Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Citizen Tom Paine - cover

Citizen Tom Paine

Howard Fast

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Howard Fast’s bestselling historical novel about a man who was a voice of the people and a prophet of democracyThomas Paine’s voice rang in the ears of eighteenth-century revolutionaries from America to France to England. He was friend to luminaries such as Thomas Jefferson, Ben Franklin, and William Wordsworth. His pamphlets extolling democracy sold in the millions. Yet he died a forgotten man, isolated by his rough manners, idealistic zeal, and unwillingness to compromise. Howard Fast’s brilliant portrait brings Paine to the fore as a legend of American history, and provides readers with a gripping narrative of modern democracy’s earliest days in America and Europe. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Howard Fast including rare photos from the author’s estate.

Other books that might interest you

  • Morning Noon & Night - cover

    Morning Noon & Night

    Sidney Sheldon

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    A beautiful woman attends a family gathering following the mysterious death of Harry Stanford, claiming to be his long-lost child and stating her rights to a share of the tycoon's estate, in a hypnotic, roller-coaster novel.
    Show book
  • The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe and Savage Thriller - cover

    The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe...

    James Hayman

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller! 
    Two identical women.  
    Two identical murders. Two lives brutally cut short  
    108 years apart 
    June 1904. 
    Aimée Garnier Whitby, a beautiful French artist and wife of one of Maine's richest and most powerful men, is found near death on the Whitby family's private summer island, the letter "A" mysteriously carved into her chest. 
    June 2012. 
    Veronica Aimée Whitby, the eighteen-year-old descendant and virtual double of the first Aimée, becomes the victim of a near perfect copycat murder. With another beautiful, promising young Whitby woman slain, the media begin to swarm and pressure builds for Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage to bring the killer quickly to justice. But the key to solving Aimée's death just might have been buried with her beautiful ancestor. 
    The latest McCabe and Savage thriller from USA Today bestselling author James Hayman is a crackling, twisty novel of suspense, perfect for fans of J.A. Jance and John Sandford.
    Show book
  • Hit List - cover

    Hit List

    Nick Harlow

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
         It’s time to take America back. And only organized crime can do it. 
         When a gambler tries to pay a bookie with food stamps, the Mafia realizes the liberal entitlement society has gone too far. 
         With half the country on some sort of government assistance, disposable income is disappearing. And without disposable income, the Mob will soon be out of business. 
         Enough. 
         Three New Jersey Mafia families decide to band together to take control of the country. To do so they must get 12 liberals who are destroying the country with a progressive agenda “out of the way.” A “hit list” that will lead to the ultimate target, the socialist President. 
         But this is the new Mob, using brains and technology instead of bullets. And they have a not-so-secret weapon: a United States Senator who happens to be a blood relative. 
         And blood is thicker than politics.
    Show book
  • Murder in a Minute - cover

    Murder in a Minute

    Shouvik Bhattacharya

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    When a young woman is found lifeless in a pool of her own blood, everyone is convinced that it is her college sweetheart who murdered her. The victim's step-brothers, Rishabh and Arya,embark on a journey to unearth the truth, a journey riddled with fallacies and conspiracies, planted intentionally. What connection is there between a missing blue envelope, a misplaced sweater and stray footprints in a room. Could those people they thought they knew so well be hiding dark secrets about their past? Or did their dead sister have more to hide than they imagined?
    Show book
  • The Sands of Time - cover

    The Sands of Time

    Sidney Sheldon

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    Four women leave their Spanish convent and enter an alien world of uncertainty, romance, and suspense.
    Show book
  • Nothing Lasts Forever - cover

    Nothing Lasts Forever

    Sidney Sheldon

    • 0
    • 16
    • 0
    Racing from the life-and-death decisions of a big San Francisco hospital to the tension-packed fireworks of a murder trial, this story lays bare the ambitions and fears of healers and killers, lovers and betrayers. As the book surges toward its unpredictable climax, Sidney Sheldon proves once again that no reader can outguess the master of the unexpected.
    Show book