Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Phyllis - cover

Phyllis

Howard Fast

Publisher: Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Two scientists—one American and one Russian—form a pact for nuclear disarmament that threatens to bring civilization to its kneesThe physicists met during a nuclear conference in London. Wanting to hurry America and the Soviet Union into nuclear non-proliferation, they each construct a crude atomic bomb, hiding one in New York and one in Moscow, and then they disappear. The United States and the USSR have forty days to renounce nuclear weapons, or two world capitals will burn. The American government chooses police detective Thomas Clancy to save his city. As a cop with a background in physics, he enters the faculty of Knickerbocker University to investigate the American professor. Clancy’s hope is that Phyllis Goldmark, the vanished physicist’s former lover, may know some clue to his location. The clock is ticking as the fate of millions rests on the shoulders of Phyllis and Clancy. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Howard Fast including rare photos from the author’s estate.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Lightkeepers - A Novel - cover

    The Lightkeepers - A Novel

    Abby Geni

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Winner of the 2016 B&N Discover Great New Writers Award for Fiction
    
    In The Lightkeepers, we follow Miranda, a nature photographer who travels to the Farallon Islands, an exotic and dangerous archipelago off the coast of California, for a one-year residency capturing the landscape. Her only companions are the scientists studying there, odd and quirky refugees from the mainland living in rustic conditions; they document the fish populations around the island, the bold trio of sharks called the Sisters that hunt the surrounding waters, and the overwhelming bird population who, at times, create the need to wear hard hats as protection from their attacks.Shortly after her arrival, Miranda is assaulted by one of the inhabitants of the islands. A few days later, her assailant is found dead, perhaps the result of an accident. As the novel unfolds, Miranda gives witness to the natural wonders of this special place as she grapples with what has happened to her and deepens her connection (and her suspicions) to her companions, while falling under the thrall of the legends of the place nicknamed “the Islands of the Dead.” And when more violence occurs, each member of this strange community falls under suspicion.The Lightkeepers upends the traditional structure of a mystery novel —an isolated environment, a limited group of characters who might not be trustworthy, a death that may or may not have been accidental, a balance of discovery and action —while also exploring wider themes of the natural world, the power of loss, and the nature of recovery. It is a luminous debut novel from a talented and provocative new writer.
    Show book
  • Murder In Mayfair - A Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery - cover

    Murder In Mayfair - A Juliette...

    Marilyn Clay

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    MURDER IN MAYFAIR, A Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery, Book 2 by Marilyn Clay takes place in London. 
    Fresh from her terrifying fortnight at Morland Manor, eight-and-ten-year-old Miss Juliette Abbott and her friend Miss Cathleen Haworth are cataloguing Lady Carstairs' priceless artifacts in preparation to sell. But before they even approach the curiosity dealer, the handsome gentleman turns up dead! 
    With only two likely suspects and no funds to hire a Bow Street detective to investigate the crime, Juliette is left to unravel the mystery herself. Attempting to uncover who could have killed the kind gentleman, who made female hearts flutter and whom everyone declares was the most thoughtful man alive, keeps Juliette awake at night and on her toes each day. 
    Can Miss Abbott succeed without putting herself in jeopardy, or will the killer strike again before she sorts out the puzzle and brings the real killer to justice? 
    "Cleverly written with enough twists and turns to keep readers guessing! The final twist surprised even me, a voracious reader of British cozy mysteries..." Elizabeth Morrison 
    “I LOVED it! Author Marilyn Clay has penned a refreshing read from a different perspective, not the same old, same old. Marilyn Clay’s Regency-set mysteries breathe new life into the genre! Well done!!!  -A. Hall. 
    "You won't be able to put this one down!" -Hailey Stanhope 
    Look for MURDER AT MORLAND MANOR, Book 1 in the Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery Series, Book 2, MURDER IN MAYFAIR and Book 3, MURDER IN MARGATE. Coming soon Book 4, MURDER AT MEDLEY PARK. 
    Best-selling author MARILYN CLAY has written many Regency romances, all originally published in print and now as ebooks. The Wrong Miss Fairfax, Felicity’s Folly, Bewitching Lord Winterton, Miss Darby's Debut, Hyde Park Spectacle, Miss Eliza’s Gentleman Caller, Brighton Beauty, A Pretty Puzzle, The Uppity Earl, and The Unsuitable Suitor. 
    NEW! THE WRONG MISS FAIRFAX by Marilyn Clay. Emma and her look-alike cousin Jemima are as different as chalk and cheese. Unfortunately, when Lord Townsend comes to call, he loses his heart to the wrong Miss Fairfax! 
    MARILYN CLAY’s historical romantic suspense novels set in the New World in the 1600s include: DECEPTIONS: A Colonial Jamestown Novel, originally released in hardcover. Catherine travels to the New World in search of her betrothed, but what she finds in Jamestown is not at all what she expects! 
    SECRETS AND LIES also published in hardcover and recently re-released in paperback and ebook as A PETTICOAT AND LAMBSKIN GLOVES features some of the same characters who appear in DECEPTIONS. The inspirational story of four young English girls who travel to the New World on a Bride Ship, all in search of love, a new life and the adventure of a lifetime. What they find instead is that someone in Jamestown wants one, or all of them, dead! 
    BETSY ROSS: ACCIDENTAL SPY Set in 1776 Philadelphia, Betsy Ross determines to uncover who killed her beloved husband John Ross, but can she bring down the ruthless double spy before he kills her, or her sisters? 
    STALKING A KILLER, a contemporary murder mystery by Marilyn Clay. Aspiring PI Amanda Mason's first case to solve is a murder charge against her own father! But, can she trust the handsome man who has agreed to help her? 
    All of Marilyn Clay’s non-fiction titles, and many of her Regencies have become online best sellers. 
    For more information visit the Marilyn Clay Author website.
    Show book
  • 999 - New Stories Of Horror And Suspense - cover

