As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Four Heatons The Postcard Collection - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Four Heatons The Postcard Collection

Ian Littlechilds|Phil Page

Publisher: Amberley Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Situated a few miles to the south of Manchester City Centre, the Four Heatons have always been popular residential suburbs for families wishing to swap the industrial clamour of the inner city for fresh air and fine views across open spaces to the Pennines and the Cheshire Plain. The coming of the railways in the late nineteenth century provided easy access to the area for commuters travelling between Manchester and Stockport, resulting in the building of the imposing period houses, churches, tree-lined roads and parks that are still a feature of the area today.Each of the Four Heatons has its unique story to tell. Heaton Chapel's links to St Thomas' Church, Heaton Mersey's journey from rural hamlet to Victorian village, Heaton Moor's development as the natural centre to the area and Heaton Norris' industrial heritage, can all be traced through the pictures and stories of these postcards. Between 1901 and 1910 the Heatons were involved in the communications revolution which swept across Britain and were unequalled until the digital age of the 21st century. The postcards which survive today tell that story through the work of pioneering photographers and give us a unique insight into Heatons' life from the early part of the twentieth century.

Other books that might interest you

  • One of Churchill's Own - The Memoirs of Battle of Britain Ace John Greenwood - cover

    One of Churchill's Own - The...

    John Greenwood

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    John Greenwood was born in East London in April 1921.  At the age of eighteen he forged his fathers signature and joined the RAF on a short service commission in February 1939.  Seven months later Britain declared war on Germany and 253 Squadron was formed. In May 1940, John and his fellow pilots were sent to France with 24 hours notice where he shot down a Dornier 17 and a Messerschmitt 109 the next day, before returning to England with only four pilots and three aircraft left. He was the last surviving member of 253 Squadron who fought in the Battle of France, then subsequently in the Battle of Britain. One of Churchills last surviving Few, this is his story.
    Show book
  • Teaching a Stone to Talk - Expeditions and Encounters - cover

    Teaching a Stone to Talk -...

    Annie Dillard

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Here, in this compelling assembly of writings, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Annie Dillard explores the world of natural facts and human meanings.
    Show book
  • Mind Hacking - How to Change Your Mind Become a Master of Your Emotions Achieve the Goals You Want & Start Living to Your Full Potential - cover

    Mind Hacking - How to Change...

    Tiffany Adams

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Are you sick and tired of watching your life pass you by? Pay close attention here, because the life of your dreams is closer than you might think…
     
    We've all been there, life is overwhelming, complicated, confusing, and yes, within it all you still seemingly have all that a person should ever need to feel happy and fulfilled.
     
    But for some reason, you just don't feel this way.
     
    Hours spent trying to figure it out, to no avail. Days and weeks, even months on end of you trying technique after technique and personal growth tactic after personal growth tactic - but still nothing.
     
    There's an emptiness inside of you that you can't seem to escape and no matter what you do, it just seems to keep getting worse.
     
    If this sounds eerily familiar to you, I'd like you to take a moment with me here as we acknowledge together that it doesn't have to be this way.
     
    You can have the life of your dreams. You can master your emotions and you can begin honestly living to your fullest potential.
     
    Or maybe none of the above resonates with you at all, maybe you love your life and are simply trying to upgrade the way your mind functions.
     
    In either case, the answer to a life of fulfillment, gratitude, and undeniable happiness protruding from every pore of your being is simply this - you need to understand your mind.
     
    Once you understand it, you can hack it. You can change your mind in whatever fashion you like, and begin thinking however you want to think, about whatever you want to think about.
     
    In Mind Hacking, you'll discover:
     
    - The groundbreaking truth of your emotions and how they affect your thought patterns
     
    - The most straightforward guide to facing your emotional triggers and rewriting your thought process loops that is out there
     
    - Powerful tools for separating yourself from your mind
     
    - How to make a S.M.A.R.T. plan and keep yourself on track with P.A.C.T.
     
    - The ultimate guide to reading someone's mind
     
    - An idiotproof path to rebuilding self-worth
     
    - The stunning science behind Mind Hacking
     
    - The most important things not to do when rewriting your brain, saving you valuable time and energy
     
    … and so much more.
     
    Mind Hacking is the #1 guide to understanding your mind and your emotions so that you can navigate your life in any direction you want.
     
    No more wondering if it's possible, no more daydreaming of a future where things might get easier. No more of this comparing yourself to others and feeling incomplete as a result.
     
    A life of achievement, one where all of your goals and aspirations are a complete and total reality is not the stuff of fiction here folks.
     
    It is yours for the taking - if you would understand your mind and begin to actively take back control.
     
    If you want to leave behind all the nonsense dreaming and instead place yourself inside your fullest potential then check out this guidebook right now.
    Show book
  • Think Little - Essays - cover

    Think Little - Essays

    Wendell Berry

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The first in the new Counterpoints series, Think Little is an evergreen, ever-urgent, and now pocket-sized argument for focused and inclusive climate change activism
    Designed and priced for point-of-sale, the Counterpoints series will feature essays, poems, and stories from Wendell Berry, Gary Snyder, Mary Robison, Betty Fussell, MFK Fisher, and many more
    Berry argues that environmental activism and policy change cannot only be a public, large-scale, corporate- and organization-led; instead, changes must happen at the person, individual, and community levels in order for our attempts to slow climate change to be successful. Just as the Civil Rights movement had to become personal, had to be adopted in homes and communities across the country in order to gain momentum and critical mass, so too does environmental activism
    Berry also reminds us that the forces that would exploit people based on their race, gender, and socioeconomic status are the same forces that are content to exploit the earth for its natural resources
    Show book
  • Blackwatertown - cover

    Blackwatertown

    Paul Waters

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Blackwatertown is atmospheric crime fiction that will appeal to fans of Maurice Leitch, James Ellroy, Andrea Camilleri and Lee Child. 
    Author available for events, talks and signings in the UK and Ireland – and by arrangement elsewhere. 
    Twitter: @paulwaters99 
    Facebook: @paulwatersauthor 
    Instagram: @paul_waters_author
    Show book
  • At Wit's End - The Deadly Discourse on the Jewish Joke - cover

    At Wit's End - The Deadly...

    Louis Kaplan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This book explores the fascinating discourse on Jewish wit in the twentieth century when the Jewish joke became the subject of serious humanistic inquiry and inserted itself into the cultural and political debates among Germans and Jews against the ideologically-charged backdrop of anti-Semitism, the Jewish question, and the Holocaust.
    Show book