Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Dictionary of Discoveries - cover

Dictionary of Discoveries

I. A. Langnas

Publisher: Philosophical Library/Open Road

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A comprehensive reference volume of significant explorers, pioneers, and conquerors, from the ancient world to the twentieth century. Since the days when Alexander the Great vastly expanded the Hellenistic world, history has been shaped by the urge to discover—and conquer—unknown lands. In Dictionary of Discoveries, I. A. Langnas presents a thoroughly researched record of the major explorers, travelers, conquistadors, colonial officers, and others who contributed to the grand enterprise of discovery. Organized alphabetically, the entries give special focus to the Age of Discovery, a time when European societies embarked on far-reaching campaigns in search of new lands, trading routes, and knowledge. Famous names like Christopher Columbus, Daniel Boone, and Sir Ernest Shackleton are featured alongside lesser-known figures such as Grigori Shelekhov, theeighteenth-century Russian explorer of Alaska and the Kodiak Islands.

Other books that might interest you

  • In der Südsee - Erweiterte Komplettausgabe - cover

    In der Südsee - Erweiterte...

    Robert Louis Stevenson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In der Südsee ist ein Bericht über Stevensons drei Kreuzfahrten, erschien im Jahr 1896. Dabei besuchte er die Gilbert-Inseln, Samoa, Apia, Sydney und viele Orte mehr.
    
    Dies ist die Komplettausgabe mit Band 1 und 2.
    
    Die Serie "Meisterwerke der Literatur" beinhaltet die Klassiker der deutschen und weltweiten Literatur in einer einzigartigen Sammlung. Lesen Sie die besten Werke großer Schriftsteller,Poeten, Autoren und Philosophen auf Ihrem elektronischen Lesegerät. Dieses Werk bietet zusätzlich
    
    * Eine Biografie/Bibliografie des Autors.
    Show book
  • Oregon Trail - cover

    Oregon Trail

    Jr. Francis Parkman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The book is a breezy, first-person account of a 2 month summer tour of the U.S. states of Nebraska, Wyoming, Colorado, and Kansas when Parkman was 23. (Summary by Wikipedia)
    Show book
  • Hotel Resorts or Inns Strategies to Increase Your Bookings & Profit - Ways to Foster Loyalty in Guests - cover

    Hotel Resorts or Inns Strategies...

    Gerry MacPherson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This book is designed for a hospitality property owners/managers who do not have the benefit of a ready-made organizational structure, branding & marketing.   
    Have you ever asked yourself any of the questions? 
    “How can I get more guests?”  
    “How can I encourage my guests to return?”  
    “How can I organize my business so I don’t have to be there 24/7?”  
    “How can I find & keep the right employees?”  
     	“How can I market so I reach my target clientele?”  
    “How does my property compare to my competition?  
    This book will give you the resources to help you clear common hurdles many hospitality property owners & managers face. 
     	What type of owner/manager you are: A business opportunist, a supervisor or a skilled worker. 
    How to set a plan to achieve your goals. 
    Why you need & how to create a hospitality property strategy.  
    The importance of customer service along with proven tips & techniques you can use to impress your guests.                                        
    How to improve your chain of service. 
    Marketing strategies that work. 
    The importance of social media & how to benefit.                                    
    How to WOW your guests. 
    I want to contribute to a strategic vision for every hospitality property wishing to create a happy & fulfilling experience for their customers & employees.
    Show book
  • Concerning Virgins - cover

    Concerning Virgins

    Saint Ambrose

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Concerning Virgins (De Virginibus) is a series of letters, compiled into three “books,” St. Ambrose wrote to his sister, Manellia, These, perhaps Ambrose's earliest writings, were written in 377 CE. Written in a rather light-handed non-technical style they appear as ethical guides to women who are contemplating entering nunneries. More importantly, they set the tone for Ambrose's later writing on ethics. Concerning Virgins was referred to by other patristic writers including St. Jerome, St Augustine and Cassian, and are now included in the extra-biblical cannon of the early church fathers. (Summary by Gary Gilberd)
    Show book
  • In Manchuria - A Village Called Wasteland and the Transformation of Rural China - cover

    In Manchuria - A Village Called...

    Michael Meyer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In the tradition of In Patagonia and Great Plains, Michael Meyer's In Manchuria is a scintillating combination of memoir, contemporary reporting, and historical research, presenting a unique profile of China's legendary northeast territory. For three years, Meyer rented a home in the rice-farming community of Wasteland, hometown to his wife's family. Their personal saga mirrors the tremendous change most of rural China is undergoing, in the form of a privately held rice company that has built new roads, introduced organic farming, and constructed high-rise apartments into which farmers can move in exchange for their land rights. Once a commune, Wasteland is now a company town, a phenomenon happening across China that Meyer documents for the first time; indeed, not since Pearl Buck wrote The Good Earth has anyone brought rural China to life as Meyer has here. 
        
      Amplifying the story of family and Wasteland, Meyer takes us on a journey across Manchuria's past, a history that explains much about contemporary China--from the fall of the last emperor to Japanese occupation and Communist victory. Through vivid local characters, Meyer illuminates the remnants of the imperial Willow Palisade, Russian and Japanese colonial cities and railways, and the POW camp into which a young American sergeant parachuted to free survivors of the Bataan Death March. In Manchuria is a rich and original chronicle of contemporary China and its people.
    Show book
  • Haunted Cripple Creek and Teller County - cover

    Haunted Cripple Creek and Teller...

    Linda Wommack

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An unbelievable account of ghosts, long-legged beasts, and things that go bump in the night in the historic Colorado mining town and its environs.  
     
    Home to the last gold rush in America, Teller County attracted a slew of peculiar characters. And many never left. A Victor Hotel regular named Eddie met his untimely death when he tumbled down the elevator shaft. A female apparition clad in Victorian clothing appears on the stairs of the Palace Hotel. A closed tunnel on Gold Camp Road is said to echo with the sounds of screaming children. And lingering spirits are still prisoners at the old Teller County Jail. Linda Wommack uncovers the eerie thrills and chills of Cripple Creek and Teller County. 
     
    “Linda Wommack knows where all the ghosts are in southern Teller County—at least the ones who show themselves in various places, mostly old buildings . . . For the paranormal community, southern Teller County is the place to be.” —Pikes Peak Courier
    Show book