Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Story of My Life: with Her Letters (1887-1901) and a Supplementary Account - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

The Story of My Life: with Her Letters (1887-1901) and a Supplementary Account

Helen Keller

Publisher: Digireads.com Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

American author, political activist, and lecturer, Helen Keller was the first deaf-blind person to earn a Bachelor of Arts degree. Born in 1880 she fell ill at an early age with an illness, possibly scarlet fever or meningitis, which did not last very long yet unfortunately left her both deaf and blind. When Helen was six years old her mother, having been inspired by an account in Charles Dickens’s “American Notes” of the successful education of another deaf and blind woman, sought the assistance of the “Perkins Institute for the Blind” for help in getting Helen to deal with her handicap and receive an education. The Institute asked former student Anne Sullivan, herself visually impaired, to become Keller’s instructor. Dramatically depicted in numerous award-winning productions of both screen and stage, “The Story of My Life” is Helen Keller’s autobiography, the tale of a young woman’s struggle to deal with and overcome a great physical handicap. This edition includes a selection of Helen’s letters and a supplementary account of her education, including passages from the reports and letters of her teacher, Anne Sullivan, by John Albert Macy.

Other books that might interest you

  • Brady vs Manning - The Untold Story of the Rivalry that Transformed the NFL - cover

    Brady vs Manning - The Untold...

    Gary Myers

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Tom Brady and Peyton Manning are perhaps the two greatest quarterbacks of all time. They are living legends who have come to embody the quarterback position and shape an entire generation of the NFL. They have also been fierce rivals every step of the way, and their many epic duels have not only ranked among the best and most exciting games ever played; they have fundamentally shaped the lives of and careers of both men.But until now, there has never been a definitive account of this rivalry-one that tells the real story.What do Tom and Peyton actually think of each other? What do their coaches think of them? What about teammates and opposing players? What are they like behind closed doors and in the locker room? How did their vastly different upbringings shape them, and how has each handled the injuries, setbacks, and defeats they've dealt with over their careers?In this extraordinary book, veteran NFL correspondent Gary Myers tackles this subject from every angle and with unprecedented access and insight, drawing on a huge number of never-before-heard interviews with Brady and Manning, their coaches, their families, and those who have played with them and against them.
    Show book
  • Jimi Hendrix: Messenger of Love - cover

    Jimi Hendrix: Messenger of Love

    Geoffrey Giuliano

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In this dynamic, hard-hitting audiobook, music biographer Geoffrey Giuliano examines the turbulent life and times of Jimi Hendrix. With an in-depth, insightful narration by the author, as well as rare archival, unheard interviews - here is the perfect collection celebrating the icon of rock for every dedicated fan, music historian, the media, as well as all school, library, institutional, and university collections. An ultra-rare, exciting audio biography!  Geoffrey Giuliano is the author of 32 biographies on the Beatles and other iconic rock groups of the 1960s. He is also a screenwriter, the voice on more than 500 popular audiobooks, and an actor in 25 films.   Series producer Avalon Giuliano based in New York. Produced by Alex Franchi in Milan. Edited and mixed by Macc Kay in Bangkok. ICON intern Eden Garret Giuliano. Music by AudioNautix.
    Show book
  • The Zeal of the Convert - The Life of Erskine Childers - cover

    The Zeal of the Convert - The...

    Burke Wilkinson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Erskine Childers, one of the unsung heroes of Ireland’s struggle for independence, was born in England, spent his boyhood in Ireland, then went to Cambridge University. He fought for England in the Boer War and as an aviator in World War I, publishing his widely praised novel The Riddle of the Sands in 1903. He became involved in Irish politics in 1908 as an advocate of home rule, smuggled guns to Irish liberationists, and in 1919 joined Sinn Fein, the extreme wing of the freedom fighters. His martyrdom is stirringly related by Wilkinson.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Curveball - My Story of Overcoming Ego Finding My Purpose and Achieving True Success - cover

    Curveball - My Story of...

    Barry Zito, Robert Noland

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In 2007, pitcher Barry Zito signed a seven-year, $126 million contract with the San Francisco Giants. At that time, it was the largest contract ever given to a pitcher. He was at the top of his game, in peak physical condition, and had the kind of financial security most people can only dream of.He was also miserable. And it began to show. Zito's career declined over the next few years until he hit rock bottom — watching from the bench as his team won the World Series in 2010.In the months that followed, Zito came face-to-face with the destructiveness of his own ego — his need to be viewed as the best. He also came face-to-face with God and with the truth that he was loved no matter what he achieved.In Curveball, Zito shares his story with honesty and transparency. The ups and the downs. The wins and losses. By sharing his experiences as a man who had everything except happiness, Zito offers listeners a path through adversity and toward a life defined by true success.
    Show book
  • The Ragged Edge - A US Marine's Account of Leading the Iraqi Army Fifth Battalion - cover

    The Ragged Edge - A US Marine's...

    Michael Zacchea, Ted Kemp

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    At a time when the United States debates how deeply to involve itself in Iraq and Syria, Lieutenant Colonel Michael Zacchea, USMC (Ret.), holds a unique vantage point on our still-ongoing war. Deployed to Iraq in March 2004, his team's mission was to build, train, and lead in combat the first Iraqi army battalion trained by the US military. Zacchea tells a deeply personal and powerful story while shedding light on the dangerous pitfalls of training foreign troops to fight murderous insurgents. The Ragged Edge is the first American military memoir out of Iraq or Syria that features complex Arab and Kurdish characters and that intimately explores their culture and politics in a dispassionate way. Zacchea's invaluable lessons about Americans working with Arabs and Kurds to fight insurgency and terrorism come precisely when such wartime collaboration is happening more than at any time in U.S. history.
    Show book
  • Unatoned - A Memoir - cover

    Unatoned - A Memoir

    Brent LaPorte

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    For readers of Alan Cumming’s Not My Father’s Son comes a heart-wrenching memoir that interrogates an abusive father and his dark legacy.
    		 
    Children who experience physical, mental, and emotional trauma at the hands of a parent often grow into adults who suffer from mental illness and find it difficult to build lasting, healthy relationships. Some find it impossible to integrate into society and are constantly searching for the love and approval that they never received as a child. The abuse impacts all aspects of the survivor’s life.
    		 
    In his new memoir, Brent LaPorte asks his dead father questions that will never be answered. Unatoned not only explores the dark nature of LaPorte’s father, but the darkness that has, at times, enveloped him, too. In confronting life choices that have hurt those around him, he asks: is it possible to break the cycle of a violent, alcoholic family history and live a life that is productive, loving and, above all, happy?
    		 
    In exploring the challenges of his youth, married life, and careers, LaPorte lays bare failings and triumphs, sharing pain and struggle to ultimately tell readers: none of us are alone. This is not a “self-help” book, rather the story of a man’s request for atonement for sins past.  His father’s — and his own.
    Show book