Today could be the day that you start a whole year of unlimited reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Phyllis - cover

Phyllis

Howard Fast

Publisher: Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Two scientists—one American and one Russian—form a pact for nuclear disarmament that threatens to bring civilization to its kneesThe physicists met during a nuclear conference in London. Wanting to hurry America and the Soviet Union into nuclear non-proliferation, they each construct a crude atomic bomb, hiding one in New York and one in Moscow, and then they disappear. The United States and the USSR have forty days to renounce nuclear weapons, or two world capitals will burn. The American government chooses police detective Thomas Clancy to save his city. As a cop with a background in physics, he enters the faculty of Knickerbocker University to investigate the American professor. Clancy’s hope is that Phyllis Goldmark, the vanished physicist’s former lover, may know some clue to his location. The clock is ticking as the fate of millions rests on the shoulders of Phyllis and Clancy. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Howard Fast including rare photos from the author’s estate.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Ways of the World - A James Maxted Thriller - cover

    The Ways of the World - A James...

    Robert Goddard

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the Edgar Award-winning, internationally bestselling British writer Robert Goddard comes a captivating new trilogy of historical thrillers, set at the tail end of World War I and featuring the devilishly charismatic James “Max” Maxted, a Royal Flying Corps veteran who has a hard time keeping himself out of trouble.Four years of horrific fighting have finally ended on the battlefield, but in the spring of 1919, Paris is filled with delegates from around the world who are still trying to hammer out the terms of peace. One such delegate is British diplomat Sir Henry Maxted, in charge of liaising with the Brazilians regarding seized ships. But before a deal is reached, Sir Henry turns up dead outside a Montparnasse apartment building, apparently having fallen from the roof. His sons Max and Ashley are sent to Paris to collect the body, and it quickly becomes clear that the theory the French police have put forward is flawed. But since the murder of a diplomat could be disastrous for the peace conference, no one is keen to ask questions—except Max.What begins as an innocent inquiry into his father’s death soon leads Max into a dangerous world of secret allegiances, international espionage, and people double-crossing each other at the highest levels of government. How far is he willing to go to discover the truth about the death of a father he barely knew? And how much will the authorities—and others—let him find out before threatening Max’s own life?
    Show book
  • The Planck Factor - cover

    The Planck Factor

    Debbi Mack

    • 1
    • 16
    • 0
    "Thoroughly intriguing! A real page-turner."— Zoë Sharp, author of the best-selling Charlie Fox series
     
    On a dare, grad student Jessica Evans writes a thriller, creating a nightmare scenario based upon the theory that the speed of light is not a constant—one that has a dark application. Her protagonist (the fiancé of a scientist killed in a car crash) is pursued by those who want to use the theory to create the world’s most powerful weapon.
     
    However, Jessica is soon running for her life when events mimic that of her protagonist. She’s threatened by terrorist conspirators who intend to use the knowledge to create an event that causes mass destruction—even threatens the global extinction of all life. As the clock ticks down, Jessica must outwit the enemies and avert an apocalypse.
     
    MORE REVIEWS AND ENDORSEMENTS“Does art hold a mirror to life? Or does life mirror art? New York Times best-selling author Debbi Mack builds this surprising thriller layer upon layer with an ending that will make you want to read it all over again.” — Donna Fletcher Crow, author of An All-Consuming Fire, The Monastery Murders“Mack takes her reader on a roller-coaster ride with science, imagination, and a terrible possibility.” — Peg Brantley, author of the Aspen Falls Thriller series"[A] sleek tour-de-force exercise in Hitchcockian suspense about domestic terrorism, in which the McGuffin is a novel-within-the-novel and the novelist and her work intersect in unpredictable ways. Reality and fiction clash and spar for supremacy until the final paragraph."— W.D. Gagliani, author of Wolf's Blind (The Nick Lupo Series) and Savage Nights ABOUT THE AUTHOR
     
    Debbi Mack is the New York Times bestselling author of the Sam McRae Mystery Series. She's also published one young novel. In addition, she's a Derringer-nominated short story writer, whose work has been published in various anthologies.
     
