"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
That Can Be Arranged - A Muslim Love Story - cover

That Can Be Arranged - A Muslim Love Story

Huda Fahmy

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

  • 0
  • 5
  • 0

Summary

Chaperones, suitors, and arranged marriages aren't only reserved for the heroines of a Jane Austen novel. They're just another walk in the park for this leading lady, who is on a mission to find her leading lad. From the brilliant comics Yes, I'm Hot in This, Huda Fahmy tells the hilarious story of how she met and married her husband. Navigating mismatched suitors, gossiping aunties, and societal expectations for Muslim women, That Can Be Arranged deftly and hilariously reveals to readers what it can be like to find a husband as an observant Muslim woman in the twenty-first century.So relevant in today's evolving cultural climate, Fahmy's story offers a perceptive and personal glimpse into the sometimes sticky but ultimately rewarding balance of independent choice and tradition.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Double-Dealer: A Comedy - cover

    The Double-Dealer: A Comedy

    William Congreve

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Touchwood, about to marry Cynthia, daughter of Sir Paul Plyant. Lady Touchwood, a violent and dissolute woman, is in love with Mellefont, but as he rejects her advances, determines to prevent the match and ruin him in Lord Touchwood's esteem. In this design she finds a confederate in Maskwell, the Double Dealer, who has been her lover, pretends to be Mellefont's friend, and aspires to cheat him of Cynthia and get her for himself.
    Show book
  • The Art and Making of Peanuts Animation - Celebrating Fifty Years of Television Specials - cover

    The Art and Making of Peanuts...

    Charles Solomon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    For the first time, this deluxe visual history treats Peanuts fans to an in-depth look at the art and making of the beloved animated Peanuts specials. From 1965’s original classic A Charlie Brown Christmas through the 2011 release of Happiness is a Warm Blanket, animation historian Charles Solomon goes behind the scenes of all 45 films, exploring the process of bringing a much-loved comic strip to life. The book showcases the creative development through the years with gorgeous, never-before-seen concept art, and weaves a rich history based on dozens of interviews with former Peanuts directors, animators, voice talent, and layout artists, as well as current industry folk. Filling a void in animation publishing—there is no other history or art book of the Peanuts specials—this volume celebrates five decades of the artistry and humor of Charles M. Schultz and the artists who reimagined the comic for the screen.
    Show book
  • Victor Moore Andy The Witnessaka Honesty Insurance Company - cover

    Victor Moore Andy The Witnessaka...

    Amos & Andy

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Fantastic Audio Selection! Highest Recommendation! Listen to one today! This book comes highly recommended and it's one you’ll really enjoy.
    Show book
  • If This Isn't Nice What Is? - Advice for the Young - cover

    If This Isn't Nice What Is? -...

    Kurt Vonnegut

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Master storyteller and satirist Kurt Vonnegut was one of the most in-demand commencement speakers of his time. For each occasion, Vonnegut's words were unfailingly unique, insightful, and witty, and they stayed with audience members long after graduation. 
    As edited by Dan Wakefield, this book reads like a narrative in the unique voice that made Vonnegut a hero to readers of all ages. At times hilarious, razor-sharp, freewheeling, and deeply serious, these reflections are ideal for anyone undergoing what Vonnegut would call their "long-delayed puberty ceremony"-marking the passage from student to full-time adult. 
    This book makes the perfect gift for high school or college graduates-or for parents and grandparents who remember Vonnegut fondly and want to connect with him in a new context.
    Show book
  • Life Behind Bars - Confessions of a Pub Landlady - cover

    Life Behind Bars - Confessions...

    Linda Tweedie

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Life behind Bars: Confessions of a Pub Landlady is an exhilarating account of life in the licensed trade. This hilariously funny collection of tales will have your sides splitting as Kate and Linda recount some of their most memorable experiences as pub landladies. Anyone who has lived in the Lothians in Scotland and drunk in the pubs that abound there will most likely recognise at least one, if not more, of the characters who feature in this book. For those of you living elsewhere you will still recognise the types.
    Show book
  • Annabel vs the Internet - The time I infiltrated Google HQ and other adventures - cover

    Annabel vs the Internet - The...

    Annabel Port

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Annabel co-hosted the popular ‘Geoff Lloyd with Annabel Port’ show on Absolute Radio, and has had two hit comedy podcasts on iTunes.A witty and inviting collection of absurd – and mostly true – adventures.For fans of Isy Suttie, Joe Lycett, Bridget Christie, David Thorne, Dave Gorman, David Mitchell.
    Show book