Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Working North from Patagonia - cover

Working North from Patagonia

Harry Alverson Franck

Publisher: Patagonia Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

On our precious globe, oceans spill their majestic waters across 70% of the Earth’s surface.  Over the continents, land untainted by the presence of man is becoming ever more elusive and scarce. 
One area that almost retains its pristine, unspoiled look is Patagonia in South America. 
This sparsely populated region is located at the southern end of South America and displays itself across the vast lands of Argentina and Chile. As a whole it comprises of the southern section of the Andes mountains as well as the deserts, pampas and grasslands east of this. Patagonia has two coasts: to the west it faces the Pacific Ocean and to the east the Atlantic Ocean. 
The Colorado and Barrancas rivers, which run from the Andes to the Atlantic, are commonly considered the northern limit of Argentine Patagonia. For Chilean Patagonia it is at Reloncaví Estuary.  The archipelago of Tierra del Fuego marks its abrupt southern frontier and the famed end of the world. 
The name Patagonia comes from the word patagón, which was used by the Spanish explorer Magellan in 1520 to describe the native people that his expedition thought to be giants. He called them Patagons and, we think now, they were from the Tehuelche people, who tended to be taller than Europeans of the time. 
Patagonia encompasses some one million square kilometers and is home to a rich and diverse landscape of plants, fauna and wildlife.  It is a spectacular wilderness full of life and full of history. 
Early explorers and travellers faced a sometimes difficult and uncomfortable journey to reach there.  The words and pictures they brought back bear testament to a remarkable land and remarkable people. 
These are their stories.

Other books that might interest you

  • Orc Warfare - cover

    Orc Warfare

    Chris Pramas

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    To defeat your enemy, you must understand him. This volume offers an indispensable analysis of the most vicious killers of all orcs. Born and bred for war, they are an awful, brutish, violent species and, despite their constant infighting and backstabbing, their horde armies remain a dire threat to all races. To them, war is life. Beginning with an examination of the fighting methods of the individual orc warrior, the book expands to look at how they do battle in their small warbands and in vast armies. Using vivid, illuminating illustrations, it reveals the tactics, technology and disposition of all the orc troop types, from lightly armed archers and heavily armored shock troops to their wolf cavalry and siege engines, uncovering startling regional variations and highly specialized fighters such as beserkers and battle shamans. Finally, it will explore specific key battles that orcs have fought in to develop the fullest possible understanding of these loathsome, terrifying creatures and the ways in which they go to war.
    Show book
  • Bard of the Deal - The Poetry of Donald Trump - cover

    Bard of the Deal - The Poetry of...

    Hart Seely

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    From award-winning reporter and author of Pieces of Intelligence: The Existential Poetry of Donald H. Rumsfeld comes this collection of poems mined from the interviews, speeches, and tweets of Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump. 
    The Vicious Ones 
    I was attacked viciously 
    By those women, 
    Of course, it's very hard for them 
    To attack me on looks, 
    Because I'm so good looking. 
    But I was attacked very viciously 
    By those women. 
    --August 9, 2015, NBC’s Meet the Press 
    Straight from the mouth of “the Donald” himself, this treasury of spoken poetry—not a word is changed—has been culled from nearly 30 years of interviews, speeches, tweets, and ramblings from Presidential candidate and billionaire Donald Trump. Since the 1980s, Trump has built his verses like his casinos, using only the highest quality words and phrases, regardless of cost. He’s run a real estate empire, achieved a net worth of ten billion dollars, scripted best-sellers, and starred in the top-rated TV show “The Apprentice.” Like a colossus, he bestrides the cultural world as if it were the bottle-strewn boardwalk of Atlantic City. 
    But until now, Trump’s poetry—delivered spontaneously in moments of enduring clarity—has gone unnoticed, (making it the only aspect of Trump to be that way.) On a regular basis, The Donald speaks, tweets and hollers his verses—always without the needless restrictions of political correctness and grammar… because among world class poets, there don’t be no grammar, there only be truth… big time! 
    Whether you’re a Trump debunker or admirer, The Bard of the Deal will delight, shock, and entertain you. So prepare to be Trumped by the ten billion dollar poetry of the ten billion dollar bard. This is the art of the poem.
    Show book
  • Cats Are Capable of Mind Control - And 1000+ UberFacts You Never Knew You Needed to Know - cover

    Cats Are Capable of Mind Control...

