Read as much as you want at your own pace!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Hungry Gods - Identity Crisis Universe #1 - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Hungry Gods - Identity Crisis Universe #1

J. D. Brink

Publisher: Fugitive Fiction

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

New costume? Check. Superhero mentor? Check. Government conspiracy to cover up the End of the World? Uh... check? 
  
Luke Gillis is barely dragging himself through school. Who said community college was easy? Of course, it would help if he were more focused on grades and less on becoming a costumed crime fighter.  
  
But who can blame him? Liquor store robberies and rampaging monsters are a hell of a lot more exciting than college algebra. And if Twitter is any indication, his new public image is surging into superstardom! 
  
Okay, let's be honest—it isn't. 
  
But why, then, has the U.S. Army so eagerly scooped up his alter ego—the dashing superhero Spitball—for an urgent, top secret mission? And what does it have to do with the former-hero-turned-outlaw known as the Miracle Worker? 
  
And if this is really Spitball's big break, why is everyone trying to kill him? 
  
Non-stop sci-fi action with the humor of Spider-Man, the gritty noir of Watchmen, and an appetite like The Walking Dead! Don't miss the genre-shattering debut of the Identity Crisis Universe! 
  
See why readers and critics agree: "[Brink's] balancing of character impact against non-stop action is just glorious... Hungry Gods is NOT just your ordinary 'SPLASH!! BAM!! ##*** POW!!' comic event. It's really, really good (and a rereader)." -- Mallory Heart Reviews 
  
Capes aren't just for kids anymore! The Identity Crisis Universe (IDCU) takes the comic books you grew up on, gamma-irradiates them, and sets them loose upon the world! Superhero adventure for grown-ups.Book 1: Hungry GodsBook 2: Secret OriginsBook 3: Deus Ex Machina 
 

Other books that might interest you

  • The Lucky Dress - The perfect feel-good romance for 2019 - cover

    The Lucky Dress - The perfect...

    Aimee Brown

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    We all have our lucky dress... an irresistibly hilarious rom-com! 
     
    Emi Harrison hasn't been feeling particularly lucky lately. Ever since her ex-fiancée, Jack Cabot, successfully shattered her heart into a million pieces. She's managed to avoid him for a whole year, but all that's about to change at her brother Evan's wedding... 
     
    She will have to face Jack, Jack's sister, Jack's parents, and Jack's new girlfriend: a mean girl that just won't quit. What could possibly go wrong? 
     
    With her lucky dress on, all bets are off, and maybe Emi will find her happily-ever-after at last? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Anna Bell, Jo Watson and Sophie Kinsella. 
     
    Praise for The Lucky Dress: 
     
    'One of my favorite books this year, maybe even ever' Michelle Harris. 
     
    'I was sucked in from the start and pretty much devoured the book' Nikki Newcomb. 
     
    'Perfect beach reading book' Danielle Dobson. 
     
    'Funny, relatable story' Erin Butler. 
     
    'I enjoyed this frothy, funny rom-com and read it in one sitting. Perfect beach read!' Amanda Driver.
    Show book
  • Did That Really Happen? - cover

    Did That Really Happen?

    Errol Dunn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This book is a brief collection of some of the humorous anecdotes from the workplace, the drinking place, the living place and a lot of other places. All information in this book is from sources and recollections considered to be trustworthy and reliable. However, no warranty is made to the accuracy thereof.
    Show book
  • Otherhood - cover

    Otherhood

    William Sutcliffe

    • 2
    • 16
    • 1
    First published as Whatever Makes You Happy, the hilarious and moving novel about mothers and their adult sons will soon be a Netflix original movie starring Felicity Huffman, Angela Bassett and Patricia Arquette 
     
    Three sons. Three mums. One week. 
     
    Matt, Daniel and Paul were childhood friends. Now in their thirties, they've lost touch and have only one thing in common: their mothers. Little do they know that, having spent a cardless Mother's Day discussing how their emotionally dysfunctional offspring should be settling down, Carol, Gillian and Helen have decided to pay their wayward sons a visit. On the same day, they turn up on their sons' doorsteps, uninvited and unannounced. Their plan is to reestablish the mother-son bond by moving in for one week. Just a week. Surely that's not a lot to ask...
    Show book
  • A Year of Second Chances - A heartwarming emotional story perfect for summer reading - cover

    A Year of Second Chances - A...

    Kendra Smith

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Three women. Three very different lives. One life-changing adventure. 
     
    Charlie is a single mum unlucky in life. Her multiple jobs make barely enough to feed the family cat, never mind being able to give her son the life he deserves. So when an opportunity to make a lot of cash comes along, she simply has to take it. 
     
    Suzie has always wanted to be a mother. But fate has been cruel and now time is running out. Soon her final frozen egg will be destroyed and her last chance of having a baby will go with it. With her husband resolved to their childless life Suzie takes matters into her own hands. 
     
    Dawn is about to turn fifty and seems to have misplaced her mojo along with the car keys. But with an interfering mother-in-law and a gaggle of judgemental mums at her children's school, it's proving harder to find than a decent fitting bra. Especially after a series of highly embarrassing incidents... 
     
    Over the course of a year three lives are about to collide and as they do be prepared to laugh, cry and fall in love with these women as they discover how life can give you a second chance. 
     
    Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond, Marian Keyes, Sophie Kinsella and Paige Toon.
    Show book
  • The Kitten Psychologist Broaches The Topic of Economics - Inklet #6 - cover

    The Kitten Psychologist Broaches...

    Thea van Diepen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The kitten returns, with just as many psychologist issues as ever. 
    Which, fantastic—if it had some way of paying.  
    Somehow (delicately, probably), the psychologist needs to find the kitten a source of income. And fast.  
    The second instalment in van Diepen's popular Kitten Psychologist series, in which we learn about taking ownership of our mistakes.  
    1100 words.  
    Welcome to Inklets, a series of short (and sometimes short-short) stories ranging from sci-fi to fantasy to lingering just on the edge of normal. One thing's for sure: you won't look at the world the same way again.
    Show book
  • The Kitten Psychologist Tries To Be Patient Through Email - Inklet #12 - cover

    The Kitten Psychologist Tries To...

    Thea van Diepen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Unable to visit the psychologist in person, the kitten resorts to email. Which our psychologist can manage just fine. Except the kitten thinks this makes payment unnecessary.  
    That… that's problematic.  
    The psychologist could break off the relationship, of course. But how exactly do you tell a cat 'no'?  
    Our favourite kitten returns, causing more mayhem than ever in this new instalment of The Kitten Psychologist.  
    900 words.  
    Welcome to Inklets, a series of short (and sometimes short-short) stories ranging from sci-fi to fantasy to lingering just on the edge of normal. One thing's for sure: you won't look at the world the same way again.
    Show book