Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Secret Identities - Secret Origins #2 - cover

Secret Identities - Secret Origins #2

J. D. Brink

Publisher: Fugitive Fiction

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Everyone has secrets.  
Career criminal Gabriel Simonson has joined the inner circle of America's most infamous supervillain. But the Warlocke's new plot could plunge Gabe and his fellow henchman into a crime war against forces that are less than human. 
The only way to prevent it: uncover one deadly secret. 
The second installment of the Secret Origins series twists pulp noir with superhero detective fiction. It also features the very first superhero story of the IDCU, Dreams of Flying. 
Join the growing Identity Crisis Universe and uncover the mysteries behind your favorite ground-breaking characters! 
Capes aren't just for kids anymore! 
The Identity Crisis Universe (IDCU) takes all the best aspects of the comic books you grew up on and grows up with them. Superhero fiction for adults young and old.  
Major works of the Identity Crisis Universe include:Hungry GodsDeus Ex MachinaMasksSecret IdentitiesInvasion

Other books that might interest you

  • A Girl Called Eight - The Sentinel Series #2 - cover

    A Girl Called Eight - The...

    Valery Keith

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Emily thought she and her sisters were the only ones. But they're not. 
    Genetically altered, raised and trained to be an assassin just like her sisters, Nina and Sara, Emily has been enjoying life since gaining her freedom nearly a year ago. No longer a girl called Eight, now she's Emily instead. Other than brawling with her sisters for fun, she's been living a relatively normal life, taking college classes and helping out on the ranch. 
    But all that changes with a single phone call.   
    Once her family learns about children like them at risk of being murdered upon the termination of the illegal program which created them, they have no choice. With the help of their whole family, a sympathetic sheriff and a helpful motorcycle club, Emily and her sisters set out to rescue the children. 
    But the clock is ticking, and if they fail, the children will die.
    Show book
  • The Perfect Wife (A Jessie Hunt Psychological Suspense Thriller—Book One) - cover

    The Perfect Wife (A Jessie Hunt...

    Blake Pierce

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    Criminal profiler in training (and newlywed) Jessie Hunt, 29, discovers that dark secrets lurk in her new suburban town; when a body turns up dead, she finds herself caught in the crosshairs of her newfound friends, her husband’s secrets, her serial killer caseload—and the secrets of her own dark past.
    
    In THE PERFECT WIFE (A Jessie Hunt Psychological Suspense Thriller—Book One), Criminal profiler-in-training Jessie Hunt is sure she's finally put the darkness of her childhood behind her. She and her husband, Kyle, just moved from a cramped downtown Los Angeles apartment into a Westport Beach mansion. Kyle's promotion has them swimming in money. And Jessie is on the verge of getting her Master's degree in forensic psychology, the last step in her dream of becoming a criminal profiler. 
    
    But soon after their arrival, Jessie begins to notice a series of strange developments. The neighbors—and their au pairs—all seem to be hiding secrets. The mysterious yacht club Kyle is desperate to join is rife with cheating spouses, and with troubling rules of its own. And the notorious serial killer being held at the psychiatric hospital where Jessie is completing her degree seems to know more about her life than is normal—or safe. 
    
    As her world starts to unravel, Jessie begins to question everything around her—including her own sanity. Has she truly uncovered a disturbing conspiracy buried within a sunny, wealthy Southern California beach town? Does the mass murderer she's studying really somehow know the origin of her private nightmares? 
    
    Or has her tortured past finally come back to claim her?
    
