Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Unveiling the Muse - The Lost History of Gay Carnival in New Orleans - cover

Unveiling the Muse - The Lost History of Gay Carnival in New Orleans

Howard Philips Smith

Publisher: University Press of Mississippi

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Traditional Carnival has been well documented with a vast array of books published on the subject. However, few of them, if any, mention gay Carnival krewes or the role of gay Carnival within the larger context of the season. Howard Philips Smith corrects this oversight with a beautiful, vibrant, and exciting account of gay Carnival.Gay krewes were first formed in the late 1950s, growing out of costume parties held by members of the gay community. Their tableau balls were often held in clandestine locations to avoid harassment. Even by the new millennium, gay Carnival remained a hidden and almost lost history. Much of the history and the krewes themselves were devastated by the AIDS crisis. Whether facing police raids in the 1960s or AIDS in the 1980s, the Carnival krewes always came back each season. A culmination of two decades of research, Unveiling the Muse positions this incredible story within its proper place as an amazing and important facet of traditional Carnival.Based on years of detailed interviews, each of the major gay krewes is represented by an in-depth historical sketch, outlining the founders, moments of brilliance on stage, and a list of all the balls, themes, and royalty. Of critical importance to this history are the colorful ephemera associated with the gay tableau balls. Reproductions of never-before-published brilliantly designed invitations, large-scale commemorative posters, admit cards, and programs add dimension and life to this history. Sketches of elaborate stage sets and costumes as well as photographs of ball costumes and rare memorabilia further enhance descriptions of these tableau balls.

Other books that might interest you

  • Lesbianism Made Easy - cover

    Lesbianism Made Easy

    Helen Eisenbach

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The essential guide to enjoying modern lesbianism These days, lesbians are everywhere you turn, streaming for your entertainment or commenting on the important political movements and hairdos of the day. Yet as more doors open on this often-misunderstood world, who hasn’t found him- or herself wondering how he or she might uncover the secrets, experience the glamour, enjoy the special advantages of lesbianism?   Helen Eisenbach’s hilariously irreverent guide provides a front-row seat to a largely female universe where love, lust, and forbidden laughter are just a fingertip away. Sharing hard-earned truths with sly insight and wit, Eisenbach reveals the fascinating inside story of a growing culture and shows how anyone can acquire the skills and state of mind to be a lesbian.   From flirting to family values, from work to play, from enlightening friends, relatives, or strangers to figuring out how to have sex with women or choose a pet, Lesbianism Made Easy answers all your questions—and some you didn’t know you had.
    Show book
  • Adventures In Eroticism: Four Seasons - cover

    Adventures In Eroticism: Four...

    Immani Love

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Lesbian Erotica short stories where the main character is YOU! Take a trip into your fantasies with each story you read. With vivid imagery and tantalizing scenarios, these stories allow you to experience things not typically dared to be imagined! Lesbian Erotica has never had an avenue like this to explore sexuality with a sexy, yet witty outlook on intimacy. Creative locations from your own home to the Amazon Jungle, with escapades for every season...Adventures in Eroticism is sure to please on every level. Bedtime stories have never been so good! 
    
    Look out for the rest of the series... 
    Adventures in Eroticism: Workplace 
    Adventures in Eroticism: Holiday 
    Adventures in Eroticism: World Vacations
    Show book
  • Re-Design Your Future - cover

    Re-Design Your Future

    Dr. Joseph Murphy

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    BOOKS BY DR. JOSEPH MURPHY
    The Amazing Laws of Cosmic Mind Power
    The Cosmic Energizer: Miracle Power of the Universe
    The Cosmic Power Within You
    Great Bible Truths for Human Problems
    The Healing Power of Love
    How to Attract Money
    How to Pray with a Deck of Cards
    How to Use the Power of Prayer
    How to Use Your Healing Power
    Infinite Power for Richer Living
    Living Without Strain
    Love is Freedom
    Magic of Faith
    Mental Poisons and Their Antidotes
    The Miracle of Mind Dynamics
    Miracle Power for Infinite Riches
    Peace Within Yourself
    The Power Of Your Subconscious Mind
    Pray Your Way Through It
    Prayer is the Answer
    Psychic Perception: The Meaning of Extrasensory Power
    Quiet Moments with God
    Secrets of the I Ching
    Songs of God
    Special Meditations for Health, Wealth, Love, and Expression
    Stay Young Forever
    Supreme Mastery of Fear
    Telepsychics: The Magic Power of Perfect Living
    Why Did This Happen to Me?
    Within You is the Power
    Write Your Name in the Book of Life
    Your Infinite Power to be Rich
    Show book
  • 24 Days - How Two Wall Street Journal Reporters Uncovered the Lies that Destroyed Faith in Corporate America - cover

    24 Days - How Two Wall Street...

    Rebecca Smith, John R. Emshwiller

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This is the story of Rebecca Smith and John R. Emshwiller, the two reporters who led the Wall Street Journal's reporting on Enron and uncovered the unorthodox partnerships at the heart of the scandal through skill, luck, and relentless determination.  
    It all started in August 2001when Emshwiller was assigned to write a supposedly simple article on the unexpected resignation of Enron CEO Jeff Skilling. During his research, Emshwiller uncovered a buried reference to an off-balance-sheet partnership called LJM. Little did he know, this was the start of a fast and furious ride through the remarkable downfall of a once highly-prized company.  
    Written in an intense, fast paced narrative style, 24 Days tells the gripping story of the colossal collapse of what would become the world's most notorious corporation. The reader follows along as Smith and Emshwiller continue to uncover new partnerships and self-dealing among the highest levels of Enron's management. As they publish articles detailing their findings in the Journal, Wall Street and individual investors have a crisis of confidence and start selling Enron stock at unprecedented levels of volume. In the end - 24 short days later - Enron had completely collapsed, erasing 16 years of growth and losing $19 billion in market value while watching the stock drop from $33.84 to $8.41. Not only was the company destroyed, but investors and retired employees were completely wiped out-all the while Enron executives were collecting millions of dollars.  
    Climaxing with this 24-day period, this book shows the reporter's-eye view of a David-and-Goliath battle between journalists and a giant corporation. Each day a new story uncovered another fact; each day the company issued denials. And when the investigative stories reached critical mass and momentum, the stock market cast its final vote of no confidence. In the tradition of Indecent Exposure and Barbarians at the Gate, two other gripping narratives that began as a series of Wall Street Journal stories and ended up as books that defined an era, 24 Days brings the importance of great investigative journalism to life.
    Show book
  • The Road to Victory - cover

    The Road to Victory

    David P. Colley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Red Ball Operation, the vital train of supplies improvised by American troops during the invasion of Europe, was one of the GIs' bravest exploits, without which World War II would have dragged on at a terrible cost of Allied lives. Yet it has been overlooked due to the fact that it was mostly manned by African-Americans. Now the story is told in full in this first book-length study. It is a book not only about the war between the Yanks and their Nazi enemy, but also of war with an enemy closer to home—-racism.
    Show book
  • Conversation Skills: How To Talk To Anyone & Build Quick Rapport In 30 Steps - The Blokehead Success Series - cover

    Conversation Skills: How To Talk...

    Scott Green

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Thank you for checking out this book, “Conversation Skills: How to Talk to Anyone and Build Quick Rapport in 30 Easy Steps”. 
    This book contains information on how you can develop your conversation skills to build rapport and talk to people from all walks of life. 
    In addition, it also contains 30 tips on how you can build rapport with just about anyone. 
    Grab the book now!
    Show book