Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Art of Zen Meditation - cover

The Art of Zen Meditation

Howard Fast

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Bestselling author Howard Fast’s straightforward introduction to Zen meditationHoward Fast began to formally practice Zen meditation after turning away from communism in 1956. The Art of Zen Meditation, originally published by the antiwar political collective Peace Press in 1977, is the fruit of Fast’s study: a brief and instructive history of Zen Buddhism and its tenets, written with a simplicity that is emblematic of the philosophy itself. Fast’s study of Zen also inspired his popular Masao Masuto mystery series about a Zen Buddhist detective in Beverly Hills, which he published under the pseudonym E. V. Cunningham. The Art of Zen Meditation is illustrated with twenty-three beautiful photographs. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Howard Fast including rare photos from the author’s estate.

Who read this book also read:

  • Better Sex Initiative - cover

    Better Sex Initiative

    Kathrin Pissinger

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    So it has come to this. You're desperate enough to turn to the lesbians for advice...
    
    Well, you might have thought: Hey, they're women who fuck women, so they should know everything about what women like, right?
    
    Right!
    
    So fear not, my clueless friend, help is afoot. For within these pages you will find the secrets to everlasting sexual bliss, love and a grand, pussy-filled life.
    
    It also contains light doses of Heavy Metal, a random Coldplay reference, Stephen King and a lot of dirty words. If any of these things will give you a rash, you might want to look for a different book.
    
    So. Prick your ears and steer your prick, 'cause I'm only gonna say this once.
    
    Ready? Let's begin!
    Show book
  • Restorative Yoga Therapy - The Yapana Way to Self-Care and Well-Being - cover

    Restorative Yoga Therapy - The...

    Leeann Carey

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Foster Tranquility to Restore and Invigorate Body and Mind
    
    Leeann Carey’s approach to yoga, the Yapana Way, provides a unique and insightful refuge from the imbalances of our frenzied lifestyle. In this book, she introduces a prop-supported practice that will help deepen and extend the benefits of yoga. This restorative practice meets you where you are, using props to extend the time you remain in a posture and encouraging self-inquiry, reflection, and relaxation. The use of props allows everyone to receive the benefits of these poses, regardless of physical ability or injury. 
    
    Restorative Yoga Therapy includes over one hundred photos and clear instructions for seated and supine forward bends, back bends, twists, and inversions, as well as breath work and final relaxation poses. Carey also provides helpful hints and suggested poses to relieve common complaints, including stress, lower back pain, stiff shoulders, PMS and menopause discomfort, and overexertion.
    Show book
  • The Happiness Project (Revised Edition) - Or Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning Clean My Closets Fight Right Read Aristotle and Generally Have More Fun - cover

    The Happiness Project (Revised...

    Gretchen Rubin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “This book made me happy in the first five pages.” —AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible  
    Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is “a cross between the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.” (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person’s year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.
    Show book
  • Easy-to-Build Adirondack Furniture - Storey's Country Wisdom Bulletin A-216 - cover

    Easy-to-Build Adirondack...

    Mary Twitchell

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Building Adirondack furniture is a time-honored craft. Sturdy and rustic, this furniture can be a beautiful addition to any indoor decor, although it's most often used to set the scene outdoors. There, the furniture is subjected to a lifetime of abuse. Yearly it moves from somewhere hidden away (probably dark and musty winter storage) to front-and-center on the summer stage. Now, hour after hour it is beaten on by intense UV light, drenched in driving rains, then fried again in the summer sun. Through it all, the furniture patiently endures--ever handsome, ever inviting, ever lasting. To survive summertime abuse and the semiannual ritual of being dragged into and out of storage, outdoor furniture must be sturdy, rugged, and well built--all qualities that epitomize Adirondack pieces. This bulletin contains instructions for building an Adirondack chair, matching footstool, companion side table, and Westport chair (an ancestor of the modern-day slatted Adirondack chair). Each project will take the moderately skilled carpenter less than a day to fabricate; for the beginner, maybe a weekend.Learn how to choose the right lumber and hardware, complete with instructions for table, footstool, and the Westport chair.
    Show book
  • Leadership Lessons from a UPS Driver - Delivering a Culture of We Not Me - cover

    Leadership Lessons from a UPS...

    Ron Wallace

    • 2
    • 11
    • 0
    United Parcel Service (UPS) is a household name that customers and investors alike hold in high regard. Who hasn't been delighted by a right-on-time delivery, one of the 18 million UPS makes every day? Founded over a hundred years ago, UPS has moved steadily up the Fortune 500 while so many other corporations have disappeared. What's the company's secret? Just ask a driver!Ron Wallace was a UPS delivery driver for six years before he began rising through the ranks, ultimately becoming president of UPS International. In other companies, that might be extraordinary, but at UPS it's par for the course. UPS has a unique corporate culture. It's like a family. Package loaders call executives by their first names and vice versa. The company almost always promotes from within. Lifetime employment is common. Most employees own UPS stock. Wallace credits the company's success—and his own—to its culture of “we, not me.” As he puts it, working at UPS gave him a PhD in teamwork. Instead of writing a typical business memoir that celebrates the leader as celebrity, Wallace shares vivid stories that focus on the people he worked with, the challenges they overcame, and the simple principles and practices that make up the UPS way. He exhorts his readers to grow their people, not just their business plans. The leadership style described in this book is simple and direct—and it works. The straightforward and easy-to-understand lessons provide a blueprint for an individual or company to build on past successes and adapt to future challenges. This is a must-read for anyone aspiring to become a great leader.
    Show book
  • Beastly Girls - cover

    Beastly Girls

    Teresa Joseph

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Seven sexy stories from lady author, girl on girl role play; adult babies, human -cows, -pigs, -puppies, girls as beastly, manipulative, sexually demanding as only girls know how! Dairy Herd: follow three good little heifers, belled, nose-ringed, permanently horny, massively swollen tits, milch cows. Practise Nurse: naughty nursie seduces ladies into lesbian sex. St Winifred’s Home For Unwed Mothers: inmates show nuns joys of suckling, subvert nuns as adult babies. Smotherly Love: two ‘feeders’ take on world together, start world wide web plumpandcuddly dot com, achieve fame, fortune. Fingers And Toes: about to be fired for a catalogue of sex abuse, lesbian rape and humiliation of other girls, she seduces boss instead, is promoted to be Head of Personnel. My Best Friend’s Tits: the milk they produced fascinated her, soon she and sister were best friend’s adult baby girls! Office Junior: turned on by looking at and sniffing other girls’ knickers, leads to life as the office bitch.
    Show book