Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Joseph Andrews (Diversion Illustrated Classics) - cover

Joseph Andrews (Diversion Illustrated Classics)

Henry James

Publisher: Diversion Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Featuring an appendix of discussion questions, the Diversion Classics edition is ideal for use in book groups and classrooms.  What began as a parody of Samuel Richardson's Pamela became one of Henry Fielding's greatest works, and one of the earliest English novels. Joseph, at the age of ten, becomes the apprentice of a man named Thomas Booby. But as he grows into a handsome young man, he begins to catch the eyes of Lady Booby, Sir Thomas's wife, and her servant, Mrs. Slipslop.  Shocked by their advances, chaste and innocent Joseph spurs their every attempt at seduction. Insulted by his continuous rejection, Lady Booby fires Joseph and turns him out into the streets.  Freed from his lecherous employer, his sets off on a journey to visit his beloved Fanny Goodwill. On the way, his old tutor, the pious Parson Adams, becomes his travel companion. The road to Fanny is paved with adventure, and poor Joseph can't seem to shake his various suitors. All he wants to do is live a quiet life devoted to his love, but will he be stopped at every turn?

Other books that might interest you

  • Instant Wit - How to Be Witty and Come Up with the Right Things to Say Instantly! - cover

    Instant Wit - How to Be Witty...

    INSTANT Series

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    How to Be Witty and Come Up with the Right Things to Say Instantly!
     
    Surely you've encountered (or even know) that one particular individual in your life who seems to be able to pull "something witty to say" at the drop of a hat that knocks everyone's socks off - by generating the perfect responses for the perfect moment, cracking unexpected jokes making people laugh, or bantering witty one-liner comments with their endless repertoire of repartees.
     
    So who is this Mr./Ms. Witty? You're scratching your head dumbfounded, yet in impressive awe...how in the world do they do it, and deep down secretly wanting to be like them.
     
    Who doesn't, right? Who wouldn't love to be admired, respected, and worshipped for their charming clever wit? Yet, it's much more than that. By being witty, you can always come up with the right things to say, at the right time in expressing yourself clearly, concisely, and convincingly at an instant with few short words (no more, no less) that establishes more authority, credibility, and trust.
     
    That's the power of having a razor-sharp wit! If the pen is mightier than the sword, then the wit is sharper than the knife. However, let's be honest, being witty doesn't always come naturally, especially for those who are less creative and more logical-prone. The good news is, your wit is like your muscle, and like any muscle, it can be trained and built up...all without needing to memorize any line by knowing a few structures and formulas to guide how to generate your responses.
     
    Within "Instant Wit":
     
    * How to use this "twister technique" to prepare yourself on what you should say, when the exact moment occurs for your quick comeback.
     
    * How to strengthen your creative wit to banter witty one-liners with another person, for good fun or quick laugh.
     
    * How to cut down any opponent with your razor-sharp wit, so they won't dare mess with you ever again.
     
    * How to take whatever response you get and absorb it, to think of and respond back with the appropriate words.
     
    * How to use your clever wit to think fast on your feet during tough situation, to handle it properly for the best outcome.
     
    * Plus, custom practical "how-to" strategies, techniques, applications and exercises to improve your wittiness.
     
    ...and much more.
     
    Don't be dim-witted...be quick-witted. Become the king/queen of your wit by developing a razor-sharp wit to be reckon with. Respect the wit!
    Show book
  • The Lucky Dress - The perfect feel-good romance for 2020 - cover

    The Lucky Dress - The perfect...

    Aimee Brown

    • 1
    • 23
    • 0
    We all have our lucky dress... an irresistibly hilarious rom-com! 
     
    Emi Harrison hasn't been feeling particularly lucky lately. Ever since her ex-fiancée, Jack Cabot, successfully shattered her heart into a million pieces. She's managed to avoid him for a whole year, but all that's about to change at her brother Evan's wedding... 
     
    She will have to face Jack, Jack's sister, Jack's parents, and Jack's new girlfriend: a mean girl that just won't quit. What could possibly go wrong? 
     
    With her lucky dress on, all bets are off, and maybe Emi will find her happily-ever-after at last? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Anna Bell, Jo Watson and Sophie Kinsella. 
     
    Praise for The Lucky Dress: 
     
    'One of my favorite books this year, maybe even ever' Michelle Harris. 
     
    'I was sucked in from the start and pretty much devoured the book' Nikki Newcomb. 
     
    'Perfect beach reading book' Danielle Dobson. 
     
    'Funny, relatable story' Erin Butler. 
     
    'I enjoyed this frothy, funny rom-com and read it in one sitting. Perfect beach read!' Amanda Driver.
    Show book
  • No Room at the Little Cornish Inn - a sweet and uplifting Christmas romance - cover

    No Room at the Little Cornish...

