Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Art of Zen Meditation - cover

The Art of Zen Meditation

Howard Fast

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Bestselling author Howard Fast’s straightforward introduction to Zen meditationHoward Fast began to formally practice Zen meditation after turning away from communism in 1956. The Art of Zen Meditation, originally published by the antiwar political collective Peace Press in 1977, is the fruit of Fast’s study: a brief and instructive history of Zen Buddhism and its tenets, written with a simplicity that is emblematic of the philosophy itself. Fast’s study of Zen also inspired his popular Masao Masuto mystery series about a Zen Buddhist detective in Beverly Hills, which he published under the pseudonym E. V. Cunningham. The Art of Zen Meditation is illustrated with twenty-three beautiful photographs. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Howard Fast including rare photos from the author’s estate.

Who read this book also read:

  • Gandhism - The Practices and Beliefs of Mahatma Gandhi - cover

    Gandhism - The Practices and...

    JSC Publications

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Gandhism is a body of ideas and principles that describes the inspiration, vision and the life work of Mahatma Gandhi. It is particularly associated with his contributions to the idea of nonviolent resistance, sometimes also called civil resistance.
    Show book
  • Restoration - cover

    Restoration

    Cathy Marie Hake

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Shipped home from France with scars on his body and soul, Russell Diamond despairs of ever feeling hope again. To spare his family the pain of seeing his anger, Russell escapes to a coastal village where he has inherited a great-uncle's home and sizeable savings. But peace is not easily found. A cottage on the grounds houses a German widow and her grown daughter. Russell thinks he has left the Great War, but when he hears Lorelei Goetz's pronounced accent, he realizes his neighbor speaks with the voice of his enemy. Will bitterness consume Russell's soul? Or will God use the gentle spirit of his sworn enemy to bring restoration to a battered heart?
    Show book
  • Caught Up with a Jezebel 3 - Sister Diva White's Scandal #3 - cover

    Caught Up with a Jezebel 3 -...

    Kia Summers

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Pastor Jonathan lives with his shame. No matter how many times he tells himself it’s over, he still let’s Sister Diva convince him it’s not. If he doesn’t end it soon, he could lose his marriage and his family. 
    Sister Diva is a woman who gets what she wants, when she wants. But this time, she might also get caught in a devious trap she won’t be able to con her way out of. Not only is she toying with the married pastor, but now someone is plotting to toy with her and threatening to expose what they know. 
    Vanessa wants what any self-respecting, woman of God would want: a loving marriage and family, but ever since she’s put on this baby weight, she’s finding it hard to make love to her husband. Lately, he’s been acting strange and she worries no matter what she does, she won’t get over her feelings of insecurity, self-doubt and won’t be able to be the kind of wife she wants to be. 
    Pastor Jonathan’s sins have created a tangled web. Can he relinquish his sinful ways and find his way back to the light and abide by the promises he made to his wife and the promises he made to God?
    Show book
  • Voices of Blood (The Kinsman Chronicles) - Part 6 - cover

    Voices of Blood (The Kinsman...

    Jill Williamson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Part 6 of Jill Williamson's Epic Fantasy Series The Kinsman Chronicles The unanticipated supernatural ability to hear each other's thoughts fills many Armanians with fear and embroils the Armanian people in a bitter conflict. Priests protest this "bloodvoicing" magic as evil, but Prince Wilek believes it a gift from the One God to his Armanite followers. To honor his newfound faith, Prince Wilek establishes a city called Armanguard and begins building an illustrious castle. He sends explorers to the north to discover what this land might have to offer, putting his brother Trevn in charge of the expedition. In the west, as spring comes and the ground softens, Charlon sets the Magonian people to planting evenroot and preparing for the long-prophesied uprising of their Deliverer, who they believe will crush the skulls of his enemies, turn their citadels to dust, and make Magonia the ruler of nations.Voices of Blood is collected together with parts 4 and 5 in King's Blood.
    Show book
  • Language of Love - cover

    Language of Love

    Janet Lee Barton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Nicolas LeBlanc returns from World War I heartbroken that his father had died in the influenza epidemic while he was gone, and longing to hear his beloved Cajun spoken once more. But he finds it in danger of being banned from the schools–and the pretty new teacher is encouraging his siblings to speak English at his dinner table.  
     
    Suzette Devereux is trying to make change easier on the families of Breaux Bridge, Louisiana. She even tries to persuade Nicolas to help her for the children’s sake, but he thinks she’s helping to make his Cajun language become extinct.  
     
    At odds with each other and fighting their attraction to one another, they work together to try to make Christmas something special for his family for his mother’s sake. When his aunts come to visit for for the same reasons, they sense a spark between the two, but neither is willing to admit their feelings. Will Nicolas and Suzette ever find their very own language of love?
    Show book
  • Runaway Bride (With This Ring? Collection) - A Kincaid Brides and Trouble in Texas Novella - cover

    Runaway Bride (With This Ring?...

    Mary Connealy

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    1870s TexasBig John Conroy is a Texas Ranger asked by a friend to assist Carrie. He catches up to Carrie and her brother Isaac and races away from a dangerous man who will stop at nothing to make the beautiful young woman his wife. Soon Big John's feelings for Carrie turn to more than simply protective, and Carrie finally feels that she's in the presence of a man she can respect--something she's never known. Fans of Mary's The Kincaid Brides and Trouble in Texas series will enjoy catching up with those characters.
    Show book