    Kris Sanchez

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From the creator of the popular Twitter sensation UberFacts comes this fun compilation quiz book, packed with entertaining infographics and surprising factoids, for fans of Schott’s Miscellany, What If? and Ripley’s Believe It or Not. 
    Providing "the most unimportant things you’ll never need to know”—fun and surprising facts, statistics, and infographics on diverse subjects, from art and science to history and popular culture—UberFacts has become one of the most widely followed and successful accounts on Twitter, followed by nearly 12 million people. 
    Based on the popular social media phenomenon and culled from an exhaustive variety of sources—science journals, books, media, and literary magazines—Cats are Capable of Mind Control is a fascinating collection of shocking, delightful, educational, and informative facts and figures that are entertaining, topical, and sometimes downright bizarre (the safest place to suffer sudden cardiac arrest in the U.S. is a casino). 
    Did you know:The Pentagon was constructed so that no point in the building is more than a ten-minute walk from any other point?Vultures’ stomach acid is so corrosive they can digest anthrax?Farmers in India use Coca-Cola and Pepsi as cheap and effective pesticides? 
    Discover all this and much, much more in this treasure trove of trivia for the social media age. 
     
    Show book
  • Not For Tourists Guide to London 2017 - cover

    Not For Tourists Guide to London...

    Not For Tourists

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Whether you’ve called London your home for decades or just arrived last night, there’s information in the Not For Tourists Guide to London that you need to know. This map-based, neighborhood-by-neighborhood guide will help you master this amazing city like an expert. Packed with over 150 maps and thousands of listings for restaurants, shops, theaters, and under-the-radar spots, you won’t find a better guide to London.Want to score tickets to a big Arsenal or Chelsea football match? NFT has you covered. How about royal sightseeing at Buckingham Palace? We’ve got that, too. The best Indian restaurant, theater experience, bookstore, or cultural site—whatever you need—NFT puts it at your fingertips. This light and portable guide also features:•  An invaluable street index•  A foldout map of the London Underground and bus system•  Profiles of over 100 neighborhoods•  Listings for museums, landmarks, the best shopping, and moreYou don’t need to be Sherlock Holmes to solve the mysteries of London: NFT has all the answers!
    Show book
  • Journey Without Maps - cover

    Journey Without Maps

    Graham Greene

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The British author embarks on an awe-inspiring trek through 1930s West Africa in “one of the best travel books [of the twentieth] century” (The Independent).   When Graham Greene left Liverpool in 1935 for what was then an Africa unmarked by colonization, it was to leave the known transgressions of his own civilization behind for those unknown. First by cargo ship, then by train and truck through Sierra Leone, and finally on foot, Greene embarked on a dangerous and unpredictable 350-mile, four-week trek through Liberia with his cousin, and a handful of servants and bearers, into a world where few had ever seen a white man. For Greene, this odyssey became as much a trip into the primitive interiors of the writer himself as it was a physical journey into a land foreign to his experience.   “No one who reads this book will question the value of Greene’s experiment, or emerge unshaken by the penetration, the richness, the integrity of this moving record.” —The Guardian  
    Show book
  • A History of London in 100 Places - cover

    A History of London in 100 Places

    David Long

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Shaped by invasion, occupation, and immigration, by upheavals as diverse as the Great Fire, the Blitz, and the Big Bang, London’s history is unmatched for variety and drama. Choosing 100 places that best tell this incredible story, David Long shares his passion and expert knowledge of the city. From the early modern frost fairs, Victorian stations, and Saxon burial grounds to medieval plague pits, Roman barges, and modern business megaliths, each place gives a unique insight into a critical period of London’s evolution. With this detailed guide, readers will discover little-known gems among the famous landmarks and the hidden stories locked within. Illustrated throughout with beautiful black and white drawings and maps, this is the perfect companion for the armchair explorer as well as anyone wanting to discover the history of London with their feet.
    Show book