Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Reproduction - A Novel - cover

Reproduction - A Novel

Ian Williams

Publisher: Europa Editions

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

TARGET CONSUMER 
∙	Contemporary Literary Fiction 
∙	Family drama, multiethnic, urban novels 
∙	African-American interest 
∙	For readers of Zadie Smith, Lauren Groff, Paul Beatty, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Angela Flournoy 
KEY SELLING POINTS-	Shortlisted for Toronto Book Prize, Amazon Canada First Novel Award Year (Canada)-	For readers of Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones; The Turner House by Angela Flournoy; A Kind of Freedom by Margaret Wilkerson Sexton; Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie; The Sellout by Paul Beatty; and NW by Zadie Smith.-	Published by Knopf Canada-	Examines issues of race, immigration, class, and community through a familiar lens

Other books that might interest you

  • The Lines Between Us - A Novel - cover

    The Lines Between Us - A Novel

    Rebecca D'Harlingue

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    In 1661 Madrid, Ana is still grieving the loss of her husband when her niece, sixteen-year-old Juliana, suddenly vanishes. Ana frantically searches the girl’s room and comes across a diary. Journeying to southern Spain in the hope of finding her, Ana immerses herself in her niece’s private thoughts. After a futile search in Seville, she comes to Juliana’s final entries, and, discovering the horrifying reason for the girl’s flight, abandons her search.In 1992 Missouri, in her deceased mother’s home, Rachel finds a packet of letters, and a diary written by a woman named Juliana. Rachel’s reserved mother has never mentioned these items, but Rachel recognizes the names Ana and Juliana: her mother uttered them on her deathbed. She soon becomes immersed in Juliana’s diary, which recounts the young woman’s journey to Mexico City and her life in a convent. As she learns the truth about Juliana’s tragic family history, Rachel seeks to understand her connection to the writings—hoping that in finding those answers, she will somehow heal the wounds caused by her mother’s lifelong reticence.
    Show book
  • Think And Grow Rich - cover

    Think And Grow Rich

    Napoleon Hill

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    Think and Grow Rich is a motivational personal development and self-help book written by Napoleon Hill and inspired by a suggestion from Scottish-American businessman Andrew Carnegie. While the title implies that this book deals only with how to get rich, the author explains that the philosophy taught in the book can be used to help people succeed in all lines of work and to do or be almost anything they want
    Show book
  • Ashes of Fiery Weather - A Novel - cover

    Ashes of Fiery Weather - A Novel

    Kathleen Donohoe

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This “stunning and intimate portrayal of four generations of New York City firefighters somehow manages to be part Alice McDermott, part Denis Leary” (Irish America).   One of Book Riot’s 100 Must-Read New York City Novels   Firefighters walk boldly into battle against the most capricious of elements. Their daughters, mothers, sisters, and wives walk through the world with another kind of strength and another kind of sorrow, and no one knows that better than the women of the Keegan-O’Reilly clan. Ashes of Fiery Weather takes us from famine-era Ireland to New York City a decade after 9/11, illuminating the passionate loves and tragic losses of generations of women in a firefighting family—with “characters that come so vividly to life one forgets one is reading a novel . . . Anyone Irish will face an uncanny recognition in these pages; everyone else will be enthralled meeting such captivating figures” (Matthew Thomas, New York Times–bestselling author of We Are Not Ourselves).  
    Show book
  • Conan - cover

    Conan

    Robert E. Howard

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    "Know, oh prince, that between the years when the oceans drank Atlantis and the gleaming cities, and the years of the rise of the Sons of Aryas, there was an Age undreamed of, when shining kingdoms lay spread across the world like blue mantles beneath the stars—Nemedia, Ophir, Brythunia, Hyperborea, Zamora with its dark-haired women and towers of spider-haunted mystery, Zingara with its chivalry, Koth that bordered on the pastoral lands of Shem, Stygia with its shadow-guarded tombs, Hyrkania whose riders wore steel and silk and gold. But the proudest kingdom of the world was Aquilonia, reigning supreme in the dreaming west. Hither came Conan, the Cimmerian, black-haired, sullen- eyed,sword in hand, a thief, a reaver, a slayer, with gigantic melancholies and gigantic mirth, to tread the jeweled thrones of the Earth under his sandalled feet."
    The complete Robert E. Howard's Conan in a new omnibus edition that includes:
    The Frost Giant's Daughter
    The Tower of The Elephant
    The God in The Bowl
    Rogues in The House
    Queen of The Black Coast
    The Vale of Lost Women
    Black Colossus
    Shadows in The Moonlight
    A Witch Shall Be Born
    Shadows in Zamboula
    Xuthal Of the Dusk
    The Devil in Iron
    The People of The Black Circle
    The Black Stranger
    The Pool of The Black One
    Red Nails
    Jewels of Gwahlur
    Beyond the Black River
    The Phoenix on the Sword
    The Scarlet Citadel
    The Hour of the Dragon
    Synopsis, Drafts and Unfinished Stories
    The Hyborian Age
    Show book
  • On the Line - Notes from a Factory - cover

    On the Line - Notes from a Factory

    Joseph Ponthus

    • 2
    • 3
    • 1
    A celebrated French bestseller, this novel in verse that captures the mundane and the beautiful, the blood and sweat, of working on the factory floor in the processing plants and abattoirs of Brittany.
     
    Unable to find work in his field, Joseph Ponthus enlists with a temp agency and starts to pick up casual shifts in the fish processing plants and abattoirs of Brittany. Day after day he records with infinite precision the nature of work on the production line: the noise, the weariness, the dreams stolen by the repetitive nature of exhausting rituals and physical suffering. But he finds solace in a life previously lived.
     
    Shelling prawns, he dreams of Alexandre Dumas. Pushing cattle carcasses, he recalls Apollinaire. And, in the grace of the blank spaces created by his insistent return to a new line of text – mirroring his continued return to the production line – we discover the woman he loves, the happiness of a Sunday, Pok Pok the dog, the smell of the sea.
     
    In this celebrated French bestseller, translated by Stephanie Smee, Ponthus captures the mundane, the beautiful and the strange, writing with an elegance and humour that sit in poignant contrast with the blood and sweat of the factory floor. On the Line is a poet's ode to manual labour, and to the human spirit that makes it bearable.
     
    Praise for On the Line: 
     
    'Poetic and political, lyrical and realistic, Joseph Ponthus' spirited elegy is at once surprising, captivating and affecting' Télérama
     
    'It is not every day that one witnesses the birth of a writer' France 5 La Grande Librairie
     
    'A work that is powerful, clever, benevolent, optimistic even. Essential reading' Causette
    Show book
  • Celtic Myth and Legend - cover

    Celtic Myth and Legend

    Charles Squire

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    This far-ranging look at the characters found in Celtic and British myth and poetry is a great resource for those interested in the gods and heroes of ancient Briton. With sections on King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table, the Gaelic gods, and tales of the druids, this comprehensive study of Celtic myth and legend will delight scholars and the general reader alike.Drawing on the early writings of Ireland, Scotland and Wales, Charles Squire ensured his study was well-researched and correctly attributed. However, this is no dry tome of academic research; the reader will find tales both beautiful and moving here. The gods of Ireland are honoured in the animated telling of their stories and only give way to the enchantments of heroes such as Arthur Pendragon.
    Show book