Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Richardson-Sinkler Connections - Planting Politics Horses and Family Life 1769-1853 - cover

Richardson-Sinkler Connections - Planting Politics Horses and Family Life 1769-1853

Harriett Clare Sinkler Little

Publisher: University of South Carolina Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Offering a richly textured picture of early national South Carolina, Richardson-Sinkler Connections includes more than 150 letters and documents left by the prominent Richardson and Sinkler families, who lived in the Santee region between Charleston and Columbia. Prosperous landowners related by both blood and marriage, the families made their fortunes as planters of indigo, rice, and cotton.

The Sinkler family established homes south of the Santee River starting around 1700, and Richard Richardson arrived from Virginia about 1730. The second James Sinkler died in 1800, leaving four children, only one of whom had completed his education. Thirteen years old when his father died, the second son, William Sinkler, was mentored by his older first cousin/brother-in-law, state representative and later governor James B. Richardson, who closely followed the boy’s progress as he pursued his studies in the North. William would go on to build Eutaw plantation in what is now Orangeburg County and, like his cousin James, pursue a passionate interest in horse breeding and racing, even building a racetrack on his property. In addition to revealing details about matters of politics, farming, education, travel, and racing, the letters also describe the difficulties of visiting across the Santee River, in the Sandhills where the Richardsons lived. The linchpin of the two families was James Sinkler’s widow, Margaret, who was adored by her niece/stepdaughter, Ann, as well as by the Richardson nephews and many others. Her letters, and Ann’s, open a fascinating window into women’s lives of the era.

Thorough annotations with genealogical notes and charts trace the complicated relationships between the Sinklers and Richardsons, as well as among other prominent families of the region and state. The book includes more than forty illustrations, including portraits, sketches, photographs of plantations and other sites, plats, and maps.

Other books that might interest you

  • Global Mixed Race - cover

    Global Mixed Race

    Rebecca C. King-O'Riain, Stephen...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Patterns of migration and the forces of globalization have brought the issues of mixed race to the public in far more visible, far more dramatic ways than ever before. Global Mixed Race examines the contemporary experiences of people of mixed descent in nations around the world, moving beyond US borders to explore the dynamics of racial mixing and multiple descent in Zambia, Trinidad and Tobago, Mexico, Brazil, Kazakhstan, Germany, the United Kingdom, Canada, Okinawa, Australia, and New Zealand.  In particular, the volume’s editors ask: how have new global flows of ideas, goods, and people affected the lives and social placements of people of mixed descent?  Thirteen original chapters address the ways mixed-race individuals defy, bolster, speak, and live racial categorization, paying attention to the ways that these experiences help us think through how we see and engage with social differences. The contributors also highlight how mixed-race people can sometimes be used as emblems of multiculturalism, and how these identities are commodified within global capitalism while still considered by some as not pure or inauthentic. A strikingly original study, Global Mixed Race carefully and comprehensively considers the many different meanings of racial mixedness.
    Show book
  • Love Gone Wrong - Living Happily Ever After as Survivors of Abuse - cover

    Love Gone Wrong - Living Happily...

    Lynn Johnson, Jillian Adams,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Market size:  1 in 3 women and 1 in 5 men have been sexually abused, and 1 in 5 women will be a victim of domestic violence
    Moves beyond the “Me Too” Movement to encourage next steps of healing
    Disarms the shame felt by victims as they realize their experience is stereotypical and they are not alone
    Inspires courage as victims hear stories of others who have navigated a hopeless situation and overcome
    Elevates community as an important avenue of transformation.  Each woman sought help as a result of witnessing their friend’s recovery.
    Backed by clinical insights from a professional psychologist which validate and support the content
    Show book
  • The Battle of Britain - An Epic Conflict Revisited - cover

    The Battle of Britain - An Epic...

    Christer Bergström

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A thorough look at this turning-point WWII aerial battle, with eyewitness accounts, maps, and rare photos: “incredibly well-researched” (Aircrew Book Review).   By late summer 1940, Nazi Germany had conquered all its opponents on the continent, including the British Army itself, which was forced to scramble back aboard small boats to its shores. A non-aggression pact with the Soviet Union in hand, Hitler had only one remaining object that season—the British Isles themselves. However, before he could invade, his Luftwaffe needed to wipe the Royal Air Force from the skies. History’s first strategic military campaign conducted in the air alone was about to take place.   This book contains a large number of dramatic eyewitness accounts, even as it reveals new facts that will alter common perceptions of the battle. For example, the twin-engined Messerschmitt Bf 110 was actually a good day fighter, and it performed at least as well in this role as the Bf 109 during the battle. The Luftwaffe’s commander, Hermann Göring, performed far better than has been believed. The British night bombers played a more decisive role than previously thought; in addition, this book disproves that the German 109 pilots were in any way superior to their Hurricane or Spitfire counterparts.   The author has examined records from both sides and provides surprising statistics that shatter much conventional wisdom—laying out the Battle of Britain as seldom seen before.   Includes color photos of the relevant aircraft.
    Show book
  • The Black Cabinet - The Untold Story of African Americans and Politics During the Age of Roosevelt - cover

    The Black Cabinet - The Untold...

