Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Insight Guides Explore Boston (Travel Guide eBook) - cover

Insight Guides Explore Boston (Travel Guide eBook)

Insight Guides

Publisher: Insight Guides

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Insight Guides Explore: pocket-sized books to inspire your on-foot exploration of top international destinations. 



Experience the best of Boston with this indispensably practical Insight Guides Explore book. From making sure you don't miss out on must-see attractions like the Museum of Fine Arts, to discovering hidden gems, including Newbury Street in Back Bay, the easy-to-follow, ready-made walking routes will help you plan your trip, save you time, and enhance your exploration of this fascinating city.



-Practical, pocket-sized and packed with inspirational insider information, this will make the ideal on-the-move companion to your trip to Boston

-Enjoy over 16 irresistible Best Routes to walk, from Boston's Downtown to Plymouth

-Features concise insider information about landscape, history, food and drink, and entertainment options

-Invaluable maps: each Best Route is accompanied by a detailed full-colour map, while the large pull-out map provides an essential overview of the area

-Discover your destination's must-see sights and hand-picked hidden gems

-Directory section provides invaluable insight into top accommodation, restaurant and night life options by area, along with an overview of language, books and films 



About Insight Guides: Insight Guides is a pioneer of full-colour guide books, with almost 50 years' experience of publishing high-quality, visual travel guides with user-friendly, modern design. We produce around 400 full-colour print guide books and maps as well as phrase books, picture-packed eBooks and apps to meet different travellers' needs. Insight Guides' unique combination of beautiful travel photography and focus on history and culture create a unique visual reference and planning tool to inspire your next adventure.

Other books that might interest you

  • Into the Woods - A gripping escapist thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling author of Richard & Judy pick Dark Winter - cover

    Into the Woods - A gripping...

    David Mark

    • 1
    • 18
    • 1
    If you go into the woods, you're in for a dark surprise. 
     
    Thirty years ago, three girls followed a stranger into the woods. Only two returned. The surviving pair have never been able to remember what happened or what the fate of the third girl was. Local rumours talk of hippies and drugs and mystic rituals, but no one has learned the truth.
     
    This story is just what Rowan Blake needs. He's in debt, his journalistic career is in tatters – as well as his damaged body – and he's retreated to the Lake District to write. Yet even Rowan isn't prepared for the evil he is about to unearth, for the secrets that have been buried in that wood for far too long...
     
    Praise for David Mark: 
     
    'Dark, compelling crime writing of the highest order' DAILY MAIL
     
    'Breathtaking' PETER MAY
     
    'Truly exhilarating and inventive. Mark is a wonderfully descriptive writer' PETER JAMES
     
    'Brilliantly written – a cracking story' RICHARD MADELEY, Richard and Judy Book Club
     
    'To call Mark's novels police procedurals is like calling the Mona Lisa a pretty painting. Beautifully crafted, filled with flashbacks, horror, angst, and chilling detail' KIRKUS REVIEWS
     
    'Exceptional ... Mark is writing at the top of his game' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, Starred Review
     
    'A master of the dark psychological thriller' KIRKUS
    Show book
  • In Praise of Retreat - Finding Sanctuary in the Modern World - cover

    In Praise of Retreat - Finding...

    Kirsteen MacLeod

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    For readers of Walden, Wild, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, A Book of Silence, A Gift from the Sea and other celebrations of the inner adventure.
    		 
    An utterly engaging dive into our modern ways of retreat — where we go, why we’re drawn, and how it’s urgent
    		 
    From pilgrim paths to forest cabins, and from rented hermitages to arts temples and quiet havens for yoga and meditation, In Praise of Retreat explores the pleasures and powers of this ancient practice for modern people. Kirsteen MacLeod draws on the history of retreat and personal experiences to reveal the many ways readers can step back from society to reconnect with their deepest selves — and to their loftiest aspirations in life.
    		 
    In the 21st century, disengaging, even briefly, is seen by many as self-indulgent, unproductive, and antisocial. Yet to retreat is as basic a human need as being social, and everyone can benefit, whether it’s for a weekend, a month, or a lifetime. Retreat is an uncertain adventure with as many peaks and valleys as any mountain expedition, except we head inward, to recharge and find fresh energy and brave new ideas to bring back into our everyday lives.
    Show book
  • Venice Observed - cover

    Venice Observed

    Mary McCarthy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    With a lack of sentimentality unusual for the genre, Venice Observed explores the history, art, architecture, religion, and cultural peculiarities of the City of Canals. Mordantly witty and legendarily wry, Mary McCarthy catalogs the impressions of such visitors to the city as Montaigne, Stendhal, Spencer, and Henry James, but paints her own wholly original depictions of the city. Her adoration of the immortal city enlivens her interest in everything from the Venetian preference for cats over dogs to Tintoretto's paintings in the Scuola di San Rocco. Concerning Venice's ubiquitous tourists, McCarthy notes, "The complaint against foreigners, voiced by a foreigner, chimes querulously through the ages, in unison with the medieval monk who found St Mark's Square filled with 'Turks, Libyans, Parthians, and other monsters of the sea.' Today it is the Germans we complain of, and no doubt they complain of the Americans, in the same words." Conversational yet deeply informed, Venice Observed is a classic travel narrative for the ages.
    Show book