Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Sounds of Soldiers - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

Sounds of Soldiers

Ian Pattinson

Publisher: Spinneyhead Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

What might life be like after Trump? 
Written nine years ago, this tale of the near future is even more relevant in the age of 'fake news' and an out of control President. Combining a travelogue through a changed society with flashbacks to the long, crazy war in Europe, Sounds of Soldiers looks at the fallout from military fantasies gone wrong. 
 
When the US President started a bizarre war against former allies in Europe, it quickly escalated into confrontations across the continent. Paris was flattened, nuclear explosions lit up the Mediterranean, and US soldiers fought the locals in Germany and France. Then, in a long, slow conflict, the United States destroyed itself fighting imaginary enemies, within and without its borders. 
 
Robert Jones was there through it all, reporting on it, and, occasionally, participating. 
 
Now, he's home. 
 
How can a man who witnessed some of the most important events of recent history adapt to peace? Reconnecting with friends and family, Robert investigates a newly green Manchester and finds out about life away from the war zone. 
 
But there are still some ghosts and secrets from his time on the continent which are ready to come back and shake up Robert’s new peaceful life.
Available since: 08/02/2017.

Other books that might interest you

  • Claimed by the Laird - cover

    Claimed by the Laird

    Nicola Cornick

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A Scottish aristocrat and her sexy new footman each have shocking secrets in this Regency romance by a USA Today–bestselling author. 
     
    An old maid—that’s all Lady Christina McMorlan, daughter to the Duke of Forres, is to society now that she’s past thirty. She hosts her father’s parties and cares for her siblings, knowing she’ll never have her own home and family. She has no time to pine, however. By night, she’s The Lady, head of a notorious whiskey-smuggling gang that supports her impoverished clan. They’re always one step ahead of the revenue man—until Lucas Black shows up. 
     
    Rejecting his title and the proper society that disparaged his mother, Lucas earns his living running a successful gambling house. He’s also a spy, charged with bringing down the Forres Gang. He thinks The Lady’s just a bored society spinster. She thinks he’s a lost child playing at rebellion. And when the truth comes out, it’s not just their love on the line . . .  
     
    Praise for Claimed by the Laird 
     
    “The perfect read on a warm summer’s day at the park or an evening listening to the crickets. It’s sweet, charming, and enough romance to satisfy those sweet urges!!” —Addicted to Romance 
     
    “The perfect combination of intrigue, passion and romance. . . . The romance was perfectly paced . . . an intoxicating mix of heart-warming tenderness and delicious sensuality.” —Rakes and Rascals
    Show book
  • Blood Work - a John Jordan Mystery - cover

    Blood Work - a John Jordan Mystery

    Michael Lister

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Was America’s most notorious serial killer, Ted Bundy, responsible for the Broken Heart Murder? If not, who was, and can John Jordan figure it out and redeem his childhood hero?John’s dad is still haunted by a murder he couldn’t solve four decades ago. On the same weekend Janet Leigh Lester was crowned Miss Valentine at the pageant and Queen at the Sweethearts dance, she disappeared, her car found in an empty field, its interior covered in blood. ​The case is decades cold now, but a new clock is ticking and John Jordan has one last chance to get it right. With no jurisdiction, no support, and no real hope of solving such an old, cold case, John isn’t taking no for an answer.Can John do what his father was unable to? Get Blood Work today and find out.
    Show book
  • The Quest for Anna Klein - A Novel - cover

    The Quest for Anna Klein - A Novel

    Thomas H. Cook

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    On the eve of WWII, an international plot leads to a deadly obsession: “Nobody tells a story better than Thomas H. Cook” (Michael Connelly, New York Times–bestselling author of Two Kinds of Truth).   It’s 1939 and the world is on the brink of war, but Thomas Danforth is in New York City living a fortunate life. The well-traveled son of a wealthy importer, he’s in his twenties and running the family business, looking forward to a bright future. Then, during a snowy evening walk along Gramercy Park, a friend makes a fateful request—and involves Thomas in a dangerous idea that could change the fates of millions.   Thomas is to provide access to his secluded Connecticut mansion, where a mysterious woman will receive training in firearms and explosives. Thus begins an international plot carried out by the strange and alluring Anna Klein—a plot that will ensnare Thomas in more ways than one. When it all goes wrong and Anna disappears, he will travel far from home once again, but this time, into a war-torn world that is far more dangerous, in this story by an Edgar Award–winning author known for his “piercing thrillers” (New York Daily News).   “No other suspense writer takes readers as deeply into the heart of darkness as Thomas H. Cook.” —Chicago Tribune
    Show book
  • World's End - cover

    World's End

    Upton Sinclair

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From the acclaimed author of The Jungle: The first in a Pulitzer Prize–winning historical saga about the son of an American arms dealer during WWI. Lanning “Lanny” Budd spends his first thirteen years in Europe, living at the center of his mother’s glamourous circle of friends on the French Riviera. In 1913, he enters a prestigious Swiss boarding school and befriends Rick, an English boy, and Kurt, a German. The three schoolmates are privileged, happy, and precocious—but their world is about to come to an abrupt and violent end.   When the gathering storm clouds of war finally burst, raining chaos and death over the continent, Lanny must put the innocence of youth behind him; his language skills and talent for decoding messages are in high demand. At his father’s side, he meets many important political and military figures, learns about the myriad causes of the conflict, and closely follows the First World War’s progress. When the bloody hostilities eventually conclude, Lanny joins the Paris Peace Conference as the assistant to a geographer asked by President Woodrow Wilson to redraw the map of Europe.   Perfect for fans of The Winds of War, World’s End is the magnificent opening chapter of a monumental series that brings the first half of the twentieth century to vivid life. A thrilling mix of history, adventure, and romance, the Lanny Budd Novels are a testament to the breathtaking scope of Upton Sinclair’s vision and his singular talents as a storyteller.
    Show book
  • Trial and Retribution II - cover

    Trial and Retribution II

    Lynda La Plante

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Identical and brutal assaults on three women. One woman survives to give a detailed description of her attacker. The police arrest a suspect, Damon Morton, confident he is their man. But three of his employees admit to the crimes, and Morton's wife and girlfriend provide him with an alibi. They all declare Damon Morton innocent. The police know he did it. But if people lie under oath in a court of law ­- who can the jury believe?
    Show book
  • Murder Under a Red Moon - cover

    Murder Under a Red Moon

    Harini Nagendra

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The latest novel in the acclaimed Bangalore Detectives Club series finds amateur sleuth Kaveri Murthy uncovering a new murder during the blood moon eclipse.When new bride Kaveri Murthy reluctantly agrees to investigate a minor crime to please her domineering mother-in-law—during the blood moon eclipse, no less—she doesn't expect, once again, to stumble upon a murder.With anti-British sentiment on the rise, a charismatic religious leader growing in influence, and the fight for women's suffrage gaining steam, Bangalore is turning out to be a far more dangerous and treacherous place than Kaveri ever imagined—and everyone's motives are suspect.Together with the Bangalore Detectives Club—a mixed bag of street urchins, nosy neighbors, an ex-prostitute, and a policeman's wife—Kaveri once again sleuths in her sari and hunts for clues in her beloved 1920s Ford.But when her life is suddenly put in danger, Kaveri realizes that she might be getting uncomfortably close to the truth. So she must now draw on her wits and find the killer . . . before they find her.
    Show book