Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
I'd Rather Be Reading - A Library of Art for Book Lovers - cover

I'd Rather Be Reading - A Library of Art for Book Lovers

Guinevere De La Mare

Publisher: Chronicle Books LLC

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

For anyone who'd rather be reading than doing just about anything else, this ebook is the ultimate must-have. In this visual ode to all things bookish, readers will get lost in page after page of beautiful contemporary art, photography, and illustrations depicting the pleasures of books. Artwork from the likes of Jane Mount, Lisa Congdon, Julia Rothman, and Sophie Blackall is interwoven with text from essayist Maura Kelly, bestselling author Gretchen Rubin, and award-winning author and independent bookstore owner Ann Patchett. Rounded out with poems, quotations, and aphorisms celebrating the joys of reading, this lovingly curated compendium is a love letter to all things literary, and the perfect thing for bookworms everywhere.

Other books that might interest you

  • Mandala Zentangle - The Mindful Way to Creativity - cover

    Mandala Zentangle - The Mindful...

    Jane Marbaix

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Zentangle is the drawing art form taking the world by storm. Easy to do and immensely enjoyable,  the Zentangle method can make artists of us all. To create artworks the Zentangle way, you need no drawing skills. The steps are easily taught in a few simple lessons In this follow up to her first book, the immensely successful Zentangle, Certified Zentangle Teacher Jane Marbaix explores the artistic possibilities of Zendalas and shows how beautiful and rewarding artworks can be created from the cosmic forms inherent in mandalas. The mandala-like imagery emphasizes the meditative and therapeutic nature of the Zentangle method.
    Show book
  • The Baddest Bitch in the Room - A Memoir - cover

    The Baddest Bitch in the Room -...

    Sophia Chang

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This book is powerful as hell and the author is a total badass. 
    A poignant blend of memoir and actionable inspiration that goes beyond stories of celebrities and eschews insider gossip for a clear-eyed and open-hearted perspective on motherhood, desire and sexuality, aging, music, and professional life as an Asian woman in a male-dominated industry.
    This author is a juggernaut of self-promotion, confident, well-spoken, experienced, widely and deeply well-connected, and frequently speaks to audiences of hundreds of people (most recently at places like Spotify corporate, Conde Nast corporate, etc) 
    The marketplace has seen outstanding sales for books like The Last Black Unicorn, Let Love Have the Last Word, and Go Ahead in the Rain in recent years; however, there are still very few memoirs published by powerful Asian American women in the arts. The Baddest Bitch in the Room is groundbreaking as one of the only books at the intersection of memoir, personal growth, and inspiration written by a powerful, middle-aged, Asian American pioneer of the music business 
    Catapult is publishing this as TPO after Reese Witherspoon personally persuaded the author to take an audio-only deal with Hello Sunshine / Audible as part of the partnership's 6-title audio-only publication in September 2019; Six weeks after the audio book was released, THE BADDEST BITCH IN THE ROOM was still a #1 Audible bestseller; so this book is also groundbreaking in its very publishing model, an angle we'll be exploring
    To appeal to readers of Brene Brown, Michelle Obama, Nicole Chung, or Elizabeth Gilbert's Big Magic; it's also for fans of hip-hop, including artists Wu-Tang Clan, A Tribe Called Quest, Raphael Saadiq, D'Angelo, and for fans of popular music history 
    Sophia Chang is a Korean-Canadian who left Vancouver for New York in 1987, when she first worked as an assistant to Paul Simon, and from there built her storied career at such record companies as Atlantic, Jive, and Universal Music Group. In 1993, Sophia met a Staten Island rapper named Prince Rakeem, now known as the RZA, founder of the Wu-Tang Clan, perhaps the most revered and influential rap group in hip-hop history. This meeting not only led to a deep, lasting friendship between Sophia and the Wu-Tang Clan that continues to this day, but also took Sophia’s life in new directions. Since then, she has managed Wu-Tang members ODB, GZA, RZA as well as Q-Tip, A Tribe Called Quest, Raphael Saadiq, and D'Angelo. In 1995, Chang left the music business to be trained in kung fu and to manage the USA Shaolin Temple with her then partner with whom she has two children. She currently splits her time between LA and New York
    Catapult's edition will feature expanded content and extensive visuals
    Author will speak at major venues and corporate partners (Spotify, MailChimp, Google, Apple), and we're pitching 92nd St Y, Los Angeles Public Library, Asian American museums and cultural institutions
    Show book
  • The True Story Behind Alfred Hitchcock's The Wrong Man - Stranger Than Fiction #6 - cover

    The True Story Behind Alfred...