    Nancy Barone

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    There's magic in the Cornish air this Christmas... 
     
    Rosie Anderson was hoping to whisk her young son Danny away for a lovely Christmas with family, far from the hustle and bustle of her life in London. But then her boss at the head office – aka Susan the Sacker – suddenly assigns her to go in incognito and save a tiny inn in Cornwall from being closed permanently. Rosie doesn't know why The Old Bell Inn is performing so badly but it's on her to sort it out!
     
    Hours in the car later, Rosie arrives at the inn to find she's been double booked – there are no rooms left. And she isn't there for more than a minute before she's butting heads with the manager, Irishman Mitchell Fitzpatrick. He seems to dislike her on sight, so it's confusing that he seems to get on so well with Danny... But if he's as terrible as his reputation, Rosie will have to be the one to fire him.
     
    This really isn't the Christmas Rosie was dreaming of. But maybe, just maybe, it could be a whole lot more...
     
    A sweet and uplifting Christmas romance, No Room at the Little Cornish Inn is perfect for fans of Philippa Ashley, Holly Martin and Jenny Hale. 
     
    Praise for Nancy Barone: 
     
    'I thoroughly enjoyed this utterly lovely story. Touching, heartwarming and a joy to read' Holly Martin on New Hope for the Little Cornish Farmhouse
     
    'Nothing like the magic of Cornwall!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
     
    'A sweet and delightful Christmas tale' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
     
    'All the makings of a classic hallmark Christmas movie!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
    Show book
  • Into the Woods - Tales from the Hollows and Beyond - cover

    Into the Woods - Tales from the...

    Kim Harrison

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    A true queen of urban fantasy—the New York Times bestselling author of the wildly popular series featuring bounty hunter witch-turned-daywalking demon Rachel Morgan—the phenomenal Kim Harrison explores the Hollows more deeply than ever before in Into the Woods, her first collection of short stories. 
    Rachel is here, as are Jenks the pixie, elven tycoon Trent Kalamack, and an unholy host of vampires, demons, shapeshifters, ghosts, and other assorted supernatural beings, friends and foes. 
    Into the Woods combines original work, including a new Hollows novella, as well as all of Kim Harrison’s previously published short fiction gathered together in one volume for the very first time. No true Hollows aficionado will want to pass this up—and readers of Laurell K. Hamilton, Kelley Armstrong, Patricia Briggs, and Jim Butcher; fans of Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight novels and of paranormal romance superstars Christine Feehan and Sherrilyn Kenyon, will be likewise enchanted.
    Show book
  • Love Me Like You Do - an emotional story of love and finding yourself - cover

    Love Me Like You Do - an...

    Aimee Brown

    • 4
    • 40
    • 1
    A runaway bride. A handsome stranger. Two pasts to put behind them. 
     
    Parker is ready to marry the man of her dreams. But he isn't ready to marry her. When she's dumped moments before walking down the aisle, she didn't expect to run into the arms of a handsome stranger. The southern drawl, the dreamy eyes, she can't fall for another man after being left at the altar – can she? 
     
    When Liam agreed to go on yet another blind date, he didn't expect his escape would lead him to the emergency room with a runaway bride. She might have just been left at the altar, but he's immediately drawn to her fiery spirit, kind heart and beautiful smile. Liam's got a whole host of problems and a past that's haunting him, now can't be the time to fall in love, but Parker might just be the one to break down his barriers and let him live a little – if she'll let him in. 
     
    Will these two strangers allow serendipity to force them together, or will their fears keep them apart? 
     
    From the bestselling author of The Lucky Dress comes a story about love, finding yourself and living your dreams.
    Show book
  • Hood: A Post-Apocalyptic Novel - American Rebirth #1 - cover

    Hood: A Post-Apocalyptic Novel -...

    Evan Pickering

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    My name is Rob Huntington. If this new world has shown me anything, it's that once things are taken from you, they are never coming back. 
     
    Good thing I never was a fast learner. 
     
    Rob "Hood" Huntington never wanted this life. When civilization collapses, he quickly realizes he's a naturally gifted marksman. But he hates violence. When his family is ripped from him amidst a war between two wasteland kings, how long can he hold onto his ideals?  
     
    And how far is he willing to go to to save the ones he loves? 
     
    A Legend Is Reborn in the American Apocalypse. 
    Over 2,000,000 pages read in the first year of publication! 
     
    "This post apocalyptic tale is one of those rare reads where writing skill, imagination and just plain grit combine to make a story worth reading." -Zev Paiss 
     
     
    The American Rebirth Series 
    #1 Hood  
    #2 Legends  
    #3 American Rebirth (to be released WINTER 2017/18) 
     
    If you enjoyed I Am Legend, The Road, The Walking Dead, or The Last of Us, you won't want to miss HOOD!
    Show book