Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Little Rivers - A Book of Essays in Profitable Idleness - cover

Little Rivers - A Book of Essays in Profitable Idleness

Henry van Dyke

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

"Little Rivers" by Henry Van Dyke. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone in a high-quality digital format.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Daly Dish - 100 masso slimming meals for every day - cover

    The Daly Dish - 100 masso...

    Gina Daly, Karol Daly

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Gina and Karol Daly have always been larger than life, there just isn’t as much of them anymore. Together they’ve lost over nine stone, and they’ve done it by eating food that looks like it could have come straight from the local takeaway. 
    The Daly Dish  is the first collection of recipes that have made the couple an Instagram sensation. From sections including Dishy Dinners, Ask Me Airfryer, Savage Snacks and Saucy Sauces, this book is for anyone who wants to eat the food they love and slim at the same time.
    Show book
  • On the Ghost Trail: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    On the Ghost Trail: A Bloomsbury...

    Chris Powling

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A spooky comedy from Chris Powling with hilarious illustrations by Loretta Schauer. Perfect for fans of Amelia Fang and Knitbone Pepper. 
     
    A ghost has been haunting Ben's grandpa's house with cobweb trails and the TAP-TAP-TAP of its heartbeat. So when the clock strikes twelve, Ben's brother dares him to go on a hunt for the ghost in the church graveyard. Will he be brave enough?  
     
    This quirky story from Chris Powling has engaging black-and-white illustrations by Loretta Schauer and is perfect for children who are developing as readers.  
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Brown 
    Ideal for ages 7+
    Show book
  • What We Are Fighting For - A Radical Collective Manifesto - cover

    What We Are Fighting For - A...

    Federico Campagna, Emanuele...

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    *Shortlisted for the Bread and Roses Prize, 2013* 
    
    From the pens of major figures of the anti-austerity movement, comes the first radical, collective manifesto of the new decade. 
    
    From participatory democracy to media reform, from direct action to communal living, What Are We Fighting For is a bold look at alternatives to the economic, social and political travesty of contemporary capitalism. Chapters from Owen Jones, David Graeber, John Holloway, Nina Power, Mark Fisher, Franco Berardi Bifo and Marina Sitrin show a multifaceted but collective desire for a better world. 
    
    Anarchists, communists, feminists and autonomists come together to inspire us to think beyond neoliberalism.
    Show book
  • Maths Adventure Stories: The Mystery of the Division Dragon - Solve the Puzzles Save the World! - cover

    Maths Adventure Stories: The...

    William Potter

    • 1
    • 2
    • 1
    Anna Kadabra is a mathmagical detective. When a mysterious, number-themed robbery takes place, she decides to take the case! Join Anna and her sphinx-kitten Cleo, in this action-packed adventure story-which will put your number skills to the test.As she hunts for clues, Anna will have to look out for the Division Dragon's tricks and traps. Help her to crack number codes, navigate maths maps, and solve perplexing pattern puzzles!Thanks to this enchanting book, you'll soon be a wizard at maths, just like Anna!
    Show book
  • Economyths - How the Science of Complex Systems is Transforming Economic Thought - cover

    Economyths - How the Science of...

    David Orrell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the inability of wealth to make us happier, to our catastrophic blindness to the credit crunch, "Economyths" reveals ten ways in which economics has failed us all. Forecasters predicted a prosperous year in 2008 for financial markets - in one influential survey the average prediction was for an eleven per cent gain. But by the end of the year, the Standard and Poor's 500 index - a key economic barometer - was down 38 per cent, and major economies were plunging into recession. Even the Queen asked - Why did no one see it coming? An even bigger casualty was the credibility of economics, which for decades has claimed that the economy is a rational, stable, efficient machine, governed by well-understood laws. Mathematician David Orrell traces the history of this idea from its roots in ancient Greece to the financial centres of London and New York, shows how it is mistaken, and proposes new alternatives. "Economyths" explains how the economy is the result of complex and unpredictable processes; how risk models go astray; why the economy is not rational or fair; why no woman (until 2009) had ever won the Nobel Prize for economics; why financial crashes are less Black Swans than part of the landscape; and, finally, how new ideas in mathematics, psychology, and environmentalism are helping to reinvent economics.
    Show book
  • Bridgerton Collection Volume 1: The First Three Books in the Bridgerton Series by Julia Quinn: Conversation Starters - cover

    Bridgerton Collection Volume 1:...

    Daily dailyBooks

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Bridgerton Collection Volume 1: The First Three Books in the Bridgerton Series by Julia Quinn: Conversation Starters
    
    The Bridgerton Collection Volume I is a collection of the first three books in the Bridgerton series written by American author Julia Quinn. These books are The Duke and I, The Viscount who Loved Me, and An Offer from a Gentleman. The books are historical romances set in England during the Regency period and follow the romantic and social exploits of the Bridgerton family, specifically Daphne, Anthony, and Benedict. 
    The Bridgerton Collection Volume I was published on the 26th of May 2020 by Avon Publications and has a rating of 4.29 on Goodreads and 4.7 on Amazon. Netflix has also recently introduced a show of the same name based on the Bridgerton books that have gained immense popularity.
    
    
    A Brief Look Inside: 
     
    EVERY GOOD BOOK CONTAINS A WORLD FAR DEEPER
    than the surface of its pages. The characters and their world come alive, 
    and the characters and its world still live on. 
    Conversation Starters is peppered with questions designed to
    bring us beneath the surface of the page
    and invite us into the world that lives on. 
     
    These questions can be used to create hours of conversation:
     
    • Foster a deeper understanding of the book
    • Promote an atmosphere of discussion for groups
    • Assist in the study of the book, either individually or corporately
    • Explore unseen realms of the book as never seen before
     
    Disclaimer: This book you are about to enjoy is an independent resource to supplement the original book, enhancing your experience. If you have not yet purchased a copy of the original book, please do before purchasing this unofficial Conversation Starters.
     
    Download your copy now on sale
    Read it on your PC, Mac, iOS or Android smartphone, tablet devices.
    Show book