Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
First Love and Other Sorrows - Stories - cover

First Love and Other Sorrows - Stories

Harold Brodkey

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

In the vein of John Cheever and J. D. Salinger, this powerful collection of short stories chronicles the loss of innocence, the harsh cruelty of social distinctions, and the anguish of young loveFirst Love and Other Sorrows is the hauntingly beautiful debut collection of short stories from American master Harold Brodkey. Written when the author was in his twenties, these strong, affecting tales recall the intoxicating joy of young, springtime love, while lamenting the betrayal of dreams and false ideals in the glaring light of reality. Set in the Midwest during the 1950s, First Love and Other Sorrows centers around a Jewish family that has recently lost its patriarch—and with him the world of privilege.  Through the eyes of a son, a sister, and a mother—each one struggling to find a foothold in both family and society—these stories explore class prejudice, obsessive love, and the tragic foibles and emotional truths of being human. First Love and Other Sorrows is masterful fiction from an extraordinary literary artist.

Other books that might interest you

  • Beyond: Technology - cover

    Beyond: Technology

    Scott Overton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Three tricky tangles with technology:
    
    
    
     
    Once
    Upon A Midnight
    
     
    A woman whose job at a bio-weapons lab is
    to calculate the destructiveness of the world’s most deadly organisms is
    overwhelmed by a personal calamity. And the results could be catastrophic.
    (First published in In Poe’s Shadow, Dark Opus Press, 2011 and Tesseracts 16:
    Parnassus Unbound, Hades Publications, Inc., 2012.)
    
     
    Democracy
    
     
    A small tropical island claims to have
    perfect democracy thanks to technology enabling every citizen to vote on every
    issue of governance. When cynical reporter Jayne Connor investigates, the truth
    is stranger than anything she could have imagined.
    
     
    Shakedown
    
     
    A top gaming competitor seems like the
    perfect choice to pilot a virus-sized submersible through the bloodstream by
    virtual reality. But can the human mind exist in two realities at one time?
    (First published in Canadian Tales of the Fantastic, Red Tuque Books, 2011.)
    
    
    
     
    Praise
    for Scott Overton:
    
     
    “A storyteller of boundless skill…a writer
    to watch.”
    
     
    “A gifted wordsmith.”
    Show book
  • Red - cover

    Red

    Jessi McPherson

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    Everyone has read the tale of Little Red Riding Hood... Such a carefree, naïve girl who fell victim to the wolf and had to be saved by the Huntsman. I'd like to set that story straight. It all began with a girl, a curse, and wolf. We all have a hero inside. All it takes is to believe. Cara knew the legends of her village but she never thought she'd become one.
    Show book
  • Shopping with Mrs Blakemore - The Blakemore Files #2 - cover

    Shopping with Mrs Blakemore -...

    Olivia Gaines

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    The Blakemores are back in this second installment of the short story series where readers learn more about Saxton Blakemore, his family and the reason he stayed married to Odessa. 
    Settle into a comfy chair with your eReader as the Blakemores begin a new adventure under the guise of their newly formed company, Blakemore Imports and Collectibles. In this edition, they are heading into Panama to collect intel on arms shipments being funneled through the Central American country. Their mission, observe, take photos and do not engage. 
    But, we are talking about Odessa Blakemore, aren’t we? There are snakes and ligers, and smugglers, oh my. The Blakemores also make a horrific discovery while making a few new allies. However, it is the new enemies they have made, which may be the death of this twosome.
    Show book
  • A Day in the Life of a Smiling Woman - Complete Short Stories - cover

    A Day in the Life of a Smiling...

    Margaret Drabble

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Short fiction from “a fastidious chronicler of the vagaries of women’s lives in England since the early nineteen-sixties” (Joyce Carol Oates, The New Yorker).   In stories that explore marriage, female friendships, the English tourist abroad, love affairs with houses, peace demonstrations, gin and tonics, cultural TV programs, and more, Margaret Drabble showcases her insight into the lives of women. This decade-spanning collection not only reveals how the female experience has—and hasn’t—changed; it also demonstrates the talent that has earned Drabble multiple literary honors, including the James Tait Black Memorial Prize and a Golden PEN Award, and made her “one of the United Kingdom’s finest contemporary fiction writers” (Publishers Weekly, starred review).  
    Show book
  • A Weekend with the Cromwells - The Value of A Man #2 - cover

    A Weekend with the Cromwells -...

    Olivia Gaines

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this episode… 
    Thurston Cromwell IV understands the importance of family. He is intent upon showing his new bride where he grew up, but over the course of the weekend, he learns the real power of family and what it means to be a man of value. 
    Get ready for a heartwarming read and Douglas in that Spiderman costume as you spend a Weekend with the Cromwells.
    Show book
  • Rings of a Tree - cover

    Rings of a Tree

    Carolyn Arnold

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Carolyn Arnold deviates from her typical genre and delves into literary fiction to bring readers Rings of a Tree. This short story draws a poetic correlation between the changing seasons and the stages of our lives and was inspired by the author’s observations of the human journey. It is told through the viewpoint of an oak tree in snapshots of events that take place over generations. 
    “It’s a well-told tale. One that will stay with you long after you’ve turned the last page.” 
    –Ann Swann, Bestselling author 
    “The generational tale she weaves is so true, so honest, that anyone can relate to it and feel compassion for the characters as they go through the trials and successes of life. We only get a sneak peek into their experiences, as we see them through the eyes of an eternal oak tree, but it is no less impactful.” 
    –Katie Jennings, Bestselling author 
    Another season begins… 
    Childhood sweethearts Jake and Cassidy always knew they’d end up getting married, but what they hadn’t been prepared for were the ups and downs that life would present to them. 
    Follow their family through generations of celebrations and trials, as told through the eyes and ears of an oak tree.
    Show book