    Debbi is also a screenwriter and aspiring indie filmmaker. Her first screenplay, The Enemy Within, made the Second Round in the 2014 Austin Film Festival screenplay contest and semifinals in the 2016 Scriptapalooza contest.
     
    A former attorney, Debbi has also worked as a journalist, librarian, and freelance writer/researcher. She enjoys walking, cats, travel, movies and espresso--not necessarily in that order.
    Show book
  • Blaze Away: A Harpur & Isles British police procedural - cover

    Blaze Away: A Harpur & Isles...

    Bill James

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Policemen Harpur and Iles get mixed up in the criminal world of fine art dealing
    
    Detective Chief Superintendent Colin Harpur feels a sort of warmth towards Jack Lamb, a brilliantly prosperous but profoundly dodgy fine arts dealer. Lamb is the greatest informant Harpur has ever dealt with – might be the greatest informant any police officer has ever dealt with – and although Jack ended this arrangement some time ago, Harpur still feels indebted to him.
    
    Lamb’s posh manor house is stuffed with expensive paintings, ripe for the pinching . . . and small-time thief George Dinnick and his crew intend to relieve him of a few. But their plans are complicated by local big-time crook Ralph Ember, who is on the lookout for some art to elevate his gentleman’s club, The Monty; and who else would he visit to procure this art but Jack Lamb? Add to the mix odd-job man and stolen-art procurer Basil Gordon Loam – aka Enzyme – who Harpur and Iles would very much like to see locked up, and things start to get complicated indeed.
    Show book
  • Infinite Kill - cover

    Infinite Kill

    Rob Aspinall

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    So I’m officially dead. 
     
    An all-you-can-eat worm food buffet.
     
    Only I’m not. Just between you and me, I’m alive and on the run.
     
    New questions. New dangers. New scars that cut more than skin deep.
     
    First, there’s my new travel companion. A borderline psychopath I suspect will try and kill me any moment. Second, the fact that I’m hated (totally unfairly) all over the internet. Third, the evil empire known as JPAC. 
     
    They’re out there. Planning something big. Something terrible that puts us all eyeballs deep in the dog doo.
     
    So do I stay low and keep running? Or risk everything and fight back?
     
    Whatever I do next, it’s going to determine the rest of my (potentially very short) life. 
     
    It could decide your fate too.
     
    So strap yourself in and brace both bum cheeks. Whatever happens, it’s gonna get messy.
     
    Recommended for age 16+ (Contains violence. Not for the faint hearted.)
    Show book
  • In Search of a Witch's Soul - cover

    In Search of a Witch's Soul

    D. Lieber

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Human, private detective Anna Caill isn’t keen on the prohibition of magic enacted by the 18th Amendment, but she won’t deny it’s good for business. The coppers couldn’t care less about the witches’ problems, giving her any number of clients to choose from. 
    When mysterious witch Jesse Hunt saunters into her office, he and his case will test her limits. While a killer stalks the magical underworld, Anna is hired to find Jesse’s friend, the high priest of an ancient coven. 
    As her case unravels, Anna is forced to confront her addiction to a dark spell in this urban fantasy noir.
    Show book
  • The Righteous Spy - A twisting international spy thriller - cover

    The Righteous Spy - A twisting...

    Merle Nygate

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Innocent lives are at risk... but who is the real enemy? Eli Amiran is Mossad's star spy runner and the man responsible for bringing unparalleled intelligence to the Israeli agency. Now, he's leading an audacious operation in the UK that feeds his ambition but threatens his conscience.
     
    The British and the Americans have intel Mossad desperately need. To force MI6 and the CIA into sharing their priceless information, Eli and his maverick colleague Rafi undertake a risky mission to trick their allies: faking a terrorist plot on British soil.
     
    But in the world of espionage, the game is treacherous, opaque and deadly…
     
    A twisting international spy thriller, A Righteous Spy is an intriguing tale of espionage that portrays a clandestine world in which moral transgressions serve higher causes. A must-read for fans of Homeland, Fauda and The Americans, it will also appeal to readers of Charles Cumming and John le Carré.
    Show book