Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Listen online to the first chapters of this audiobook!
All characters reduced
Pieces of Blue - A Novel - cover
PLAY SAMPLE

Pieces of Blue - A Novel

Holly Goldberg Sloan

Narrator Barrie Kreinik

Publisher: Macmillan Audio

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

"Barrie Kreinik takes listeners to the paradise of Hawaii, where the setting is the only thing that appears to be tropical...The suspenseful twists will pique the listener's interest to the end."- AudioFileFrom New York Times bestselling author Holly Goldberg Sloan, a compelling and heartfelt novel for fans of Maria Semple and Emma Straub about a family trying to restore a ramshackle beachside motel—and their own livesWhat good was thinking the future only held cloudy skies? Wasn’t the reality that pieces of blue were always there, waiting to break through?When Paul Hill drowns in a surfing accident, his broken-hearted wife, Lindsey, and their three children are left in huge financial trouble. Once Paul’s life insurance finally comes through, Lindsey impulsively uses the money to buy a charmingly ramshackle motel in Hawai’i, hoping for a fresh start. Teenage Olivia quickly develops a crush on a handsome but monosyllabic skateboarder. Twelve-year-old Carlos reinvents himself as a popular kid named Carl. And Sena, the youngest, will do whatever it takes to protect her beloved motel chickens.But while the kids adjust, Lindsey is flailing, trying to pretend she knows how to bring a motel—and herself—back to life. Then a handsome stranger rolls into the motel parking lot, and she’s surprised to feel a long-dormant part of herself stirring. She accepts his offer to help, unaware that he may have secrets of his own. And all the while, out in the Pacific, the trade winds are fiercely blowing.Funny and tender, full of twists and turns and heart, Pieces of Blue is a portrait of an irresistible family learning to start over.A Macmillan Audio production from Flatiron Books.
Duration: about 8 hours (08:03:30)
Publishing date: 2023-05-09; Unabridged; Copyright Year: — Copyright Statment: —