Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Les Miserables - Bestsellers and famous Books - cover

Les Miserables - Bestsellers and famous Books

Gustave Flaubert

Publisher: anboco

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Beginning in 1815 and culminating in the 1832 June Rebellion in Paris, the novel follows the lives and interactions of several characters, particularly the struggles of ex-convict Jean Valjean and his experience of redemption. Examining the nature of law and grace, the novel elaborates upon the history of France, the architecture and urban design of Paris, politics, moral philosophy, antimonarchism, justice, religion, and the types and nature of romantic and familial love. Les Misérables has been popularized through numerous adaptations for the stage, television, and film, including a musical and a film adaptation of that musical. The appearance of the novel was highly anticipated and advertised. Critical reactions were diverse, but most of them were negative. Commercially, the work was a great success globally: The Miserables, The Wretched, The Miserable Ones, The Poor Ones, The Wretched Poor, The Victims and The Dispossessed.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Right Thing to Do - A Novel - cover

    The Right Thing to Do - A Novel

    Josephine Gattuso Hendin

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    On a stroll in his Queens neighborhood, Sicilian-born Nino Giardello glimpses his daughter, ambitious nineteen-year-old Gina, heading for the subway. Silently, he follows her to Manhattan and watches, outraged, as she walks into the arms of a golden-haired stranger. The incident confirms Nino's worst suspicions about his decidedly American daughter. It also challenges Nino's power as capofamiglia, a disruption to his ideas about family life, and an insult to his heritage. In a struggle that exceeds all boundaries, including death, father and daughter will engage in a conflict of generations that is likewise a conflict of cultures.Josephine Gattuso Hendin captures New York Italian immigrant life with startling precision, bringing to life the intricate web of a community's everyday transactions and exploring the multifaceted father-daughter relationship at the heart of the Italian American family. A coming-of-age novel that is both wryly funny and achingly sad, The Right Thing to Do burns with the conflicting desires of two cultures, two generations, two sexes, each with its own intensely defined needs and ethical systems.
    Show book
  • If Tomorrow Comes - cover

    If Tomorrow Comes

    Sidney Sheldon

    • 1
    • 37
    • 0
    Lovely, idealistic Tracy Whitney is framed into a fifteen year sentence in an escape-proof penitentiary. With dazzling ingenuity she fights back to destroy the untouchable crime lords who put her there. With her intelligence and beauty as her only weapons, Tracy embarks on a series of extraordinary escapades that sweep her across the globe. In an explosive confrontation Tracy meets her equal in irresistible Jeff Stevens, whose past is as colorful as Tracy's.
    Show book
  • The Woman in the Blue Cloak - cover

    The Woman in the Blue Cloak

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    The Woman in the Blue Cloak marks Meyer’s return to his beloved Benny Griessel series.
    Meyer is a world-class thriller writer. He writes gripping books with inventive plots, realistic characters, and universal themes.
    The Woman in the Blue Cloak is a departure from Meyer’s previous work only in its brevity: just over 30,000 words, it is an accessible, fast read that will bring more fans to the Griessel series. This is a format which has seen considerable success in the past: Gillian Flynn’s 2015 novella The Grownup has sold nearly 50,000 copies according to Bookscan. 
    Readers of Donna Tartt will enjoy seeing the literary reappearance of Carel Fabritius, whose painting “The Goldfinch”—featured prominently in Tartt’s novel of the same name—was displayed in a 2014 exhibit at the Frick Collection in New York that had visitors lining around the block in frigid temperatures for hours. 
    Meyer has a devoted and growing following in the U.S., with avid fans across the crime community, including luminaries such as Stephen King, Michael Connelly, Tess Gerritsen, and Grove Atlantic’s own Thomas Perry.
    Meyer’s previous book, the standalone novel Fever, was named an Indie Next Selection and an Amazon Best Book of the Month (Science Fiction and Fantasy) and commended by Stephen King as “Reminiscent of The Stand and The Passage. Great stuff.” 
    Meyer’s most recent Benny Griessel thriller, Icarus, was shortlisted for the 2016 CWA International Dagger Award and the Nielson Booksellers’ Choice Award. It was named a Best Book of the Year by the Boston Globe and Financial Times and was named one of Publishers Weekly’s Best Audiobooks of 2015.
    An international bestseller, Meyer is known as the “King of South African Crime.” His books have been published in 27 languages and have netted just under 60,000 copies in all formats in the U.S. alone.
    Show book
  • Emily’s List - cover

    Emily’s List

    Sean Platt, David W. Wright

    • 3
    • 12
    • 0
    All Cora wants is a new start. But how do you start over when you’re still you? After the tragic loss of her horror writer father, Cora is starting over in a new town, at a new school where nobody knows her.Nobody knows about her OCD tics. Nobody knows about her time spent in a mental hospital. And nobody knows that she may be seeing her father’s ghost. But her new start is shattered when the OCD tics she tries to keep secret come out in class. She soon finds herself a target of bullies again.New town, same loneliness and shame. And she’s afraid to turn to her overworked mother who is already worried about her sanity.Then she meets Emily.The abused homeschooled girl has her own problems, but she’s the only person that gets Cora.Also, Emily has a list.A list of people who have hurt her.A list of people that include Cora’s bullies.And now Emily wants Cora’s help in getting revenge.Can Cora find a normal life by striking back at her tormentors? Or is she being lured into a darkness that will consume the sanity she’s desperately clinging to?Emily’s List is a character-driven suspense thriller full of dark secrets and twisted revelations perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and The Haunting of Hill House.
    Show book
  • Nice Work (If You Can Get It) - cover

    Nice Work (If You Can Get It)

    Celia Imrie

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Witty and enchanting, the second novel from the well-loved actress and Sunday Times bestselling author of Not Quite Nice follows the hilarious exploits of retired expats in the South of France 
     
    Somewhere on the French Riviera, tucked between glitzy Monte Carlo and Cannes' red-carpets, lies the sleepy town of Bellevue-Sur-Mer. Sheltered from the glittering melee, it is home to many an expat – although it 
    hasn't proved as peaceful as expected. Now an enterprising band of retirees has resolved to show it's never too late to start afresh, and open a restaurant. 
     
    Snapping up a local property and throwing themselves into preparations, Theresa, Carol, William and Benjamin's plans are proceeding unnervingly well. But when Theresa encounters a mysterious intruder, she begins to wonder what secrets the building is concealing. 
     
    Meanwhile Sally, an actress who fled the stage to live in quiet anonymity, has decided not to be involved. She's far too busy anyway, shepherding around a gaggle of A-listers including a suave Russian with a super-yacht and a penchant for her company. 
     
    As the razzmatazz of Cannes Film Festival penetrates Bellevue-Sur-Mer, its inhabitants become entangled in a complex pattern of love triangles and conflicting business interests, and something starts to feel distinctly oeuf. Finding themselves knee-deep in suspicion and skulduggery, the restaurateurs realise they can no longer tell who's nasty … and who's nice.
    Show book
  • On Ghosts - cover

    On Ghosts

    Mary Shelley

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Mary Shelley was an English writer best known for the classic gothic novel Frankenstein which has been adapted into film many times.  This edition of On Ghosts includes a table of contents. 
    Show book