Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Cuba Diaries - An American Housewife in Havana - cover

Cuba Diaries - An American Housewife in Havana

Isadora Tattlin

Publisher: Shannon Ravenel Books

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Isadora Tattlin is the American wife of a European energy consultant posted to Havana in the 1990s. Wisely, the witty Mrs. Tattlin began a diary the day her husband informed her of their new assignment. One of the first entries is her shopping list of things to take, including six gallons of shampoo. For although the Tattlins were provided with a wonderful, big house in Havana, complete with a staff of seven, there wasn't much else money could buy in a country whose shelves are nearly bare. The record of her daily life in Cuba raising her two small children, entertaining her husband's clients (among them Fidel Castro and his ministers and minions), and contending with chronic shortages of, well . . . everything (on the street, tourists are hounded not for money but for soap), is literally stunning.  Adventurous and intuitive, Tattlin squeezed every drop of juice--both tasty and repellent--from her experience. She traveled wherever she could (it's not easy--there are few road signs or appealing places to stay or eat). She befriended artists, attended concerts and plays. She gave dozens of parties, attended dozens more. Cuba Diaries--vividly explicit, empathetic, often hilarious--takes the reader deep inside this island country only ninety miles from the U.S., where the average doctor's salary is eleven dollars a month. The reader comes away appalled by the deprivation and drawn by the romance of a weirdly nostalgic Cuba frozen in the 1950s.

Other books that might interest you

  • Mark Twain's Medieval Romance - And Other Classic Mystery Stories - cover

    Mark Twain's Medieval Romance -...

    Otto Penzler

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A premier anthology of some of the finest mystery stories in literary history, including tales from Ray Bradbury, Roald Dahl, Aldous Huxley, O. Henry, and Mark Twain.Tantalizing, as ingenious as they are devious, the classic stories in this continually arresting collection come with an irresistible challenge: At their end they leave it to you, the reader, to determine how they end.For ultimately it’s the reader who authors the fate of the brave youth as he contemplates which of the two doors in the king’s arena he will choose in Frank Stockton’s famous and unforgettable “The Lady, or the Tiger?” And which of the two brothers in three-time Edgar-winner Stanley Ellin’s “Unreasonable Doubt” shoots a bullet square in the middle of their rich uncle’s forehead? And just what not-so-sweet secret is the prim Miss Spence hiding behind her smile in Aldous Huxley’s deliciously enigmatic tale? You decide.In all, as in “The Moment of Decision”—a chilling tale that seals an escape artist inside an airless stone cell with a heavy wooden door, which may or may not open—the moment of decision is yours.
    Show book
  • Classics Authors Super Set Serie 1 (Golden Deer Classics) - cover

    Classics Authors Super Set Serie...

    Charles Dickens, Jane Austen,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    his book contains the following works with an Active Table of Contents
    
    
    
    - Hans Christian Andersen: Fairy Tales and Stories
    
    - Jane Austen: The Complete Novels
    
    - The Brontë Sisters: The Complete Novels
    
    - Charles Dickens: The Complete Novels
    
    - Fyodor Dostoyevsky: The Classics Novels Collection
    
    - Arthur Conan Doyle : Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Collection
    
    - Jack London: The Complete Novels
    
    - Lucy Maud Montgomery : Anne of Green Gables: The Complete Collection
    
    - Marcel Proust: In Search of Lost Time [volumes 1 to 7]
    
    - Bram Stoker: The Classics Collection
    
    - Leo Tolstoy: The Classics Collection
    
    - Jules Verne: The Classics Novels Collection
    
    
    
    Also available :
    
    50 Masterpieces you have to read before you die Vol: 1 Golden Deer Classics
    
    50 Masterpieces you have to read before you die Vol: 2 Golden Deer Classics
    
    50 Masterpieces you have to read before you die Vol: 3  Golden Deer Classics
    Show book
  • Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II and Her Court - cover

    Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II...

