Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Les Misérables - cover

Les Misérables

Gustave Flaubert

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The novel that inspired the beloved Broadway musical: Jean Valjean’s immortal adventure among the dispossessed of nineteenth-century Paris. Widely considered Victor Hugo’s masterpiece, Les Misérables is both an epic story and a penetrating social criticism of nineteenth-century France. In this tale of crime, punishment, love, and the pursuit of justice, we meet some of the most unforgettable characters in literature, including Jean Valjean, the heroic peasant arrested for stealing a loaf of bread; Cossette, the abused daughter of a prostitute; and Inspector Javert, the policeman who relentlessly hounds Valjean at every turn. With encyclopedic sweep, Hugo’s novel investigates topics ranging from the construction of Parisian sewers to the Battle of Waterloo.   First published in 1862, Les Misérables has inspired numerous film adaptions as well as the long-running stage musical by Claude-Michel Schönberg. It is, in the words of Upton Sinclair, “one of the half-dozen greatest novels in the world.”  This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.  

Other books that might interest you

  • Oregon Bride - cover

    Oregon Bride

    Rosanne Bittner

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    On a path to a fresh star that’s rife danger, a widow finds a love that reawakens her spirit in this historical romance by the author of Texas Bride. Traveling west aboard a wagon train with her late husband’s family, young widow Marybeth MacKender wishes only to leave behind the memories of her loveless marriage, and to protect her infant son. But the dangers of the train are endless, as are the advances of her brutish brother-in-law who is resolute in claiming Marybeth as his own. It isn’t until Marybeth meets Joshua Rivers, a frontiersman both tough and tender, that her hope for the future ignites as brightly as the desire in her heart. With courage aroused by passion, Marybeth is determined to face the perils of this rugged terrain for Joshua and the love she feels as great as the odds stacked against them.Praise for USA Today–bestselling Author Rosanne Bittner “Bittner’s characters spring to life...Extraordinary for the depth of emotion with which they are portrayed.”—Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Egypt's Sister (The Silent Years Book #1) - A Novel of Cleopatra - cover

    Egypt's Sister (The Silent Years...

    Angela Hunt

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    New York Times Bestselling Author's Newest Biblical-Era SeriesFive decades before the birth of Christ, Chava, daughter of the royal tutor, grows up with Urbi, a princess in Alexandria's royal palace. When Urbi becomes Queen Cleopatra, Chava vows to be a faithful friend no matter what--but after she and Cleopatra have an argument, she finds herself imprisoned and sold into slavery. Torn from her family, her community, and her elevated place in Alexandrian society, Chava finds herself cast off and alone in Rome. Forced to learn difficult lessons, she struggles to trust a promise HaShem has given her. After experiencing the best and worst of Roman society, Chava must choose between love and honor, between her own desires and God's will for her life. 
    Show book
  • Dreams Rekindled (Mesquite Springs Book #2) - cover

    Dreams Rekindled (Mesquite...

    Amanda Cabot

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Though she hopes for a quiet, uncomplicated life for herself, Dorothy Clark wants nothing more than to stir others up. Specifically, she dreams of writing something that will challenge people as much as Harriet Beecher Stowe's Uncle Tom's Cabin seems to have. But in 1850s Mesquite Springs, there are few opportunities for writers--until newspaperman Brandon Holloway arrives, that is. 
     
    Brandon Holloway has seen the disastrous effects of challenging others and has no intention of repeating that mistake. Instead of following his dreams, he's committed to making a new--and completely uncontroversial--start in the Hill Country. 
     
    As Dorothy's involvement in the fledgling newspaper grows from convenient to essential, the same change seems to be happening in Brandon's heart. But before romance can bloom, Dorothy and Brandon must work together to discover who's determined to divide the town and destroy Brandon's livelihood. 
     
    With this second novel in the Mesquite Springs series, bestselling author Amanda Cabot invites you to discover the healing power of truth.
    Show book
  • After Happily Ever After - A Novel - cover

    After Happily Ever After - A Novel

    Leslie A. Rasmussen

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Maggie Dolin is forty-five and isn’t dealing with getting older very well. Seventeen years ago, she gave up her job in publishing to raise her daughter, Gia—but now her only child is about to leave for college, and Maggie isn’t sure what her new purpose will be. She’s been the caretaker and nurturer for so long that she can’t even remember the last time someone took care of her. She wishes Jim, her husband of nineteen years, would take that role on—but he’s been distracted and disconnected, and she’s convinced he’s hiding something from her. Her self-involved, judgmental mother and resentful brother, meanwhile, are certainly no help, and her father—the only person in her life who’s always been there for her and asked nothing in return—is dealing with increasingly serious health issues, leaving Maggie without her rock.
    
    As all these stressors pile on, a chance meeting with a younger man causes Maggie to act in a way that is completely out of character for her. As she gets deeper in, she’s forced to make some big decisions about what she wants and deserves—decisions that could change her life forever.
    
    After Happily Ever After deals with love, marriage, family, the empty nest, aging parents and what happens when they all come crashing down at the same time.
    Show book
  • Moving Target (Elite Guardians Book #3) - cover

    Moving Target (Elite Guardians...

    Lynette Eason

    • 2
    • 14
    • 0
    When Maddy McKay and Quinn Holcombe don't show up for Quinn's surprise birthday party, his friends know that something is very wrong. Their search turns up little beyond evidence that Quinn and Maddy just decided to take off for a long overdue vacation. But it soon becomes apparent that they did not leave of their own accord.Maddy awakens in a cement room with no idea where she is. But it's not long before she realizes she's in the clutches of a madman exacting revenge by hunting. His prey of choice? Humans. Now Maddy and Quinn must run for their lives, hoping to find their killer before the next game begins. Because if they don't win this game, they die.Fast, furious, and flirty, Lynette Eason's relentless suspense barely gives her readers time to catch their breath in this third thrilling installment of the Elite Guardians series.
    Show book
  • The Canary Keeper - cover

    The Canary Keeper

    Clare Carson

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    'Historical fiction at its very best' ELLY GRIFFITHS. 
     
    A Times Historical Fiction Book of the Month. 
     
    They will see me hang for this. London, 1855. In the grey mist of the early morning a body is dumped on the shore of the Thames by a boatman in a metal canoe. Talk soon spreads of the killer and his striking accomplice: a young widow in mourning dress. 
     
    Birdie Quinn's sleeplessness led her to the river that morning. She has always been wilful, haughty, different... but is she a murderess? 
     
    To clear her name, she must retrace the dead man's footsteps to Orkney and the far north. A dangerous journey for a woman alone, but one she must make to save her life. 
     
    This gripping, richly layered historical thriller is perfect for fans of The Familiars, The House Between Tides and The Confessions of Franny Langton. 
     
    'Historical fiction at its very best. Mesmerising setting, fantastic characters and a fascinating insight into a ruthless trade' ELLY GRIFFITHS. 
     
    'What a joy! Reads like a classic nineteenth-century mystery with a twist, richly dark and full of gaslit menace' LESLEY THOMSON. 
     
    'Unearths startling truths about death and corruption in the transatlantic fur trade' THE TIMES. 
     
    'A top quality piece of historical fiction' iSCOT MAGAZINE.
    Show book