Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Beta Male - Four Friends Three Assumed Identities Two Weddings and One Very Dangerous Bet - cover

Beta Male - Four Friends Three Assumed Identities Two Weddings and One Very Dangerous Bet

Iain Hollingshead

Publisher: The Overlook Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Sam Hunt is a confused modern male in his very late twenties. A work-shy, commitment-phobic would-be actor, he is beginning to worry that turning thirty might just be the last straw. Flatmate Alan, the sensible one, has just been proposed to by his girlfriend Jess, with his femme fatale boss looking on with a saucy gleam in her eye. Newly-dumped Ed spends his time tearfully watching 'Sex and the City' in a pile of his ex-girlfriend's pajamas and plotting his revenge. Meanwhile unemployed doctor Matt embarks on a dubious bet with Sam to see who can be the first to ensnare a rich wife and enjoy a life of leisure...
Available since: 12/28/2010.
Print length: 231 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Firebrand - cover

    Firebrand

    Megan Preston Meyer

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    NO ONE is their authentic self at work 
    Currant Keppler has a fresh MBA and her first corporate job: participating in the LATTE Management Rotation Program at Alpine Chalet Coffee Company, the Midwest's second-largest coffee chain. She's fluent in jargon, excited for new challenges, and completely bought in—until she realizes that there's something fishy with her first project.  
    I'm in the big leagues now, she tells herself. This is just how the game is played. But when a question of ethics turns into a question of murder, she learns that some people will do anything to succeed – and that NO ONE is their authentic self at work. 
    “A clever mystery replete with Millennials, MBAs, Marketing, and Macchiatos… It’s witty, fresh, and spot on.” – Susan D. Steiner, Murder by Manuscript (the August Burns series)
    Show book
  • Sketches Of The Fair Sex - cover

    Sketches Of The Fair Sex

    Anonymous

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Sketches of the fair sex, in all parts of the world. To which are added rules for determining the precise figure, the degree of beauty, the habits, and the age of women, notwithstanding the aids and disguise of dress. It is our design to present a pleasing and interesting miscellany, which will serve to beguile the leisure hour, and will at the same time couple instruction with amusement. We have used but little method in the arrangement: Choosing rather to furnish the reader with a rich profusion of narratives and anecdotes, all tending to illustrate the FEMALE CHARACTER, to display its delicacy, its sweetness, its gentle or sometimes heroic virtues, its amiable weaknesses, and strange defects—than to attempt an accurate analysis of the hardest subject man ever attempted to master, viz—WOMAN. (Summary from the book)
    Show book
  • Fatgirl: Episodes 7-10 - Box Set #3 - cover

    Fatgirl: Episodes 7-10 - Box Set #3

    C. S. Johnson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    FATGIRL: EPISODES 7-10 BOX SET (FATGIRL OMNIBUS COLLECTION #3) 
    You'll never look at doughnuts the same way again.  
    Kallie's come a long way from accidentally stuffing her face full of Abuela-Blancha's radioactive doughnuts. 
    Now, Kallie's actually almost confident she can handle anything -- even if it means standing up to her best frenemy, especially when Amory declares no one in their group of friends will have a date for the Spring Fling. Too bad Kallie's set to miss it anyway, since AB needs to go to Fort Lauderdale to confront ZZ over who gave her AB's stolen doughnut recipe. 
    Along the way, Kallie will face difficult, challenging questions that have life-altering answers: 
    What's so great about Florida, anyway? 
    Just who is this Agent Grey who's on the scene? 
    WHY IS HER MOTHER IN FLORIDA? 
    Also, why did Max Powers become a police officer? 
    And how can Azure's real be name ... "Stan" ... really, seriously? 
    Find out in this sweet, surprising Omnibus installment of Fatgirl!  
    INCLUDES:  
    Fatgirl: Spring Fling 
    Fatgirl: Black Powers 
    Fatgirl: Azure Skies 
    Fatgirl: Lard Boy 
    Fatgirl is a satirical, science fiction superhero series about growing up, PC culture, and diet culture from award-winning, genre-hopping author C. S. Johnson. Perfect for fans of Marvel, Mean Girls, and The Golden Girls!
    Show book
  • Jared Pond and the Tamil Guru - cover

    Jared Pond and the Tamil Guru

    Martin Lundqvist

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    After almost getting fired for accidentally blowing up the Malaysian Consulate, Jared Pond is sent on a pointless mission. To regain favour with Prime Minister Scurry Morrissette, Jared must meddle in the Tamil Grand Guru election to secure a shipment of premium tea to Australia. However, the sexy French agent Delphine Montblanc is also involved in the Grand Guru election, and she becomes Jared’s rival and object of desire. 
    Will Jared sort out this mess, or will he add another failed 
    mission to his repertoire?
    Show book
  • Motherhood - cover

    Motherhood

    Garrison Keillor

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Collected from live radio broadcasts of A Prairie Home Companion, these humorous and heart-warming stories and songs celebrate the ups and downs of motherhood. Includes the News from Lake Wobegon, and guest appearances from Robin and Linda Williams, Inga Swearingen, Vern Sutton, Prudence Johnson, the Rankin Family, and more. 
    “She brought you forth out of the cloud of genetics and fed and clothed you and taught you to wipe yourself and say Please and Thank You and never expected you to pay her back, only that you behave appropriately and try to make something of yourself and not land in prison but if you had, she’d love you because after all she’s your Mother.” — Garrison Keillor
    A HighBridge Audio production.
    Show book
  • How to Win at Feminism - The Definitive Guide to Having It All--And Then Some! - cover

    How to Win at Feminism - The...

    Reductress, Beth Newell, Sarah...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Feminism is all about demanding equality and learning to love yourself. But not too much — men hate that! From the writers of Reductress, the subversive, satirical women’s magazine read by over 2.5 million visitors a month, comes HOW TO WIN AT FEMINISM: The Definitive Guide to Having It All—And Then Some! 
    This ultimate guide to winning feminism—filled with four-color illustrations, bold graphics, and hilarious photos—teaches readers how to battle the patriarchy better than everybody else. From the herstory of feminism to how to apologize for having it all, readers will learn how to be a feminist at work and at home with tips that include: How to Do More with 33 Cents LessHow to Be Sex-Positive Even When You’re BloatedHow to Love Your Body Even Though Hers Is BetterThe 9 Circles of Hell for Women Who Don’t Help Other WomenDesigner Handbags to Hold All Your FeminismHow to Get Catcalled For Your Personality 
    HOW TO WIN AT FEMINISM is a fresh take on women's rights through the lens of the funniest women in comedy today. With this book as your wo-manual, you’ll shatter that glass ceiling once and for all (but you’ll still need to clean up the mess). 
    BONUS CONTENT- Join Mouth Time podcast hosts Quenn and Div after the audiobook for a short sesh about books and writing.
    Show book