same tragic end as its three companions, it could result in serious embarrassment for the government.
    
    Saddled with the most incompetent sergeant in the history of policing, Ghote investigates with his usual thoroughness, and soon suspects the flamingo-slaying is linked to a whole series of elaborate, unkind pranks. Who would do such a thing, and why? The hard-working inspector doesn't get the joke. But when the case takes a darker turn, all thoughts of humour are forgotten . . .
    Show book
  • Closing Time - A Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery - cover

    Closing Time - A Stonechild and...

    Brenda Chapman

    • 0
    • 14
    • 0
    Secrets abound at a northern Ontario lodge when a teenage employee is murdered. 
     
    
    
    It’s late summer and a restless Officer Kala Stonechild has taken her foster niece, Dawn, on a canoe trip at Pine Hollow Lodge in the wilderness north of Sault Ste. Marie. But the getaway turns deadly when a teenage girl goes missing on her way home from an evening shift at the lodge’s restaurant. 
     
    
    
    After the girl’s body is found between the lodge and the nearby town of Searchmont, Stonechild reluctantly agrees to help with the investigation. She’s teamed with Clark Harrison, an officer she worked with during her last posting in northwestern Ontario. As the investigation heats up, Stonechild’s past threatens the close bonds she’s forged back home. Will she return to her life in Kingston, or will the rekindling of an old relationship lure her away for good?
    Show book
  • A Sanctuary of Spirits - cover

    A Sanctuary of Spirits

    Leanna Renee Hieber

    • 4
    • 23
    • 0
    As the twentieth century approaches, New York’s Ghost Precinct crosses a threshold into the land of the dead in this paranormal gaslamp mystery.  New York City, 1899. The NYPD’s Ghost Precinct, an all-female team of psychics and spiritualists led by gifted young medium Eve Whitby, is unconventional to say the least. And now they’re stepping even further outside the bounds of normal police work—into an otherworldly realm known as the Ghost Sanctuary. It’s a place where the dead can provide answers. But will Eve and her colleagues pay a price for venturing beyond the land of the living?   Investigating a mortician’s sudden disappearance, Eve encounters a charismatic magician and mesmerist whose abilities are unlike any she’s seen before. Is he connected to the mysterious deaths around the city—or a link to the Ghost Sanctuary? Torn between the bonds of her team and her growing relationship with the dashing Detective Horowitz, Eve must discern truth from illusion and friend from foe before another soul vanishes into the ether.  Praise for The Eterna Files “Smart, boundlessly creative gaslamp fantasy.” —RT Book Reviews   “Will have readers chomping at the bit for more.” —Suspense Magazine on Eterna and Omega
    Show book
  • The Confession - An Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery - cover

    The Confession - An Inspector...

    Charles Todd

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “One of the best historical series being written today.”—Washington Post 
    “Todd once and for all establishes the shell-shocked Rutledge as the genre’s most complex and fascinating detective.”—Entertainment Weekly 
    The Confession is historical crime fiction at its finest, continuing Charles Todd’s New York Times bestselling mystery series featuring severely damaged British World War I veteran, and yet still astonishingly efficient Scotland Yard inspector, Ian Rutledge. Todd’s troubled investigator wrestles with a startling and dangerous case that reaches far into the past when a false confession from a man who is not who he claims to be leads to a brutal murder. The Confession is a must-read for every fan of Elizabeth George, Martha Grimes, P.D. James, Ruth Rendell, and Jacqueline Winspear, as post-war London’s best detective finds himself ensnared in a dark and deadly investigation that unearths shocking small town secrets dating back more than a century.
    Show book
  • The Perfect Girl - A Novel - cover

    The Perfect Girl - A Novel

    Gilly Macmillan

    • 2
    • 21
    • 0
    The New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew returns with an electrifying new novel about how the past will always find us... 
    "Literary suspense at its finest.”—Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of Pretty Baby 
    “A wonderfully addictive book with virtuoso plotting and characters - for anyone who loved Girl on the Train, it’s a must read.” 
       — Rosamund Lupton 
    Zoe Maisey is a seventeen-year-old musical prodigy with a genius IQ. Three years ago, she was involved in a tragic incident that left three classmates dead. She served her time, and now her mother, Maria, is resolved to keep that devastating fact tucked far away from their new beginning, hiding the past even from her new husband and demanding Zoe do the same.   
    Tonight Zoe is giving a recital that Maria has been planning for months. It needs to be the performance of her life. But instead, by the end of the evening, Maria is dead.  
    In the aftermath, everyone—police, family, Zoe’s former solicitor, and Zoe herself—tries to piece together what happened. But as Zoe knows all too well, the truth is rarely straightforward, and the closer we are to someone, the less we may see.
    Show book