    Robert Hardman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Perfect for fans of The Crown, this “intimate portrait” of England’s longest-reigning queen takes you behind the scenes of a thoroughly modern monarchy (BBC Entertainment). History knows no monarch like her. She has traveled farther than all her predecessors combined, lived the longest of any of them, and known more historic figures—from Winston Churchill to Nelson Mandela, Charles de Gaulle to Barack Obama—than anyone alive. Now, distinguished royal writer Robert Hardman has been granted special access to the world of Queen Elizabeth II in order to produce an unparalleled portrait of one of the most popular public figures on earth. Arguably Britain’s best-known observer of the royal family, Hardman follows Elizabeth’s journey through her country’s transformation from an imperial power to a multicultural nation; details a twenty-five-year period in which she steered the monarchy through more reforms than in the previous century; and interviews those closest to her, including her grandson Prince William, Duke of Cambridge. Written in celebration of Elizabeth’s Diamond Jubilee, Her Majesty celebrates the head of an ancient institution that remains simultaneously popular, regal, inclusive, and relevant in a twenty-first-century world. “At long last, we have the definitive portrait of Queen Elizabeth’s world today,” raves Andrew Roberts, author of The Royal House of Windsor. “Robert Hardman knows the true story and tells it superbly.”
    Show book
  • When Rupert Murdoch Came to Tea: A Memoir - cover

    When Rupert Murdoch Came to Tea:...

    David Nunan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Whoever coined the phrase 'the middle of nowhere' must have had Broken Hill in mind, because that's where it was -- and still is, although the Road to Nowhere is now all-weather tarmac. Seven hundred miles due west of Sydney. Three hundred and thirty miles northeast of Adelaide. It sprawls about the low range of lode-bearing hills, and, when I was a child, was dominated by the artificial mountains of skimp, grey silt-like stuff that was left over once the ore was extracted from the mines. Most of the skimp dumps are gone now, reprocessed, when extraction techniques improved, for the ore they still contained. To me the town is all the poorer for their demise.
    
    	It was here that the mighty BHP-Billiton, largest resource company in the world, was born. It is also where I first saw the light of day -- although, unlike BHP (Broken Hill Proprietary Ltd.), my appearance in this place at that time was purely coincidental. This collection of stories is a memoir of what it was like to grow up in Broken Hill in the 1950s and 1960s. It was prompted by a question from one of my daughters, who grew up in a very different time and place. 'What was it like?' she asked. 'Back there. Back then.'
    
    	* * * 
    	This is acclaimed linguist and author David Nunan’s fascinating account of growing up in the Australian outback in the 1950s and 1960s.
    
    	(Publisher’s note: Spellings and vocabulary are Australian English; a glossary of terms that may be unfamiliar to North Americans is provided at the back of the book.)
    Show book
  • Fyodor Dostoyevsky: The complete Novels (Golden Deer Classics) - cover

    Fyodor Dostoyevsky: The complete...

    Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Golden Deer...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This book, newly updated, contains now several HTML tables of contents that will make reading a real pleasure!
    The first table of contents (at the very beginning of the ebook) lists the titles of all novels included in this volume. By clicking on one of those titles you will be redirected to the beginning of that work, where you'll find a new TOC that lists all the chapters and sub-chapters of that specific work.
    
    Here you will find the complete novels of Fyodor Dostoyevsky in the chronological order of their original publication.
    
    Poor Folk
    The Double
    Notes From The Underground
    Crime and Punishment
    The Gambler
    The Idiot
    The Possessed (The Devils)
    A Raw Youth
    The Dream of a Ridiculous Man
    The Brothers Karamazov
    Show book
  • Journey Without Maps - cover

    Journey Without Maps

    Graham Greene

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The British author embarks on an awe-inspiring trek through 1930s West Africa in “one of the best travel books [of the twentieth] century” (The Independent).   When Graham Greene left Liverpool in 1935 for what was then an Africa unmarked by colonization, it was to leave the known transgressions of his own civilization behind for those unknown. First by cargo ship, then by train and truck through Sierra Leone, and finally on foot, Greene embarked on a dangerous and unpredictable 350-mile, four-week trek through Liberia with his cousin, and a handful of servants and bearers, into a world where few had ever seen a white man. For Greene, this odyssey became as much a trip into the primitive interiors of the writer himself as it was a physical journey into a land foreign to his experience.   “No one who reads this book will question the value of Greene’s experiment, or emerge unshaken by the penetration, the richness, the integrity of this moving record.” —The Guardian  
    Show book