    999 - New Stories Of Horror And...

    Al Sarrantonio

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    A ward-winning writer and editor Al Sarrantonio gathers together twenty-nine original stories from masters of the macabre. From dark fantasy and pure suspense to classic horror tales of vampires and zombies, 999 showcases the extraordinary scope of fantastical fright fiction. The stories in this anthology are a relentless tour de force of fear, which will haunt you, terrify you, and keep the adrenaline rushing all through the night.
    Show book
  • A Child's Garden of Death - cover

    A Child's Garden of Death

    Richard Forrest

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A children’s book author and his wife investigate an impossible murder that’s over thirty years old in this intelligent, absorbing small-town thriller. Murphysville hasn’t seen a triple homicide since the Indian raids. But when an anonymous tip sends police investigators digging in a remote field, they find three rotting skeletons. One of them is missing an arm and another is that of a child who died with a doll clutched to her chest, the only clue to the grisly murders. Clearly, life in  Lyon Wentworth’s cozy Connecticut suburb is far darker than it once seemed.   A children’s book author and hot-air balloonist, Lyon has a personal stake in this unsolved crime: He lost a little girl long ago. With the help of his wife, Bea, a no-nonsense state senator who’s losing her hearing but not her quick wit, Lyon pursues the investigation even after the police pronounce the cold case impossible to solve. Lyon and Bea will find justice for the girl who died in the ditch—or they’ll die trying.   Richard Forrest’s thrillers are uniquely realistic, showing ordinary people grappling with horrible crimes. This gripping page-turner introduced the world to Lyon and Bea Wentworth, a husband-and-wife sleuthing team in the tradition of Dashiell Hammett’s Nick and Nora Charles.   A Child’s Garden of Death is the 1st book in the Lyon and Bea Wentworth Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
    Show book
  • The Relic - cover

    The Relic

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When Yuri Varienski, a Ukranian emigré, dies in Jersey, he leaves his daughter Lucy an object—and a great responsibility. Lucy must take the gold filigree cross she is bequeathed to Geneva, and deliver it into the hands of exiled former dissident leader, Volkov. Lucy innocently accepts her father’s charge. But Volkov, broken by imprisonment, is not the man he used to be. And there are other people who wish to possess the cross too. For the object Lucy carries is the legendary relic, St. Vladimir’s Cross, and it has the power to unite or divide the volatile Soviet Union.   Lucy soon realizes that she will have to make sacrifices—of her home, her heart, and maybe even her life—if she is going to fulfill her father’s last wish.
    Show book
  • The Doll's House - cover

    The Doll's House

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A female Intelligence agent is dispatched to spy on a group of retired spooks engaging in international terrorism in this post–Cold War thriller   After three decades serving king and country, fifty-one-year-old Harry Oakham is put out to pasture with a miserly pension. But the former civil servant has his own ideas for his so-called retirement. He settles into a luxury hotel in the English countryside and rounds up a disgruntled crew of the world’s most brilliant ex-spooks, including a German expert in counter-espionage and interrogation, a KGB tactician, a former Mossad terrorist, and a lethal blond killer. Hiring themselves out to the highest bidder, their first job is the assassination of a Saudi prince.   Meanwhile, still smarting from a recent divorce, undercover diplomat-turned-agent Rosa Bennet has been dispatched to the Doll’s House to spy on Oakham and make sure the retired agent is adapting to civilian life. The last thing the Intelligence agent expects is to fall in love with her target. And when Oakham’s recruits get wind of his affair with Rosa—and her true identity—they will devise a plan to eliminate the traitor in their midst.
    Show book