Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Horror Short Stories - cover

Horror Short Stories

Howard Phillips Lovecraft

Publisher: Arcturus Publishing

  • 2
  • 19
  • 0

Summary

Ghouls, ghosts, and macabre terrors stalk the night in this spine-tingling collection. With tales describing unnatural frights and haunting visions of cosmic terror, you will be taken on a journey into the disturbing imaginations of some of horror's greatest writers. The stories' heroes face incredible creatures, unknowable gods, and supernatural beings who have no regard for human life.Horror literature has its roots in the mists of time. In the 19th century, writers delved into ancient folk tales and local legends to inspire an entire genre. In the 20th century, the next generation of writers brought to life a brand new array of terrifying monsters.The authors in this volume range from Victorian pioneers, such as Bram Stoker and Edgar Allan Poe, to the pulp writers of the 20th century, such as William Hope Hodgson and H. P. Lovecraft. The tradition of horror writing that developed took very different turns on either side of the Atlantic - while American authors turned to unknowable horrors and cosmic terrors, British writers such as E. F. Benson and M. R. James mastered a more familiar form, the classic ghost story.It was not only English-speakers who sought to terrify their readers. The French writer Guy de Maupassant, a prolific short story writer and pupil of the acclaimed novelist Gustave Flaubert, found ways to make his protagonists doubt their own sanity as they faced terrors that would drive any ordinary man mad.This collection of bone-chilling tales comes from the pens of some of horror's most acclaimed writers. Authors include:E. F. BensonAmbrose BierceFrancis Marion CrawfordW. W. JacobsM. R. JamesWilliam Hope HodgsonH. P. LovecraftGuy de MaupassantEdgar Allan PoeBram Stoker

Other books that might interest you

  • Sub Tweet - cover

    Sub Tweet

    Sara Schoen, Rena Marin, Hope...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sub Tweet 
    A Crazy Ink Anthology 
    Because someone needs to ask… 
    What's the truth behind the tweets? 
     "Grrrrr."           
    "Some people shouldn't use up oxygen." 
    "So done." 
     
    We've all seen the vague posts and tweets. We've all sat, wondering exactly how we should be responding to the oh-so-distressed regular sub tweeters who use social media as personal diaries aimed at making sure inquiring minds want to know. 
     
    But what's the real story behind the hashtags? 
     
    "Grrrr." (I stubbed my toe). 
    "Some people shouldn't use up oxygen." (Filling up balloons). 
    "So done." (With not getting attention). 
     
    A group of sassy authors will set out on a quest to collect vague book posts and sub tweets and unravel the mystery of all that 'please-ask' drama… 
     
    Sub Tweet, A Crazy Ink Anthology, will leave you fugly laughing, horrified, begging for more, and most certainly, never able to look at a vague status the same way again…
    Show book
  • Black Swans - Stories - cover

    Black Swans - Stories

    Eve Babitz

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "Babitz’s talent for the brilliant line, honed to a point, never interferes with her feel for languid pleasures." —The New York Times Book Review 
    
    A new reissue of Babitz’s collection of nine stories that look back on the 1980s and early 1990s—decades of dreams, drink, and glimpses of a changing world. Black Swans further celebrates the phenomenon of Eve Babitz, cementing her reputation as the voice of a generation. 
    
    With an introduction by Stephanie Danler, bestselling author of Sweetbitter.
    
    "On the page, Babitz is pure pleasure—a perpetual-motion machine of no-stakes elation and champagne fizz." —The New Yorker
    
    "[A] true original." —The Boston Globe
    
    "She’s a natural. Or gives every appearance of being one, her writing elevated yet slangy, bright, bouncy, cheerfully hedonistic—L.A. in it purest, most idealized form." —Vanity Fair
    
    "Babitz's writing is also like the jacaranda tree in glorious bloom—bewitching an entire city, but all too brief." —Los Angeles Review of Books
    Show book
  • Sin - cover

    Sin

    Erin Lee, Alice La Roux, Mila...

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Cardinal sins, they vary by person, but seven always seem to make the list. 
    Pride, greed, lust, envy, gluttony, wrath, and sloth. 
    These are said to be obvious, everyday sins, but something about them isn't so ordinary. 
    What happens when these excessive desires become more than a craving, but a way of life? 
    Prepare to meet the embodiment of each. 
    Seven authors present seven deadly sins and what happens when you give in to temptation. 
    Forgive us, for we have sinned...and we will do it again and again.
    Show book
  • Premchand - Poos Ki Raat - cover

    Premchand - Poos Ki Raat

    Prem Premchand

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    गरीब और ग्रामीण भारत को जितना अच्छा प्रेमचंद ने अपने शब्दों में व्यक्त किया है, हिंदी जगत में उसका कोई दूसरा उदाहरण मिलना नामुमकीन है. गांव के व्यक्ति की खुशियों और व्यथाओं का प्रेमचंद जितना मार्मिक चित्रण कोई दूसरा भारतीय लेखक कर ही नहीं पाया है. उनकी किताब पूस की रात भी एक गरीब व्यक्ति पर पड़ने वाली मौसम की मार को रेखांकित करता है. किताब में सर्दी का ऐसा अनुपम वर्णन मिलता है कि पाठक को भी ठंड का आभास होता है. सबसे अच्छी बात यह है कि वह किरदार के साथ जुड़ता है और उसके दर्द को महसूस करता है.
    
    As much as Premchand has expressed in his words to poor and rural India, it is impossible to get any other example of this in the Hindi world. The poignant portrayal of Premchand of happiness and misery of the village person has not been made by any other Indian writer. His book underlines the misery of weather falling on a poor person even on winter night. In the book, there is an unimaginable description of winter that the reader also feels cold. The best part is that it connects with the character and feels its pain. 'Poos ke raat' is one of Premchand's most beautiful creations.
    Show book
  • The Return of Count Electric - & Other Stories - cover

    The Return of Count Electric - &...

    William Browning Spencer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In The Return of Count Electric and Other Stories, William Browning Spencer demonstrates a wildly imaginative, non-stop narrative skill in the tradition of Roald Dahl and John Collier.
    Show book
  • Christmas Past - cover

    Christmas Past

    Skylar McKinzie, Rita Delude,...

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    It's not about the presents. 
    It's not about the menu. 
    It's not the trimmings either. 
    It's about the spirit of the holiday. 
    Or it was. 
    Once upon a time, there were holiday seasons that weren't about blue-light specials and jumping up from Thanksgiving meals for fifty-percent off deals. 
    Sometimes, to find what's missing, you have to step back… 
    Christmas Past will take you back to when things were much simpler and a spirit lived between the lights and holiday glitz. 
    With stories in as many genres as Saint Nick can fit in his bag, Christmas Past offers something for every reader. 
    It's as simple as that.
    Show book