    A fast-paced psychological suspense thriller with unforgettable characters and heart-pounding suspense, THE PERFECT WIFE is book #1 in a riveting new series that will leave you turning pages late into the night.
    Show book
  • Headlong - cover

    Headlong

    Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Bill Slider and his team investigate the death of a prominent literary agent in this intriguing contemporary mystery.When one of London’s best-known literary agents is found dead in strange circumstances, having fallen headlong from his office window, DCI Slider is under pressure from the Borough Commander to confirm a case of accidental death. But when the evidence points to murder, Slider and his team find themselves uncovering some decidedly scandalous secrets in the suave and successful Ed Wiseman’s past.An embittered ex-wife. A discarded mistress. A frustrated would-be author. A disgruntled former employee. Many had reason to hold a grudge against the late lamented literary agent. But who would feel strongly enough to kill him? Any leads in the investigation seem only to result in more questions – not least of which is the identity of the elusive Calliope Hunt. Who is she – and what is her connection to the train of events?
    Show book
  • The Girl From Blind River - A Novel - cover

    The Girl From Blind River - A Novel

    Massey Gale

    • 2
    • 14
    • 0
    BESTSELLING TRADITION: Fans of Daniel Woodrell and Emma Cline will love this taut, edgy tale of a young woman pulled into the criminal underbelly of her small town. MARKETABLE CONCEPT AND PROTAGONIST: Featuring a smart-mouthed heroine facing corruption and danger, this page-turning suspense debut perfectly marries a coming-of-age story with the thrill of a small-town crime drama. WELL-CONNECTED AUTHOR: A Pushcart Prize-nominated author and the recipient of numerous fiction accolades, Gale Massey has strong connections to established authors and will be seeking early praise from: Laura Lippman, Ann Hood, and Michael Koryta. The Girl From Blind River has already collected a handful of blurbs from well-reviewed authors including: Steve Yarbrough, Randall Kenan, and Sterling Watson.
    Show book
  • The Other Child - A Novel of Crime - cover

    The Other Child - A Novel of Crime

    Charlotte Link

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    With more than fifteen million copies of her novels sold in Europe, Charlotte Link makes her chillingly psychological American debut, now in English for the first timeA suspenseful, atmospheric new psychological crime novel from Germany’s most successful living female authorAn old farm, a deserted landscape, a dark secret from times past with fatal consequences for the present. In the tranquil northern seaside town of Scarborough, a student is found cruelly murdered. For months, the investigators are in the dark, until they are faced with a copy-cat crime. The investigation continues as they struggle to establish a connection between the two victims. Ambitious detective Valerie Almond clings to the all too obvious: a rift within the family of the second victim. But there is far more to the case than first appears, and Valerie is led toward a dark secret inextricably linked to the evacuation of children to Scarborough during World War II. Horrified at her last-minute discovery, Valerie realizes that she may be too late to save the next victim. 
    Show book
  • Sidney Sheldon's Chasing Tomorrow - cover

    Sidney Sheldon's Chasing Tomorrow

    Sidney Sheldon, Tilly Bagshawe

    • 0
    • 20
    • 0
    #1 New York Times bestselling author Sidney Sheldon’s most popular and enduring heroine—Tracy Whitney of If Tomorrow Comes—returns in a sensational sequel full of passion, suspense, and breathtaking twists. 
    Tracy Whitney never thought she wanted to settle down. With her suave and handsome partner, Jeff Stevens, she’d been responsible for some of the world’s most astounding heists, relishing the danger and intensity of life on the wild side. But there is still one thing missing from Tracy’s perfect life: a baby. 
    At first “going straight” feels like a new adventure. But as the months pass and Tracy’s longed for pregnancy doesn’t happen, she finds herself yearning for the adrenaline rush of the old days.  When a mysterious and beautiful stranger enters their lives, Tracy and Jeff’s once unbreakable partnership is suddenly blown wide open. Jeff wakes one morning to find Tracy gone, vanished without a trace. 
    For more than a decade, a broken Jeff struggles to carry on knowing Tracy is out there somewhere. But the rest of the world believes Tracy Whitney is dead . . . until a series of murders leads a tenacious French detective to her doorstep. Eleven victims, in ten different cities, over nine years—all of the cities where Tracy pulled off some of her most brilliant capers. Someone is targeting her, manipulating a series of disturbing events and raising terrifying ghosts she thought were dead and buried. 
    Once again, this clever woman finds herself out on the edge, playing the odds in a desperate game of roulette. But this time, she’s got everything to lose—including the man she cannot forget. 
    Tomorrow has come at last. But it isn’t the future Tracy bargained for . . .
    Show book