Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Hap Wilson's Wilderness 3-Book Bundle - The Cabin Grey Owl and Me Trails and Tribulations - cover

Hap Wilson's Wilderness 3-Book Bundle - The Cabin Grey Owl and Me Trails and Tribulations

Hap Wilson

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Noted traveller and environmentalist Hap Wilson shares accounts of his lifelong involvement with wilderness living within the Canadian Shield. Wilson knows better than most how to live in the woods. As park ranger, canoe guide, outfitter, trail builder, and environmental activist, he learned from firsthand experience that nature can neither be beaten or tamed.This three-book bundle includes: 
 


The Cabin: A Search for Personal Sanctuary 

Noted environmentalist Hap Wilson takes us along a wilderness trail replete with snags and pitfalls, through mishaps, tears, and laughter. 
 


Grey Owl and Me: Stories From the Trail and Beyond 


Hap Wilson is back for another journey. Nurtured by the writings of Grey Owl, Wilson adopted a similar lifestyle to the 1930s conservationist but with his own twists and turns. Wilson recounts the early days of winter camping, takes readers to some of his favourite places, and shares intimate secrets of wilderness living. 
 



Trails and Tribulations:Confessions of a Wilderness Pathfinder 


Noted northern traveller Hap Wilson shares accounts of his lifelong involvement with wilderness living within the Canadian Shield. A park ranger, canoe guide, and environmental activist, Wilson takes the reader on a journey through natural settings ranging from austere to mysterious and breathtaking.

Other books that might interest you

  • USN Cruiser vs IJN Cruiser - Guadalcanal 1942 - cover

    USN Cruiser vs IJN Cruiser -...

    Mark Stille

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Although the war in the Pacific is usually considered a carrier war, it was the cruisers that dominated the early fighting. This thrilling duel presents the cruiser clashes during the battles for Guadacanal , highlighting the Battle of Savo Island and the Battle of Cape Esperance. The first was a Japanese victory that resulted in the loss of four Allied cruisers. However, in the latter, the Americans managed to turn the tables despite the battle being fought throughout the night. This book presents a view of the design and development of the opposing weapons systems, illustrated with newly commissioned digital artwork. It uses firsthand accounts to bring the battles to life and explain why the Americans suffered early on, but eventually had their revenge.
    Show book
  • Conversations with Madeleine L'Engle - cover

    Conversations with Madeleine...

    Jackie C. Horne

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Conversations with Madeleine L'Engle is the first collection of interviews with the beloved children's book author best known for her 1962 Newbery Award-winning novel, A Wrinkle in Time. However, Madeleine L'Engle's accomplishments as a writer spread far beyond children's literature. Beginning her career as a literary novelist for adults, L'Engle (1918-2007) continued to write fiction for both young and old long after A Wrinkle in Time. In her sixties, she published personal memoirs and devotional texts that explored her relationship with religion. At the time of her death, L'Engle was mourned by fans of her children's books and the larger Christian community.L'Engle's books, as well as her life, were often marked by contradictions. A consummate storyteller, L'Engle carefully crafted and performed a public self-image via her interviews. Weaving through the documentable facts in these interviews are partial lies, misdirections, and wish-fulfillment fantasies. But, when read against her fictions, these "truths" can help us see L'Engle more deeply--what she wanted for herself and for her children, what she believed about good and evil, and what she thought was the right way and the wrong way to be a family--than if she had been able to articulate the truth more directly.The thirteen interviews collected here reveal an amazing feat of authorial self-fashioning, as L'Engle transformed from novelist to children's author to Christian writer and attempted to craft a public persona that would speak to each of these different audiences in meaningful, yet not painfully revealing, ways.
    Show book
  • The 50-Year Secret - cover

    The 50-Year Secret

    Julie MacNeil

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    “A beautiful journey with a powerful message.” —Andy Chaleff, author of The Last Letter 
    Julie MacNeil is 6’4”, and although she is neither a WNBA athlete nor a famous model, she has a remarkable story to tell. As an adopted child, she always wondered about the parents who gave her up. After overcoming a challenging childhood and surviving two tumultuous marriages, a chance DNA test revealed an incredibly rare and life-threatening liver-lung disease. Julie then embarked on a difficult journey to find her birth family. Her goal was to warn them about the disease, which is highly genetic and often undiagnosed. What followed was a miraculous sequence of events and a remarkable homecoming.
    Show book
  • The Baltimore Book of the Dead - cover

    The Baltimore Book of the Dead

    Marion Winik

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Author is a prolific and well-connected literary critic; formerly an NPR All Things Considered commentator, Winik is an NBCC board member and reviews for People magazine, among many other prestigious media outlets. She has appeared on television including the Today Show and Oprah, and is a confident speaker with many contacts
    For fans of Abigail Thomas' SAFEKEEPING, Jeannie Vanasco's THE GLASS EYE, or Maggie Nelson's JANE: A MURDER
    The Baltimore Book of the Dead is a sequel, or a companion volume to The Glen Rock Book of the Dead (which Counterpoint published in 2009). The books contain brief portraits of people Winik knew, or somehow crossed paths with, who have died. The Baltimore Book of the Dead builds on the themes from the first book, and differs in that it focuses on a significant number of Baltimore-based portraits, and that the public events and famous dead people included will reflect the decade immediately past. It also features a substantial introductory essay on the subject of mourning and memory.
    Intimacy and humor are manifest in the economy of each piece in The Baltimore Book of the Dead, none of which exceeds 400 words, each of which conjures and celebrates a life.
    
