If you like reading, you will LOVE reading without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Booking In - A Crang Mystery - cover

Booking In - A Crang Mystery

Jack Batten

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 2
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Mystery-solving criminal lawyer Crang returns to investigate the disappearance of two rare books. 
 


Fletcher Marshall is a Toronto antiquarian book dealer, internationally respected in the business. One night, someone blows the safe in his office and makes off with the contents, which include an infamous forged first edition of Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s Sonnets from the Portuguese that is in itself a collector’s item. Fletcher, who was still in the process of verifying the book, doesn’t even know whether it was the real thing or a clever forgery (of a forgery). But rather than summon the cops to investigate the theft, he turns to his pal Crang, the nervy criminal lawyer, hoping he can retrieve the books before their owner gets wind of the crime. The owner happens to be the richest woman in Canada and a tough cookie who could ruin Fletcher’s career. 
 

Crang gets on the hunt, learning much about the trade in musty books and the lucrative business it makes for forgers. Just as he seems to be getting close to answers, a shocking development makes things much more complicated — and much more dangerous.

Other books that might interest you

  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 5
    • 63
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book
  • BC Blues Crime 3-Book Bundle - Creep Undertow Cold Girl - cover

    BC Blues Crime 3-Book Bundle -...

    R.M. Greenaway

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Dion and Leith aren’t just detectives, they’re human beings. See, that’s the problem. 
     
    
    
    RCMP officer David Leith and his team investigate a series of murders from the snowbound Hazeltons to Lower Mainland B.C. in this atmospheric new crime series. 
     
    
    
    Cold Girl — Book #1 
    
    A singer vanishes in the snowbound Hazeltons. Has she been snatched by the so-called Pickup Killer? Investigator David Leith has much to contend with — punishing weather and wily witnesses, plus a young constable who’s more hindrance than help. Suspects multiply, but only at the bitter end does Leith discover who is the coldest girl of all. 
     
    
    
    Undertow — Book #2 
    
    RCMP detective Leith fears he’s made a mistake bringing his family to North Vancouver. His first Serious Crimes Unit case has rocked his senses: who would brutally murder a mother, father, and baby? Detective Dion, also regretting the move, has returned to the city where he no longer fits in — but is he back in the swim, or destined to drown? 
     
    
    
    Creep — Book #3 
    
    A pair of dead bodies don’t seem linked, or even suspicious, at first, but Dion and Leith soon find themselves with a hairy murder case on their hands. As Dion gets tangled up with a witness and Leith loses himself in the case, a different kind of killer is on the prowl. But the rumours about him being more than human can’t possibly be true …
    Show book
  • The Seville Communion - A Novel - cover

    The Seville Communion - A Novel

    Arturo Pérez-Reverte

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    An “intricate literary mystery [of] wrenching effect” by the internationally acclaimed, bestselling author of The Club Dumas (The New Yorker).   Someone has hacked into the pope’s personal computer—not to spy on the Vatican or to spread a virus, but to send an urgent plea for help: SAVE OUR LADY OF THE TEARS. The crumbling Baroque church in the heart of Seville is slated for demolition—and two of its defenders have suddenly died. Accidents? Or murders? And was the church itself somehow involved?   The Vatican promptly dispatches Father Lorenzo Quart, their worldly and enormously attractive emissary, to investigate the situation, track down the hacker—known only as “Vespers”—and stay alive. Thus begins a sophisticated and utterly suspenseful page-turner that has taken its readers by storm.   “An elegant thriller that is as much about the elusive quest for happiness as it is about solving the murders.” —The Denver Post   “An indelible tale of love, faith, and greed.” —People, Page-Turner of the Week
    Show book
  • Murder Below Zero - A Maxine Benson Mystery - cover

    Murder Below Zero - A Maxine...

    John Lawrence Reynolds

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    It's almost summer in small town Port Ainslie. Or is it? Temperatures are so far below normal that Police Chief Maxine Benson and her team are wearing sweaters. But is it cold enough to freeze the body of the man found in a ditch on the outskirts of town one morning? Maxine starts to investigate, but she is elbowed aside by the mostly-male provincial police force so she takes charge on her own. Soon she's visiting the victim's cold-hearted widow, tracking the widow's mysterious brother, and confronting the killer alone in a tract of forest. Will Maxine's skills solve this twisting tale of a case?
    Show book
  • Faceless Killers - A Mystery - cover

    Faceless Killers - A Mystery

    Henning Mankell

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    #1 international bestseller: This “exquisite novel of mesmerizing depth” launched the acclaimed Wallander novels and BBC series starring Kenneth Branagh (Los Angeles Times).   Early one morning, a small-town farmer discovers that his neighbors have been victims of a brutal attack during the night: An old man has been bludgeoned to death, and his tortured wife lies dying before the farmer’s eyes. The only clue is the single word she utters before she dies: “foreign.”   In charge of the investigation is Inspector Kurt Wallander, a local detective whose personal life is in a shambles. His family is falling apart, he’s gaining weight, he drinks too much and sleeps too little. Tenacious and levelheaded in his sleuthing, he and his colleagues must contend with a wave of violent xenophobia as they search for the killers.   Winner of the Sweden’s Best Mystery Award and the first installment in the series that inspired the PBS program Wallander starring Kenneth Branagh, Faceless Killers is a razor-sharp, stylishly dark police procedural with searing social commentary that reaches beyond its genre to produce “a superior novel—and a harbinger of great things to come” (Booklist).  
    Show book
  • Bad Karma in the Big Easy - cover

    Bad Karma in the Big Easy

    D.J. Donaldson

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    Broussard and Franklyn uncover murder in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina in this Southern thriller from the “master of the Gothic mystery” (Booklist).   Among the dead collected in the catastrophic wake of Hurricane Katrina are three nude female bodies, all caught in the same brush tangle—none with water in their lungs. These women didn’t drown, and that means a murderer is at large. Chief Medical Examiner Andy Broussard intends to bring the killer to justice. But the city’s records are destroyed, the population is scattered, the police force has no offices, and many of its rank and file are homeless. And if that’s not bad enough, Broussard discovers that the bodies were all once frozen solid, completely obliterating key forensic clues.   Now Broussard and criminal psychologist Kit Franklyn are on a dangerous journey through the devastated city of New Orleans, one that will bring them face-to-face with a kind of evil that neither of them could’ve imagined.   “Andy and Kit are a match made in mystery heaven.” —The Clarion-Ledger
    Show book