Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Codex Ocularis - cover

Codex Ocularis

Ian Pyper

Publisher: Pelekinesis

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Log Book of a lone Astronaut/Psychonaut/Holonaut in a holographic exploration through space and time to an extremely large planet in the distant recesses of an unknown galaxy - resembling in many respects a human eye (named Ocularis). Mimetic in character, it has somehow focused its gaze on the Earth and its water and has consequently created weird and wonderful organisms in its vast internal fluid-filled centre.

Who read this book also read:

  • Tickling Cocktail - cover

    Tickling Cocktail

    Dr. Mohammad Anees

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sameness is the source of the disturbance and murk. Pain and frustration are created by monotony. This fiction story: I took  years during my prolong banishment as part of  amusement. I took in "Other country National" in my staff and fellows on various tasks. Generally, we went together for amusement. One of our colleagues, indeed a master of these stories, was a good resource of comic stuff.
    In reality, this book is a fun and for pure entertainment, if anyone is worried or obsessed due to frustration or distress… then it’s my attempt to get to him laugh and to invest him in cheerful mood. Please understand this book to become rid  of  such gloom and  obsession of sadness. Have a pleasant time……
    Show book
  • Notes on a Cowardly Lion - The Biography of Bert Lahr - cover

    Notes on a Cowardly Lion - The...

    John Lahr

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A son’s funny, frank, and “endlessly fascinating” memoir of his father, Wizard of Oz star Bert Lahr (Harper’s Magazine).   Bert Lahr, best known for his role as the Cowardly Lion in The Wizard of Oz, made audiences laugh from burlesque stages to vaudeville to Broadway—and impressed them as Estragon in the American theater debut of Waiting for Godot. But reality wasn’t always funny for the legendary actor and comedian, or his family.   Drawing on personal recollections and the memories of his father’s colleagues, a veteran writer for the New Yorker and renowned theater critic brilliantly explores both the long and glorious professional career of a Hollywood icon and the experience of growing up with him. Here, in rich detail, is Bert Lahr evolving from a low-comic star to a Ziegfeld Follies sophisticate, hamming it up with the Scarecrow and Tin Man on the set of TheWizard of Oz, and garnering rich praise as he performed in Samuel Beckett’s masterpiece. But while Lahr could be equally raucous and polished in public, in private he was painfully insecure and self-absorbed, keeping his family at arm’s length as he quietly battled his inner demons. “A work of literature, a work of history, a subtle psychological study,” Notes on a Cowardly Lion is more than one man’s quest to understand his father. It is an extraordinary examination of a life on the stage and screen (Harper’s Magazine).   From a writer with an intimate knowledge of the theater and show business world, this is both a “frank and objective” (The New York Times Book Review) family memoir that will appeal to readers of Carrie Fisher’s Wishful Drinking or Alan Cumming’s Not My Father’s Son, and a “book-length love letter. To open it is to enter a life, to participate in a sensibility and, perhaps most important, to laugh. Uproariously” (Life).  
    Show book
  • Little Girls - cover

    Little Girls

    Klaus H. Carl

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Ever since the ancient greeks sculpted the first kouros, children have been a source of inspiration for some of the world’s greatest artists. Whether portraits of their own children, friends, and family members, or a nostalgic psychological portrayal of the artist’s own youth, depictions of children in art remain arresting examples of an intersection between the picturesque innocence of childhood and the methodical work of adult artistry. In this delightful new puzzle book, children get a chance to see little boys and girls just like them as portrayed by great artists, learning about how children grew up throughout history while experiencing a genuine connection with works of artistic genius.
    Show book
  • Game of Thrones on Business - Strategy morality and leadership lessons from the world’s most talked about TV show - cover

    Game of Thrones on Business -...

    Tim Phillips, Rebecca Clare

    • 10
    • 127
    • 0
    We have always learned through stories, and in Game of Thrones on Business managers learn from the parallels drawn between HBO’s global phenomenon and today’s business world. The authors also use stories and characters from the series to breathe life into management theory. Readers will discover:
    • What Tywin Lannister has in common with Steve Jobs;
    • Why Ned Stark should have had a scenario-planning meeting;
    • What Daenerys Targaryen can teach us about servant leadership;
    • How to network like Littlefinger;
    • Why behaving like Jon Snow will just antagonise your boss.
    Game of Thrones may look like a story that is as far removed from modern business as is possible, but look a little closer and you’ll notice that the differences are merely superficial: that hostile small council meeting is a boardroom showdown, Daenerys Targaryen is the business ingenue you can’t afford to disregard and the White Walkers are a slowly advancing threat to your company’s survival.
    If you think you can stomach the cut and thrust of business this book will show you the insider tricks for success and the hidden pitfalls to watch out for. But remember, if you want to go all the way it takes full commitment: when you play the game of thrones you win or you die. There is no middle ground.
    Show book
  • Playboy: The Complete Centerfolds - cover

    Playboy: The Complete Centerfolds

    Dave Hickey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Following the remarkable success of the 50th year anniversary edition, we're pleased to present Playboy: Centerfolds, 60th Anniversary Edition. The content remains the same—every Centerfold from every issue. That's over 600 beauties with additional Centerfolds through the present to make this Playboy's most complete photographic volume to date. Hefner introduces the book and literary luminaries including Paul Theroux, Jay McInerney, and Daphne Merkin comment on the social mores and cultural climate of each decade. This chronological collection provides an unparalleled view of our evolving appreciation of the female form: from the fifties fantasy of voluptuous blondes to the tawny beach girls of the seventies to the groomed and toned women of today. Playboy: Centerfolds, 60th Anniversary Edition is a breathtaking tour de force.
    Show book
  • On Bowie - cover

    On Bowie

    Rob Sheffield

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Love Is a Mix Tape, a thoughtful and loving meditation on the life of the late David Bowie that explores his creative legacy and the enduring and mutual connection he enjoyed with his fans 
    Innovative. Pioneering. Brave. Until his death in January 2016, David Bowie created art that not only pushed boundaries, but helped fans understand themselves and view the world from fantastic new perspectives. 
    When the shocking news of his death on January 10, 2016 broke, the outpouring of grief and adulation was immediate and ongoing. Fans around the world and across generations paid homage to this brilliant, innovate, ever evolving artist who both shaped and embodied our times. 
    In this concise and penetrating book, featuring color photographs, highly regarded Rolling Stone critic, bestselling author, and lifelong Bowie fan Rob Sheffield shares his own feelings about the passing of this icon and explains why Bowie’s death has elicited such an unprecedented emotional outpouring from so many lives.
    Show book