Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Excursions - cover

Excursions

Henry David Thoreau

Publisher: The Big Nest

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

An anthology of several essays by American transcendentalist Henry David Thoreau. The book includes an introduction entitled 'Biographical Sketch' in which fellow transcendentalist Ralph Waldo Emerson provides a description of Thoreau and nine of nine of Thoreau's essays: Natural History of Massachusetts, A Walk to Wachusett, The Landlord, A Winter Walk, The Succession of Forest Trees, Walking, Autumnal Tints, Wild Apples, and Night and Moonlight.

Other books that might interest you

  • Lost Powers - Reclaiming Our Inner Connection - cover

    Lost Powers - Reclaiming Our...

    J. Douglas Kenyon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Have we lost our way? Lost our psychic “sense of smell”? The conventional notion of the human psyche is that it is a product of our mass culture, and we are conditioned to see and understand only the stimulus that is provided to it. However, there is a deeper process at work, something coming from our innate ability to discern greater truth. Tapping into this subconscious truth-detector is key in determining whether we buy into the premises of the many mainstream “truths” presented to us in popular culture and popular science.In the quest to reestablish that universal connection, editor J. Douglas Kenyon has culled from the pages of Atlantis Rising® magazine this collection of 34 concise and well-illustrated articles by world-class philosophers and theoreticians who offer thought-provoking insights from the lost secrets of ancient and primordial wisdom.Featuring:Secrets of the Alchemists, by Joseph Robert JochmansThe Psi in CSI, by Barbara JasonCan We See into the Future?, by Robert M. SchochPsychokinesis, by Robert M. SchochThe Superhero Factor, by Len KastenDeathbed Visitations, by Michael TymnWar and Reincarnation, by John ChambersTime Travel Evidence, by Joseph Robert JochmansThe Case for Immortality, by Patrick Marsolek
    Show book
  • Path to Mandala or Eternal Pilgrimage - 22 levels on pilgrim’s spiritual path - cover

    Path to Mandala or Eternal...

    Asanga Angya

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    POETIC DISCOURSE ON THE CRUCIAL KEYS OF MAN'S SPIRITUALITY
     
    The essence of this poem is marked by the wisdom of nature, the truth of all religious teachings, and the core of quintessential philosophical questions about indivisible identity of nature, man and Creator.
     
    This book is a poetic discourse on the crucial keys of man's spirituality, about the inevitability of searching in the spirit, as a pilgrimage that perpetually transform into the Path to Oneself.
     
     
     
    A note about the author
     
    Asanga Angya (b. 1967) philosopher, religiologist and writer, was raised and educated in Europe, where he graduated in Philosophy and Religious Studies. Since 1990 he has published numerous essays, poems and a few novels in the field of philosophy and spirituality, psychology and art.
     
    About three decades he has explored traditional Eastern and Western ways of self-knowledge as well as the practice of Vedanta and Zen meditation in comparison with the modern teachings of Jungian psychology.
    Show book
  • Revolution from Within - A Book of Self-Esteem - cover

    Revolution from Within - A Book...

    Gloria Steinem

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “Without self-esteem, the only change is an exchange of masters; with it, there is no need for masters.” —Gloria Steinem  When trying to find books to give to “the countless brave and smart women I met who didn’t think of themselves as either brave or smart,” Gloria Steinem realized that books either supposed that external political change would cure everything or that internal change would. None linked internal and external change together in a seamless circle of cause and effect, effect and cause. She undertook to write such a book, and ended up transforming herself as well as others. The result of her external plus internal reflection is this bestselling and truly transforming book: part collection of personal stories from her own life and the lives of many others, part revolutionary guide to finding community and inspiration. Steinem finds role models in a very young and uncertain Gandhi as well as unlikely heroes from the streets to history. Revolution from Within addresses the core issues of self-authority and unjust external authority, and argues that the first is necessary to transform the second.
    Show book
  • The Black Cabinet - The Untold Story of African Americans and Politics During the Age of Roosevelt - cover

    The Black Cabinet - The Untold...

    Jill Watts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Watts’s The Black Cabinet is the first of its kind full-scale in-depth examination of Roosevelt’s Black Cabinet.The Black Cabinet traces an arc directly from Reconstruction to the Black Cabinet assembled for Theodore Roosevelt and subsequently disbanded by Taft and Wilson, past the New Deal era to the March on Washington and the Civil Rights Movement. It is a missing link in a continuous African American fight to be treated as equal citizensRoosevelt’s Black Cabinet was a diverse group made up of social scientists, legal minds, educators, politicos, and journalists who sought to get the black community’s needs on the table during the New Deal, a time when Black Americans were in even direr economic straits than whites.Because the Democratic Party of the day was so dependent on Southern white votes, Roosevelt never publicly acknowledged the Black Cabinet and only met personally with a tiny number of its members. Besides a red-baiting Senator, its name was never spoken aloud except in the black press, which has been underexploited as a source by historians. As a result Mary McLeod Bethune, a celebrity in her day, is the only one of these figures who has made it into the mainstream historical record; Watts has uncovered a rich story here.From assimilation and accommodation vs protest, #OwnVoices leadership vs working with white leadership, and down to the very basic question of whom the federal government is supposed to serve and protect, and what the unique history of and resulting challenges facing African Americans entitles them to, The Black Cabinet demonstrates that events that happened 75+ years ago share themes ripped from today’s headlines.Watts’s narrative synthesizes the story of the Black Cabinet, which at one time numbered over a hundred, into a character-driven story focusing in on five key figures, tracing them from their infancy in politics to their ascent into key powerful positions.For fans of The Warmth of Other Suns, The New Jim Crow, and The New Negro.
    Show book
  • Love Gone Wrong - Living Happily Ever After as Survivors of Abuse - cover

    Love Gone Wrong - Living Happily...

    Lynn Johnson, Jillian Adams,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Market size:  1 in 3 women and 1 in 5 men have been sexually abused, and 1 in 5 women will be a victim of domestic violence
    Moves beyond the “Me Too” Movement to encourage next steps of healing
    Disarms the shame felt by victims as they realize their experience is stereotypical and they are not alone
    Inspires courage as victims hear stories of others who have navigated a hopeless situation and overcome
    Elevates community as an important avenue of transformation.  Each woman sought help as a result of witnessing their friend’s recovery.
    Backed by clinical insights from a professional psychologist which validate and support the content
    Show book
  • Reprogram Your Weight - Stop Thinking about Food All the Time Regain Control of Your Eating and Lose the Weight Once and for All - cover

    Reprogram Your Weight - Stop...

    Erika Flint

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Are you struggling with your weight – tired of thinking about food all the time, and feel like you’re eating is out of control? In Reprogram Your Weight, award-winning hypnotist Erika Flint combines insightful and leading edge hypnosis techniques with client success stories of weight loss to help many lose the weight once and for all. She understands many people don’t know what to do to lose weight and often have a hard time consistently following through. Some people feel like there’s something deeper going on inside that’s keeping them from achieving their weight loss goal—Flint shows them how to bring these issues to the surface and combat them in a healthy, mindful manner. Within these pages lies the roadmap to a healthier, happier you!
    Show book