    Jill Watts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Watts’s The Black Cabinet is the first of its kind full-scale in-depth examination of Roosevelt’s Black Cabinet.The Black Cabinet traces an arc directly from Reconstruction to the Black Cabinet assembled for Theodore Roosevelt and subsequently disbanded by Taft and Wilson, past the New Deal era to the March on Washington and the Civil Rights Movement. It is a missing link in a continuous African American fight to be treated as equal citizensRoosevelt’s Black Cabinet was a diverse group made up of social scientists, legal minds, educators, politicos, and journalists who sought to get the black community’s needs on the table during the New Deal, a time when Black Americans were in even direr economic straits than whites.Because the Democratic Party of the day was so dependent on Southern white votes, Roosevelt never publicly acknowledged the Black Cabinet and only met personally with a tiny number of its members. Besides a red-baiting Senator, its name was never spoken aloud except in the black press, which has been underexploited as a source by historians. As a result Mary McLeod Bethune, a celebrity in her day, is the only one of these figures who has made it into the mainstream historical record; Watts has uncovered a rich story here.From assimilation and accommodation vs protest, #OwnVoices leadership vs working with white leadership, and down to the very basic question of whom the federal government is supposed to serve and protect, and what the unique history of and resulting challenges facing African Americans entitles them to, The Black Cabinet demonstrates that events that happened 75+ years ago share themes ripped from today’s headlines.Watts’s narrative synthesizes the story of the Black Cabinet, which at one time numbered over a hundred, into a character-driven story focusing in on five key figures, tracing them from their infancy in politics to their ascent into key powerful positions.For fans of The Warmth of Other Suns, The New Jim Crow, and The New Negro.
    Show book
  • Overcoming Bias - Building Authentic Relationships across Differences - cover

    Overcoming Bias - Building...

    Tiffany Jana, Matthew Freeman

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Control, Conquer, and Prevail! Everybody's biased. The truth is, we all harbor unconscious assumptions that can get in the way of our good intentions and keep us from building authentic relationships with people different from ourselves. Tiffany Jana and Matthew Freeman use vivid stories and fun (yes, fun!) exercises and activities to help us reflect on our personal experiences and uncover how our hidden biases are formed. By becoming more self-aware, we can control knee-jerk reactions, conquer fears of the unknown, and prevail over closed-mindedness. In the end, Jana and Freeman's central message is that you are not the problem—but you can be the solution.
    Show book
  • The Last Kingdom - cover

    The Last Kingdom

    Bernard Cornwell

    • 1
    • 14
    • 0
    The first installment of Bernard Cornwell’s New York Times bestselling series chronicling the epic saga of the making of England, “like Game of Thrones, but real” (The Observer, London)—the basis for The Last Kingdom, the hit  Netflix series. 
    This is the exciting—yet little known—story of the making of England in the 9th and 10th centuries, the years in which King Alfred the Great, his son and grandson defeated the Danish Vikings who had invaded and occupied three of England’s four kingdoms. 
    The story is seen through the eyes of Uhtred, a dispossessed nobleman, who is captured as a child by the Danes and then raised by them so that, by the time the Northmen begin their assault on Wessex (Alfred’s kingdom and the last territory in English hands) Uhtred almost thinks of himself as a Dane. He certainly has no love for Alfred, whom he considers a pious weakling and no match for Viking savagery, yet when Alfred unexpectedly defeats the Danes and the Danes themselves turn on Uhtred, he is finally forced to choose sides. By now he is a young man, in love, trained to fight and ready to take his place in the dreaded shield wall. Above all, though, he wishes to recover his father’s land, the enchanting fort of Bebbanburg by the wild northern sea. 
    This thrilling adventure—based on existing records of Bernard Cornwell’s ancestors—depicts a time when law and order were ripped violently apart by a pagan assault on Christian England, an assault that came very close to destroying England.
    Show book