Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Deep State - A History of Secret Agendas and Shadow Governments - cover

The Deep State - A History of Secret Agendas and Shadow Governments

Ian Fitzgerald

Publisher: Arcturus Publishing

  • 1
  • 5
  • 0

Summary

Beneath the outward appearance of legitimate government and accountable officials there lurk hidden agendas, shadowy personalities and special interest groups seeking to seize control of the nation for their own ends. These 'states within a state', unfettered by legal norms and unworried by public opinion, are known as 'deep states'.In this fascinating account, Ian Fitzgerald examines what a deep state really is and how they have emerged in various places across the world and throughout history. Ranging from the police state of East Germany in the 1950s to the narco states of Latin America in the 1970s to the institutional corruption of 21st century Nigeria, he explores the many ways people have sought to seize the apparatus of power for themselves while remaining out of sight. Now the subject of modern conspiracy theories the world over as a worrying trend toward unelected power emerges, this book is more timely than ever, and helps separate fact from fiction.Looks at deep state conspiracies around the world, including:• the narco-states of Colombia and Mexico - where legitimate institutions have been corrupted by the power and wealth of the illegal drug trade• the illicit tax haven of Panama and the 2016 "Panama Papers", history's biggest data leak• the United Fruit Company's involvement in the 1954 coup d'état in Guatemala• the robber barons of the late 19th- and early 20th- century America• the role of intelligence services such as the CIA, FBI and NSA in the US deep state, at home and abroad• the extent to which social media sites such as Facebook influence voters

Other books that might interest you

  • The Anatomy of Fake News - A Critical News Literacy Education - cover

    The Anatomy of Fake News - A...

    Nolan Higdon

    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    Since the 2016 U.S. presidential election, concerns about fake news have fostered calls for government regulation and industry intervention to mitigate the influence of false content. These proposals are hindered by a lack of consensus concerning the definition of fake news or its origins. Media scholar Nolan Higdon contends that expanded access to critical media literacy education, grounded in a comprehensive history of fake news, is a more promising solution to these issues. The Anatomy of Fake News offers the first historical examination of fake news that takes as its goal the effective teaching of critical news literacy in the United States. Higdon employs a critical-historical media ecosystems approach to identify the producers, themes, purposes, and influences of fake news. The findings are then incorporated into an invaluable fake news detection kit. This much-needed resource provides a rich history and a promising set of pedagogical strategies for mitigating the pernicious influence of fake news.
    Show book
  • In Praise of Retreat - Finding Sanctuary in the Modern World - cover

    In Praise of Retreat - Finding...

    Kirsteen MacLeod

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    For readers of Walden, Wild, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, A Book of Silence, A Gift from the Sea and other celebrations of the inner adventure.
    		 
    An utterly engaging dive into our modern ways of retreat — where we go, why we’re drawn, and how it’s urgent
    		 
    From pilgrim paths to forest cabins, and from rented hermitages to arts temples and quiet havens for yoga and meditation, In Praise of Retreat explores the pleasures and powers of this ancient practice for modern people. Kirsteen MacLeod draws on the history of retreat and personal experiences to reveal the many ways readers can step back from society to reconnect with their deepest selves — and to their loftiest aspirations in life.
    		 
    In the 21st century, disengaging, even briefly, is seen by many as self-indulgent, unproductive, and antisocial. Yet to retreat is as basic a human need as being social, and everyone can benefit, whether it’s for a weekend, a month, or a lifetime. Retreat is an uncertain adventure with as many peaks and valleys as any mountain expedition, except we head inward, to recharge and find fresh energy and brave new ideas to bring back into our everyday lives.
    Show book
  • Think And Grow Rich - cover

    Think And Grow Rich

    Napoleon Hill

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    Think and Grow Rich is a motivational personal development and self-help book written by Napoleon Hill and inspired by a suggestion from Scottish-American businessman Andrew Carnegie. While the title implies that this book deals only with how to get rich, the author explains that the philosophy taught in the book can be used to help people succeed in all lines of work and to do or be almost anything they want
    Show book
  • Bad Behavior - cover

    Bad Behavior

    Noire, Kiki Swinson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    NINE LIVESKIKI SWINSONWild-card Aiden. Dead-shot Ava. Efficient, fast, and brutal, this notorious brother-sister hit team grew up abused, unwanted—and in lethal tune with each other. Killing nine targets in ten days will be their biggest score yet. But as Ava sets up their final target, she falls hard for him and a chance at a normal life. And that's a betrayal she may not live to regret . . . THE CRUSHED ICE CLIQUENOIREAt first all ghetto princesses Honore and Cucci want is quick cash-flow. But after sexing jewelry distributor Slimy Sam and learning his illegal tricks of the trade, they assemble a crack team of thieves for one dazzling scam. Replacing diamonds with fakes and selling the reshaped real deal on the black market is making them crazy-rich. But when Sam double-crosses them, these diamond divas must survive to steal another day . . . “Treachery, betrayal, and revenge add to the twists and turns and lots of drama in this book. Loved it! Can’t wait until the sequel comes out.”—RT Book Reviews, 4 Stars on Kiki Swinson’s The Score “Noire has created one of the liveliest urban fiction series headed by a most memorable protagonist. Fans will get a hoot out of the biting insults and dark humor marking practically every page.”—Library Journal STARRED REVIEW on Noire’s Stone Cold Liar
    Show book