Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Sins of the Fathers - A JP Beaumont Novel - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

Sins of the Fathers - A JP Beaumont Novel

J. A. Jance

Publisher: William Morrow

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Seattle investigator J. P. Beaumont is drawn into an intriguing, and shockingly personal, case in this superb tale of suspense from New York Times bestselling author J. A. Jance. 
 
 
Former Seattle homicide cop, J. P. Beaumont, is learning to enjoy the new realities of retirementdoing morning crossword puzzles by a roaring fireplace; playing frisbee with his new dog; having quiet lunches with his still working wife.But then his pastcomes calling. 
 
When a long ago acquaintance, Alan Dale, shows up on Beaus doorstep with a newborn infant in hand and asking for help locating his missing daughter, Beau finds himself faced with an investigation that will turn his own life upside down by dragging hisnone-too-stellar past onto a roller-coaster ride that may well derail his serene present.It turns out that, even in retirement. murder is still the name of J. P. Beaumonts game.

Other books that might interest you

  • Sabotage in the Secret City - cover

    Sabotage in the Secret City

    Diane Fanning

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    Research chemist-sleuth Libby Clark must uncover the traitor within in this gripping World War II mystery. 
    
    
    
    May 1945. Harry S. Truman has become president, the Allied Forces are closing in on Berlin and the research scientists at the secret facility in Oak Ridge, Tennessee, are doing their bit to bring the war to as swift a conclusion as possible. But does the end justify the means? Libby Clark has mixed feelings about the horror she and her fellow scientists are labouring to unleash on the citizens of Japan – and it seems she’s not the only one to have doubts.
    
    
    
    A campaign of small acts of sabotage convinces Libby that one of their number is deliberately trying to delay the mission. But when the pranks turn deadly, Libby is forced once again to turn undercover sleuth in order to unmask the traitor within, prevent further deaths and keep the focus on ending World War II.
    Show book
  • Every City Is Every Other City - A Gordon Stewart Mystery - cover

    Every City Is Every Other City -...

    John McFetridge

    • 0
    • 3
    • 1
    Behind the scenes, nothing is what it seems.
    		 
    Gord Stewart, 40 years old, single, moved back into his sub­urban childhood home to care for his widowed father. But his father no longer needs care and Gord is stuck in limbo. He’s been working in the movie business as a location scout for years, and when there isn’t much filming, as a private eye for a security company run by ex-cops, OBC. When a fellow crew member asks him to find her missing uncle, Gord reluctantly takes the job. The police say the uncle walked into some dense woods in Northern Ontario and shot himself, but the man’s wife thinks he’s still alive.
    		 
    With the help of his movie business and OBC connections, Gord finds a little evidence that the uncle may be alive. Now Gord has two problems: what to do when he finds a man who doesn’t want to be found, and admitting that he’s getting invested in this job. For the first time in his life, Gord Stewart is going to have to leave the sidelines and get into the game. Even if it might get him killed.
    Show book
  • Borrowed Time - cover

    Borrowed Time

    David Mark

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    Adam Nunn's search for his true identity has horrifying consequences in this compelling psychological thriller.
    
    
    
    A badly mutilated body has been discovered in a remote woodland pond on the Essex borders – a location known to be the haunt of the ruthless crime gang that ruled London in the 70s. When one of the victim's hands is found nearby, forensic tests reveal a number scrawled on the palm. It is quickly identified as the National Insurance number of struggling family man Adam Nunn.
    
    
    
    As Adam is arrested in connection with the murder, it emerges that the dead man was a private investigator he had hired to find out the identity of his birth parents. Just what did Larry Paris discover that got him killed?
    
