Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Bulldog Drummond - A Captivating Adventure in Post-World War I England - cover

Bulldog Drummond - A Captivating Adventure in Post-World War I England

Herman Cyril McNeile

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Bulldog Drummond, penned by Herman Cyril McNeile, is a riveting novel that belongs to the subgenre of 'spy fiction' that was popular in the early 20th century. The book follows the protagonist, Captain Hugh 'Bulldog' Drummond, a former British Army officer turned detective, as he sets out on a thrilling adventure to thwart a sinister plot. McNeile's writing style is characterized by its fast-paced action, witty dialogue, and meticulous attention to detail, making Bulldog Drummond a captivating read for fans of the genre. Set against the backdrop of post-World War I England, the novel provides a fascinating glimpse into the anxieties and aspirations of the time. Herman Cyril McNeile, a military man himself, drew upon his experiences in the army to create the character of Bulldog Drummond, infusing the narrative with a sense of authenticity and realism. His background lends a unique perspective to the story, adding depth and complexity to the protagonist's actions and motivations. I highly recommend Bulldog Drummond to readers who enjoy classic spy fiction and thrilling mysteries. McNeile's expert storytelling and vivid characters will keep you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.
Available since: 12/08/2020.
Print length: 198 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Color of Justice - cover

    The Color of Justice

    Ace Collins

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    1964: Justice, Mississippi, is a town divided. When attorney Coop Lindsay agrees to defend a black man accused of murdering a white teenager, the bribes and death threats don't intimidate him. As he prepares for the case of a lifetime, the young lawyer knows that innocent or guilty, he will no longer welcome in Justice. 2014: To some, the result of the trial still feels like a fresh wound even fifty years later, when Coop's grandson arrives in Justice seeking answers to the questions unresolved by the trial that changed his family's legacy. When a new case is presented, again pitting white against black, this third generation Lindsay may have the opportunity he needs to right the wrongs of the past.
    Show book
  • Secrets To Die For - cover

    Secrets To Die For

    L.J. Sellers

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Social worker Raina Hughes visits the home of a young boy she’s been assigned to monitor and things quickly turn ugly. Later, when she’s found brutally murdered, Detective Jackson thinks it’s an open-and-shut case against the boy’s ex-con father. Then new evidence points to a rapist who’s becoming more violent with each attack. Raina’s lover, Jamie, knows what the victims have in common, but won’t tell for fear of revealing her own secrets. When Jamie disappears, Jackson must uncover the truth before anyone else dies.
    Show book
  • Biological Storm A: A Dora Ellison Mystery Book 4 - cover

    Biological Storm A: A Dora...

    David E. Feldman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Dark Murder Mystery Lovers!A woman is murdered, her body torn apart with a high-powered automatic rifle. A second murder is committed, and Dora learns that both victims are transgender.Who would commit such brutal murders and why?Can Dora and Missy survive long enough to stop the killer before more innocent people die or they themselves are killed?From 2022 Killer Nashville Claymore Best Mystery Finalist comes A Biological Storm, Dora Ellison Mystery Book 4Book 4 of the Dora Ellison Mystery Series is a murder mystery featuring a woman sleuth who is no ordinary private investigator. Dora’s brand of vigilante justice takes the listener on a suspense-filled journey that rivals those of Lee Child, John Sandford and Harlan Coben.
    Show book
  • Cash McCall - A Novel - cover

    Cash McCall - A Novel

    Cameron Hawley

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A financial adventurer becomes a hero to some, a villain to many, and a lover to one as he buys and sells companies in a thrilling game of wits and cunning in this New York Times bestseller from the author of Executive Suite   Cash McCall is a believer in free enterprise, a man not yet forty who buys, sells, and merges companies to make huge profits in a postwar nation of conformist “company men.” McCall is an enigma who operates out of an expensive tenth-floor suite in a Philadelphia hotel that he may or may not own. He’s single, conducts secret business meetings, and is both envied and hated. No one knows where he came from.   Grant Austen spent three decades building his plastics company. Now, as he seeks counsel from his banker and lawyer about selling out, he unwittingly triggers a whirlwind of corporate and financial maneuvering he doesn’t fully understand. And his daughter, Lory, commits the cardinal sin of falling in love with Cash McCall, the man who’s about to buy her father’s company out from under him.   But who is Cash McCall? A ruthless operator or a rugged individualist? Reminiscent of Ayn Rand’s The Fountainhead, this is a novel about love, the free enterprise system, and one man’s refusal to be anyone but himself.
    Show book
  • Secret Santa - Cherringham - A Cosy Crime Series: Mystery Shorts 25 (Unabridged) - cover

    Secret Santa - Cherringham - A...

    Matthew Costello, Neil Richards

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Bill Vokes has played Santa at the children's Christmas show for years. But with the show just hours away, he vanishes with no explanation. The whole village is baffled. Did something bad happen to loveable Bill: upstanding citizen, churchgoer, life and soul of the party and the holiday season? Jack and Sarah are on the case - and soon discover there are secrets about this Santa that no one could have imagined ...Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new audio episode released every two weeks. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick listen for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa.For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury.Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90's, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few. Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham.The narrator of the audiobook, Neil Dudgeon, has been in many British television programmes including the roles of 'DCI John Barnaby' in 'Midsomer Murders' and 'Jim Riley' in 'The Life of Riley'. He is also known for his film roles in 'The Nativity', 'Sorted' and 'Son of Rambow'. In 2012 Dudgeon starred as 'Norman Birkett' on BBC Radio 4's Afternoon Play series written by Caroline and David Stafford.
    Show book
  • Subterrestrial - cover

    Subterrestrial

    Michael McBride

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An accident during the construction of a tunnel beneath the Bering Strait leads to the discovery of a network of caverns and evidence that hints at the survival of a primitive human species. Led by DARPA technologist Reinhard Thyssen, a team of experts from around the globe is dispatched into the subterranean maze to discover all they can before the caves completely flood.Something lurks in the darkness, though . . . a creature that has evolved into a predator unlike any the world has ever known, and it's up to the scientists to make sure that it never reaches the surface. If they can survive that long.
    Show book