    Praise from Librarians and Booksellers
    “It is all too easy to hesitate before reading this book. After all, it is a collection of obituaries. One could be forgiven for thinking it will be too depressing, too grim. And yet it is luminous and kind, told with gentleness and understanding. People famous and unknown get the same treatment, their lives equal in their humanity and loss.” —Anton Bogomazov, Politics and Prose (Washington, DC)
    Show book
  • What the Poets Are Doing - cover

    What the Poets Are Doing

    Rob Taylor

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In 2002, Nightwood published Where the Words Come From: Canadian Poets in Conversation, a successful first-of-its-kind collection of interviews with literary luminaries like Margaret Atwood, Michael Ondaatje, Margaret Avison, Patrick Lane, Lorna Crozier and P.K. Page, conducted by “the younger generation” of poets of the day. Sixteen years later, What the Poets Are Doing brings together two younger generations of poets to engage in conversations with their peers on modern-day poetics, politics and more. Together they explore the world of Canadian poetry in the new millennium: what's changed, what's endured and what's next. An exciting “turn of the century” has evolved into a century characterized by social and digital media, the Donald Trump presidency, #MeToo empowerment and scandal, and Indigenous Truth and Reconciliation.
     
    Should we look to our poets as our most articulate analysts and critics of these times? Are they competing with social media or at one with social media?
     
    Poets in Conversation:
     
    Elizabeth Bachinsky and Kayla Czaga
     
    Tim Bowling and Raoul Fernandes
     
    Dionne Brand and Souvankham Thammavongsa
     
    Marilyn Dumont and Katherena Vermette
     
    Sue Goyette and Linda Besner
     
    Steven Heighton and Ben Ladouceur
     
    Sina Queyras and Canisia Lubrin
     
    Armand Garnet Ruffo and Liz Howard
     
    Karen Solie and Amanda Jernigan
     
    Russell Thornton and Phoebe Wang
     
    Afterword co-written by Nick Thran and Sue Sinclair
    Show book
  • HP Lovecraft: The Complete Fiction - cover

    HP Lovecraft: The Complete Fiction

    Howard Phillips Lovecraft

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Fiction, Poetry, Essays and Letters from the Master of the Macabre, H.P. Lovecraft
    Read the complete collection of writings from H.P. Lovecraft. This edition includes a fully linked table of contents so you can find your favorites easily and return to Lovecraft's work again and again. The following stories (plus poems, letters and essays!) are included in this massive ebook: 
    The Tomb 
    Dagon 
    Polaris 
    Beyond the Wall of Sleep 
    Memory 
    Old Bugs 
    The Transition of Juan Romero 
    The White Ship 
    The Doom That Came to Sarnath 
    The Statement of Randolph Carter 
    The Terrible Old Man 
    The Tree 
    The Cats of Ulthar 
    The Temple 
    Facts Concerning the Late Arthur Jermyn and His Family 
    The Street 
    Celephaïs 
    From Beyond 
    Nyarlathotep 
    The Picture in the House 
    Ex Oblivione 
    The Nameless City 
    The Quest of Iranon 
    The Moon-Bog 
    The Outsider 
    The Other Gods 
    The Music of Erich Zann
    Herbert West — Reanimator 
    Hypnos 
    What the Moon Brings 
    Azathoth 
    The Hound 
    The Lurking Fear 
    The Rats in the Walls 
    The Unnamable 
    The Festival 
    The Shunned House 
    The Horror at Red Hook 
    He 
    In the Vault 
    The Descendant 
    Cool Air 
    The Call of Cthulhu 
    Pickman's Model 
    The Silver Key 
    The Strange High House in the Mist 
    The Dream-Quest of Unknown Kadath 
    The Case of Charles Dexter Ward 
    The Colour Out of Space 
    The Very Old Folk 
    The Thing in the Moonlight 
    The History of the Necronomicon 
    Ibid 
    The Dunwich Horror 
    The Whisperer in Darkness 
    At the Mountains of Madness 
    The Shadow Over Innsmouth 
    The Dreams in the Witch House 
    The Thing on the Doorstep 
    The Evil Clergyman 
    The Book 
    The Shadow out of Time 
    The Haunter of the Dark 
    
    
    Keywords (max 15):
    hp lovecraft  xThe Complete H.P. Lovecraft Collection  xH.P. Lovecraft  xlovercraft  xhp lovecraft complete  xhp lovecraft collection
    Show book