Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Shunned House - cover

The Shunned House

Howard Phillips Lovecraft

Publisher: Howard Phillips Lovecraft

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

For many years the protagonist and his uncle, Dr. Elihu Whipple, have nurtured a fascination with an old, abandoned house on Benefit Street. Dr. Whipple has made extensive records tracking the mysterious, yet apparently coincidental sickness and death of many who have lived in the house for over one hundred years. They are also puzzled by the strange weeds growing in the yard, as well as the unexplained foul smell and whitish, phosphorescent fungi growing in the cellar.
Available since: 04/04/2016.

Other books that might interest you

  • Bad Parts - A Supernatural Thriller - cover

    Bad Parts - A Supernatural Thriller

    Brandon McNulty

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "A page-turning tale of Faustian bargains." —Alma Katsu, author of The Deep and The Hunger 
    HELLRAISER meets 'SALEM'S LOT in this wildly original novel of small-town suspense. 
    A TOWN DIVIDED. A DEMON MADE WHOLE. 
    When rock guitarist Ash Hudson suffers a career-ending hand injury, she seeks out the only thing that can heal it—her hometown's darkest secret. 
    For decades the residents of Hollow Hills, Pennsylvania, have offered their diseased and injured body parts to a creek demon named Snare. In return, Snare rewards its Traders with healthy replacement parts. There's only one catch: if Traders leave town, their new parts vanish forever. 
    Ash wants a new hand, but living in Hollow Hills isn't an option. Not when her band is one gig away from hitting the big time. Desperate, she bargains with Snare, promising to help the demon complete its organ collection in exchange for both a new hand and the freedom for everyone to leave town. 
    As her band's show rapidly approaches, Ash teams up with her estranged father in a last-ditch effort to recruit new Traders. But not everyone trusts Snare's offer, and Ash soon learns how far her neighbors will go to protect their precious parts. 
    With her family in danger and her band waiting, Ash must find a way to help Snare. But even if she succeeds, there's no telling what Snare plans to do with everyone's bad parts. 
    Grab your copy of Bad Parts and start listening today! 
    Fans of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Richard Laymon, Blake Crouch, Joe Hill, Bentley Little, Edward Lee, Jack Ketchum, and J.D. Barker won't want to miss this gritty, fast-paced supernatural thriller.
    Show book
  • Z-Burbia: The Asheville Trilogy - Books 1-3 - cover

    Z-Burbia: The Asheville Trilogy...

    Jake Bible

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Z-Burbia: A Post Apocalyptic Zombie Adventure Novel: 
    When the zombie apocalypse hits the quiet Asheville, NC subdivision of Whispering Pines, the residents don't turn to the police or the military. Nope. They rely on their iron-fisted Home Owners Association! Which Jace Stanford and his family aren’t too keen on. Undead hordes are hard enough to deal with in a post-apocalyptic hellscape, who needs HOA fines too? 
    Filled with blood, gore, plenty of bad jokes, cannibals, dreaded HOA covenants, and a whole lot of snark, Z-Burbia is guaranteed to thrill and entertain! 
    Welcome to life in Z-Burbia! 
    Z-Burbia 2: Parkway To Hell: 
    With Whispering Pines refusing to give up and die, Jace “Long Pork” Stanford has nothing better to do than find out who the heavily-armed newcomers in town are. Well, while he’s not busy dealing with the ever present Z hordes. Or running for his life from paramilitary mercenaries. Or possibly blowing up more of the zombie-infested city because he can’t help pressing buttons. Buttons are meant to be pressed, even in the apocalypse, right? 
    Looks like it’s just another day in Z-Burbia! 
    Z-Burbia 3: Estate of the Dead: 
    Jace Stanford has lost family, friends, and his arm to the zombie apocalypse that hit his subdivision of Whispering Pines. But he’s also gained something he never in a million years would have thought would be a plus: the cannibal savant known as Elsbeth. 
    Now Jace needs Elsbeth’s help more than ever. But is she up to the task when her past is revealed? A past that is possibly more shocking than the zombie apocalypse itself? Jace is gonna find out the hard way.  
    And, as everyone knows, in Z-Burbia the hard way usually means a whole lot of people are going to die! 
    Welcome back to Z-Burbia, y’all!
    Show book
  • The Unnoticeables - A Novel - cover

    The Unnoticeables - A Novel

    Robert Brockway

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From Robert Brockway, Sr. Editor and Columnist of Cracked.com, comes The Unnoticeables, a funny and frightening urban fantasy. 
     
