Do you dare to read without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Notre-Dame De Paris or The Hunchback of Notre-Dame - Bestsellers and famous Books - cover

Notre-Dame De Paris or The Hunchback of Notre-Dame - Bestsellers and famous Books

Gustave Flaubert

Publisher: anboco

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The story is set in Paris, France in the Late Middle Ages, during the reign of Louis XI.: The gypsy Esmeralda captures the hearts of many men, including those of Captain Phoebus and Pierre Gringoire, but especially Quasimodo and his guardian Archdeacon Claude Frollo. Frollo is torn between his obsessive lust for Esmeralda and the rules of the Notre Dame Cathedral. He orders Quasimodo to kidnap her, but the hunchback is captured by Phoebus and his guards, who save Esmeralda.
The following day, Quasimodo is sentenced to be flogged and turned on the pillory for one hour, followed by another hour's public exposure. He calls for water. Esmeralda, seeing his thirst, approaches the public stocks and offers him a drink of water. It saves him, and she captures his heart...

Other books that might interest you

  • All the Ever Afters - The Untold Story of Cinderella's Stepmother - cover

    All the Ever Afters - The Untold...

    Danielle Teller

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    In the vein of Wicked, The Woodcutter, and Boy, Snow, Bird, a luminous reimagining of a classic tale, told from the perspective of Agnes, Cinderella’s "evil" stepmother. 
    We all know the story of Cinderella. Or do we? 
    As rumors about the cruel upbringing of beautiful newlywed Princess Cinderella roil the kingdom, her stepmother, Agnes, who knows all too well about hardship, privately records the true story. . . . 
    A peasant born into serfdom, Agnes is separated from her family and forced into servitude as a laundress’s apprentice when she is only ten years old. Using her wits and ingenuity, she escapes her tyrannical matron and makes her way toward a hopeful future. When teenaged Agnes is seduced by an older man and becomes pregnant, she is transformed by love for her child. Once again left penniless, Agnes has no choice but to return to servitude at the manor she thought she had left behind. Her new position is nursemaid to Ella, an otherworldly infant. She struggles to love the child who in time becomes her stepdaughter and, eventually, the celebrated princess who embodies everyone’s unattainable fantasies. The story of their relationship reveals that nothing is what it seems, that beauty is not always desirable, and that love can take on many guises. 
    Lyrically told, emotionally evocative, and brilliantly perceptive, All the Ever Afters explores the hidden complexities that lie beneath classic tales of good and evil, all the while showing us that how we confront adversity reveals a more profound, and ultimately more important, truth than the ideal of "happily ever after."
    Show book
  • A Cop Story - cover

    A Cop Story

    Donahue Silvis

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Frankie, Phil, and Carlo grow up in a poor Italian neighborhood in Newark, New Jersey. It was during the depression and WWII. Times were bad and for them stealing was a way of life. The brothers, Frankie and Phil Fasino become wise guys working for the Family. Carlo Cardoni becomes a policeman to get away from the criminal element, or so he thought. Using the problems of his everyday life as an excuse, Carlo accepts favors from his past friends, Frankie, Phil, and their capo-regime. Favors he knows he must someday repay. Does Carlo renege on his commitments? Are Frankie and Phil ordered to hit their old friend, Carlo? Or, does Carlo give-up being a cop and join his Mafia friends?
    Show book
  • The Black Prince - Adapted from an original script by Anthony Burgess - cover

    The Black Prince - Adapted from...

    Anthony Burgess, Adam Roberts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Brings to light unpublished material from one of the twentieth century’s literary titans, author of A Clockwork Orange, Inside Mr Enderby and Earthly Powers; Adam Roberts has worked with the full cooperation of the Burgess Foundation.Roberts is a celebrated novelist in his own right: Jack Glass (2012) won the British Science Fiction Award for Best Novel and 2015’s The Thing Itself was described by the Guardian as ‘a dazzling philosophical adventure’.Widespread review coverage is expected and the author will be available for events. For fans of Paul Kingsnorth's The Wake, Patrick DeWitt's The Sisters Brothers, His Bloody Project by Graeme Macrae Burnet.
    Show book
  • Nordic Tales - Folktales from Norway Sweden Finland Iceland and Denmark - cover

    Nordic Tales - Folktales from...

    Books Chronicle

    • 6
    • 21
    • 0
    Trolls haunt the snowy forests, and terrifying monsters roam the open sea.A young woman journeys to the end of the world, and a boy proves he knows no fear.This collection of 16 traditional tales transports readers to the enchanting world of Nordic folklore. Translated and transcribed by folklorists in the 19th century, and presented here unabridged, the stories are by turns magical, hilarious, cozy, and chilling. They offer a fascinating view into Nordic culture and a comforting wintertime read. Ulla Thynell's glowing contemporary illustrations accompany each tale, conjuring dragons, princesses, and the northern lights.
    Show book
  • Stonechild and Rouleau Mysteries 4-Book Bundle - Shallow End Tumbled Graves Butterfly Kills Cold Mourning - cover

    Stonechild and Rouleau Mysteries...

    Brenda Chapman

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    When damaged, brilliant detective Kala Stonechild and workaholic staff sergeant Jacques Rouleau get paired up, pieces start falling into place. The series has been called “deeply atmospheric and tightly plotted” and praised for its grit. Now, the first four mysteries are available together in an ebook-exclusive bundle at a special price. 
     
    
    
    Includes: 
     
    
    
    Cold Mourning – Book #1 
    
    A week before Christmas, wealthy businessman Tom Underwood disappears into thin air, with more than enough people wanting him dead. Kala Stonechild is a new member of the specialized Ottawa Police unit tasked with bringing him home for the holidays, but a killer has other plans. Who can you trust when love turns to hate and murder stalks a family? 
     
    
    
    Butterfly Kills – Book #2 
    
    Rouleau is in a new job in a new city. He’s in a fight against time to keep his dysfunctional team together long enough to get to sort out the innocent from the evil. 
     
    
    
    Tumbled Graves – Book #3 
    
    When Adele Delaney and her daughter go missing, Kala Stonechild and Paul Gundersund investigate. Adele’s body soon turns up — dead, with no sign of her daughter. Struggling to to keep the case on track and her own life under control, Stonechild learns the dead woman had ties to a Montreal biker gang and heads to Quebec to find the missing piece. 
     
    
    
    Shallow End – Book #4, NEW! 
    
    Convicted child molester Jane Thompson has made parole, but one month later the body of the student she was found guilty of abusing is found on the shores of Lake Ontario. Sergeant Rouleau assigns Officers Stonechild and Gundersund to head up the murder investigation, but things quickly get ugly, and not just with the case.
    Show book
  • Fire Trap - A TJ Peterson Mystery - cover

    Fire Trap - A TJ Peterson Mystery

    Bob Kroll

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    The third and final installment of the T.J. Peterson mysteries
    		 
    Things have gone from bad to worse for T.J. Peterson. The cops have kicked him off the force, his girlfriend called it quits, his best friend and former partner won’t speak to him, and his estranged 20-year-old daughter, Katy, continues to torment him with photos of the hellholes she is living in. Add in a shrink’s diagnosis of PTSD, and Peterson is barely holding it together. 
    		 
    When he receives an anonymous text message with an online link to a video of a young journalist being tortured, Peterson does the only thing he knows how to do — he sets out to save her. Using psychological warfare, a maniac of savage cruelty lures Peterson into a brutal labyrinth of hard-core porn and the vicious depravity of the Dark Web, and Peterson finds himself in a race to find the girl before the torment breaks him for good.
    Show book