Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Bloodstar - Star Corpsman: Book One - cover

Bloodstar - Star Corpsman: Book One

Ian Douglas

Publisher: Harper Voyager

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

With his Heritage, Legacy, and Inheritance trilogies, New York Times bestselling author Ian Douglas established himself as one of the true masters of military sf—sharing center stage with such authors as Rick Shelley, John Ringo, David Sherman, and Dan Cragg in a wildly popular sub-genre of science fiction that includes such enduring classics as The Forever War by Joe Haldeman and Robert Heinlein’s Starship Troopers. Now, with Bloodstar, Douglas kicks off his new series, Star Corpsman, with a bang, focusing on the elite units of recon Marines and S/R Corpsmen who infiltrate alien worlds ahead of major planetary invasions to gather intelligence on both the local environment and on the psychology and biology of the enemy. In Bloodstar  Ian Douglas carries readers once more across the vast galaxy, light-years from Earth, and into the fire and terror of future war.

Who read this book also read:

  • A Sky of Spells (Book #9 in the Sorcerer's Ring) - cover

    A Sky of Spells (Book #9 in the...

    Morgan Rice

    • 1
    • 18
    • 0
    “THE SORCERER’S RING has all the ingredients for an instant success: plots, counterplots, mystery, valiant knights, and blossoming relationships replete with broken hearts, deception and betrayal. It will keep you entertained for hours, and will satisfy all ages. Recommended for the permanent library of all fantasy readers.” --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos A SKY OF SPELLS is book #9 in the bestselling series THE SORCERER'S RING--which begins with A QUEST OF HEROES (Book #1 )! In A SKY OF SPELLS (BOOK #9 IN THE SORCERER’S RING), Thorgrin finally returns to himself and must confront his father once and for all. An epic battle occurs, as two titans face each other, and as Rafi uses his power to summon an army of undead. With the Destiny Sword destroyed, and the fate of the Ring in the balance, Argon and Alistair will need to summon their magical powers to help Gwendolyn’s brave warriors. Yet even with their help, all could be lost if it were not for the return of Mycoples, and her new companion, Ralibar. Luanda struggles to prevail against her captor, Romulus, as the fate of the Shield hangs in the balance. Reece, meanwhile, struggles to lead his men back up the Canyon walls, with Selese’s help. Their love deepens; but with the arrival of Reece’s old love, his cousin, a tragic love triangle and misunderstandings develop. When the Empire is finally ousted from the Ring, and Gwendolyn has her chance for personal vengeance against McCloud, there is great cause to celebrate. As the new Queen of the Ring, Gwen uses her powers to unite both MacGils and McClouds for the first time in history, and to begin the epic rebuilding of the land, of her army, and of the Legion. King’s Court slowly comes back to life once again, as they all begin to pick up the pieces. It is destined to become a more glorious city than even her father ever dreamed of, and in the process, justice finally finds Gareth. Tirus must be brought to justice, too, and Gwen will have to decide what sort of leader she will be. There is a great conflict amongst Tirus’ sons, not all of whom see things the same way, and a struggle for power erupts once again, as Gwen decides if she will accept an invitation to the Upper Isles, thus making the MacGil clan whole once again. Erec is summoned to return to his people in the Southern Isles and see his dying father, and Alistair joins him, as they prepare for their wedding. Thorgrin and Gwendolyn may have wedding preparations in their future, too. Thor becomes closer to his sister, and as all settles down inside the Ring, he finds himself summoned to embark on his greatest quest of all: to seek out his mysterious mother in a faraway land and to find out who he really is. With multiple wedding preparations in the air, with Spring returning, King’s Court rebuilding, festivals afoot, peace seems to settle back onto the Ring. But danger lurks in the most unforeseen corners, and all of these characters greatest tribulations might be yet to come. With its sophisticated world-building and characterization, A SKY OF SPELLS is an epic tale of friends and lovers, of rivals and suitors, of knights and dragons, of intrigues and political machinations, of coming of age, of broken hearts, of deception, ambition and betrayal. It is a tale of honor and courage, of fate and destiny, of sorcery. It is a fantasy that brings us into a world we will never forget, and which will appeal to all ages and genders. Books #10--#13 in the series are also available!
    Show book
  • Wolf Rampant Trilogy - cover

    Wolf Rampant Trilogy

    Aimee Easterling

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    USA Today bestselling author Aimee Easterling's Wolf Rampant series has racked up over 500 five-star reviews!  
    Meet Terra Wilder, a shiftless shifter uncomfortable in her own animal skin.  
    Throw in a healthy helping of Wolfie Young, a bloodling alpha who's more wolf than man.  
    Mix with a dash of Terra's controlling father and Wolfie's sadistic brother. Then fold in a heaping handful of unconventional outcasts.  
    The result is a unique werewolf world that has been described as a "good choice for Patricia Briggs fans."  
    This box set contains the full text of Shiftless, Pack Princess, and Alpha Ascendant.
    Show book
  • Earth to Hell - Journey to Wudang: Book One - cover

    Earth to Hell - Journey to...

    Kylie Chan

    • 2
    • 10
    • 0
    Author Kylie Chan has a boldly, brazenly unique take on urban fantasy—she combines it with Kung Fu. In Earth to Hell, Chan launches the characters from her Dark Heavens trilogy (White Tiger, Red Phoenix, Blue Dragon) on a new adventure that will take them from the teeming streets of Hong Kong through the portals of Hell to set free a friend—as demons and devils rise up to challenge them in life-or-death battle, forcing Emma Donahoe Chen, wife of God of the Northern Heavens, to seek the help of a sworn foe, the fearsome Demon King. An irresistible blend of Chinese mythology, martial arts action, and ingenious invention, Earth to Hell is a treat for Kung Fu movie fans; for readers of Lilith Saintcrow, Liz Williams, Karen Chance, Devon Monk, and Ilona Andrews; and for anyone who desires a different kind of fantasy.
    Show book
  • The strange case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde - cover

    The strange case of Dr. Jekyll...

    Robert Ervin Howard

    • 7
    • 8
    • 0
    First published in English in 1886 is about a lawyer, Gabriel John Utterson, who investigates the strange link between his old friend, Dr. Henry Jekyll, and the misanthropic Edward Hyde. The book is known to be a vivid representation of psychopathology for a split personality.
    The illustrations in this edition are by Marta Gómez-painted, illustrated in this same collection of Alice in Wonderland.
    Show book
  • Tales of the Unexpected - cover

    Tales of the Unexpected

    Russ Crossley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Five stories of fantasy and science fiction each an unexpected twist on reality. In this collection you will find tales of dragons, AI robots engaged in a secret war, a shipwrecked vampire, a man who fixes a UFO, and a writer of coffee table books who enters a fantasy world in search of the perfect cup. Tales to entertain, amuse, and make your pulse race.
    Show book
  • Dark Serpent - Celestial Battle: Book One - cover

    Dark Serpent - Celestial Battle:...

    Kylie Chan

    • 3
    • 10
    • 0
    The First Book in Bestselling Author Kylie Chan's Thrilling Celestial Battle Trilogy 
    When the ancestry of Xuan Wu's fiancée, Emma, is revealed, it threatens the harmony of the whole Celestial realm. The demons are gathering, powerful alliances are being made and stone Shen are under threat. However, Xuan Wu is distracted—he must save Emma from the Demon King and give her the elixir of immortality, but at what cost?
    Show book