    There are angels, and they are not beneficent or loving. But they do watch over us. They watch our lives unfold, analyzing us for repeating patterns and redundancies. When they find them, the angels simplify those patterns and remove the redundancies, and the problem that is "you" gets solved. 
     
    Carey doesn't much like that idea. As a punk living in New York City, 1977, Carey is sick and tired of watching strange kids with unnoticeable faces abduct his friends. He doesn't care about the rumors of tar-monsters in the sewers or unkillable psychopaths invading the punk scene-all he wants is to drink cheap beer and dispense ass-kickings. 
     
    Kaitlyn isn't sure what she's doing with her life. She came to Hollywood in 2013 to be a stunt woman, but last night a former teen heartthrob tried to eat her, her best friend has just gone missing, and there's an angel outside her apartment. Whatever she plans on doing with her life, it should probably happen in the few remaining minutes she has left. 
     
    There are angels. There are demons. They are the same thing. It's up to Carey and Kaitlyn to stop them. The survival of the human race is in their hands. 
     
    We are, all of us, well and truly screwed.
    Show book
  • Odd Interlude - cover

    Odd Interlude

    Dean Koontz

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "[Odd Thomas is] one of the most remarkable and appealing characters in current fiction." -The Virginian-Pilot 
     
    There's room at the inn. But you might not get out. 
     
    Nestled on a lonely stretch along the Pacific coast, quaint roadside outpost Harmony Corner offers everything a weary traveler needs-a cozy diner, a handy service station, a cluster of motel rooms…and the Harmony family homestead presiding over it all. But when Odd Thomas and company stop to spend the night, they discover that there's more to this secluded haven than meets the eye-and that between life and death, there is something more frightening than either. 
     
    "Koontz gives [Odd Thomas] wit, good humor, a familiarity with the dark side of humanity-and moral outrage." -USA Today 
     
    "Supernatural thrills with a side of laughs." -The Denver Post
    Show book
  • Hell's Auto Plaza - cover

    Hell's Auto Plaza

    Edie Roskam

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It should have been a normal job. But the things she sees behind reality make this car dealership a magnet for darkness. 
    1998. All Leah Owers wants is spiritual peace. But when an unplanned pregnancy upends her life and bounces her back into the US, the former dive instructor finds surprising success selling cars. And yet she can't ignore the ugly sexual predators at work or the terrifying visions of gore-splattered walls that create an ominous sense that something about her employer isn't right. 
    Despite her violently prophetic dreams, Leah battles on through her growing obsessive-compulsive habits and prays for a light at the end of the tunnel. But her grim days are about to turn darker when she attracts the attention of a callous criminal underbelly… 
    Will Leah survive a whirlwind of malevolence bearing down on her soul? 
    Hell's Auto Plaza is the gripping first book in The Sixth Day thriller series. If you like independent heroines, powerful female intuitions, and a strong dash of the supernatural, then you'll love Edie Roskam's suspenseful adventure. 
    Buy Hell's Auto Plaza to put the brakes on evil today!
    Show book
  • The Sinner - cover

    The Sinner

    Amanda Stevens

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    I am a living ghost, a wanderer in search of my purpose and place.I'm a cemetery restorer by trade, but my calling has evolved from that of ghost seer to death walker to detective of lost souls. I solve the riddles of the dead so the dead will leave me alone. I've come to Seven Gates Cemetery nursing a broken heart, but peace is hard to come by . . . for the ghosts here and for me. When the body of a young woman is discovered in a caged grave, I know that I've been summoned for a reason. Only I can unmask her killer. I want to trust the detective assigned to the case, for he is a ghost seer like me. But how can I put my faith in anyone when supernatural forces are manipulating my every thought? When reality is ever-changing? And when the one person I thought I could trust above all others has turned into a diabolical stranger?Contains mature themes.
    Show book