    
    
    As Adam seeks the truth surrounding his origins and promises justice for the mother he never knew, he is drawn into a lurid criminal world of violence and violation, reprisal and merciless death.  Torn between the man he wants to be and the man he fears becoming, Adam's investigations will lead him ever deeper into darkness.
    Show book
  • Three Bodies by the River - cover

    Three Bodies by the River

    John Kralik

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
     Sam Straight wants to be a good lawyer. Instead he finds himself disillusioned in 1990s LA, daydreaming in court of the gentle savior he wants to be, and drinking away his frustrations at night in his office. But he is violently shaken from the despairing emptiness of his life one evening when an intruder at the law firm brutally stabs him and his partner. 
    With his partner on the brink of death, Sam discovers that he is the LAPD's most likely suspect. But the answer to the mystery attacker might lie with the law firm's prized new client, an eighteen-year-old dot-com entrepreneur known as "the Kid." Is the Kid a money launderer? An inspirational religious leader? A sexual predator? 
    Sam struggles to stay out of prison as he makes his way through an apocalyptic LA landscape of bombings, fires, and organized crime to a fateful encounter with three bodies on the concrete banks of the LA River. His only hope is a first-year associate with an athlete's body but an unproven legal mind. Can he maintain his integrity while exposing depravity in his own client? But more importantly, will he even survive?
    Show book
  • For Better For Worse - Domestic noir meets police procedural in this gripping page-turner - cover

    For Better For Worse - Domestic...

    Jane Isaac

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    'Jane Isaac knows how to tell a good yarn. Expertly plotted and true to life' Mel Sherratt. 
     
    Stuart Ingram was once a respected local councillor... 
     
    The first time the police knocked on Gina's door, they arrested her husband. 
     
    The second time, they accused him of child abuse. 
     
    But he died a guilty man. 
     
    This time, the police are here for Gina – to tell her that her husband is dead. Murdered, just two weeks before his trial. 
     
    Gina always stood by her husband. Even when everyone else walked away. She believed the trial would clear his name. But now Stuart is dead. 
     
    And his wife is the suspect. 
     
    It's a race against time for DC Beth Chamberlain to uncover the truth – especially when a second man turns up dead. 
     
    Domestic noir meets police procedural in this pacy thriller from Jane Isaac, perfect for fans of Samantha Downing, Fiona Barton and K.L. Slater. Previously published as Presumed Guilty. 
     
    Praise for Jane Isaac: 
     
    'Gripping subjects, brilliantly drawn characters and a twisty turny journey from beginning to end. A tense, thrilling read and definitely 5 humongous ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ from me' Angela Marsons on Hush Little Baby. 
     
    'Isaac does a superb job of escalating the tension and dread' Publishers Weekly. 
     
    'Move over La Plante...' Susan May, Suspense Magazine. 
     
    'Tense, dark and gritty: perfect combination' Ian Patrick, author of Rubicon. 
     
    'Crime writing at its best' David Evans, CWA Debut Dagger-shortlisted author of Torment. 
     
    'Jane Isaac just gets better with every book. Deeply unsettling and unputdownable' Rebecca Bradley, bestselling author of the DI Hannah Robbins series. 
     
    'Jane Isaac writes unmissable quality crime fiction' Michael Wood, author of For Reasons Unknown. 
     
    'Gripped from the very first page ... and just when you think it's over, it's really only the beginning' June Taylor, author of Losing Juliet. 
     
    'Brilliantly and intricately plotted, Jane Isaac has produced a terrific page-turner' Lizzie Sirett, Mystery People.
    Show book
  • The Day She Died - cover

    The Day She Died

    S. M. Freedman

    • 4
    • 19
    • 1
    A mind-bending psychological thriller that's The Girl on the Train meets The Silent Patient with a tragic, whimsical tone
    Told in alternating chapters of Eve’s unreliable, murky memories, and flashbacks of her childhood birthdays and that of her dead friend, the picture of Eve’s dark, twisted past begins to form, leaving the reader guessing until the very end
    Central questions around what is real and what is imagined and what makes something “real” or “fake”
    Author's debut novel was selected by Suspense Magazine as one of the "Best Books of 2015" in the Debut Author category
    Author is a former private investigator
    Show book