    Fergus Mason

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Read the shocking real stroy behind Hitchcock's classic film! 
     
    The Wrong Man tells the incredible tale of an innocent man falsely accused of a crime. That in itself is hardly an unusual story, but in this case, a string of unlikely coincidences and sheer bad luck built a seemingly airtight case against him.  
     
    It seemed that the entire justice system was deaf to his pleas and all too willing to ignore the evidence his defenders had worked so hard to unearth. In the end, it was only a slip by the real perpetrator that proved his innocence. 
    While the movie certainly had its share of truth, it was still a movie, and parts were fabricated.  
     
    This book tells the real story behind the movie.
    Show book
  • This Brilliant Darkness: A Book of Strangers - cover

    This Brilliant Darkness: A Book...

    Jeff Sharlet

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A visionary work of radical empathy.
     
    Known for immersion journalism that is more immersed than most people are willing to go, and for a prose style that is somehow both fierce and soulful, Jeff Sharlet dives deep into the darkness around us and awaiting us.
     
    This work began when his father had a heart attack; two years later, Jeff, still in his forties, had a heart attack of his own. In the grip of writerly self-doubt, Jeff turned to images, taking snapshots and posting them on Instagram, writing short, true stories that bloomed into documentary. During those two years, he spent a lot of time on the road: meeting strangers working night shifts as he drove through the mountains to see his father; exploring the life and death of Charley Keunang, a once-aspiring actor shot by the police on LA’s Skid Row; documenting gay pride amidst the violent homophobia of Putin’s Russia; passing time with homeless teen addicts in Dublin; and accompanying a lonely woman, whose only friend was a houseplant, on shopping trips.
     
    Early readers have called this book “incantatory,” the voice “prophetic,” in “James Agee’s tradition of looking at the reality of American lives.” Defined by insomnia and late-night driving and the companionship of other darkness-dwellers—night bakers and last-call drinkers, frightened people and frightening people, the homeless, the lost (or merely disoriented), and other people on the margins—This Brilliant Darkness erases the boundaries between author, subject, and reader to ask: how do people live with suffering?
    Show book
  • How To Make It in the New Music Business: Practical Tips on Building a Loyal Following and Making a Living as a Musician (Second Edition) - cover

    How To Make It in the New Music...

    Ari Herstand

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Hailed as an “indispensable” guide (Forbes), How to Make It in the New Music Business returns in this extensively revised and expanded edition.
     
    When How to Make It in the New Music Business hit shelves in 2016, it instantly became the go-to resource for musicians eager to make a living in a turbulent industry. Widely adopted by music schools everywhere and considered “the best how- to book of its kind” (Music Connection), it inspired thousands to stop waiting around for that “big break.” Now trusted as the leading expert for “do it yourself” artists, Ari Herstand returns with this second edition, maintaining that a stable career can be built by taking advantage of the many tools at our fi ngertips: conquering social media, mastering the art of merchandising, embracing authentic fan connection, and simply learning how to persevere. Comprehensively updated to include the latest online trends and developments, it offers inspiring success stories across media such as Spotify and Instagram. The result is a must- have for anyone hoping to navigate the increasingly complex yet advantageous landscape that is the modern music industry.
    Show book
  • Zentangle 5 - 40 more Tangles and Fabulous Jewelry (sequel to Zentangle Basics 2 3 and 4) - cover

    Zentangle 5 - 40 more Tangles...

    Suzanne McNeill

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Are you eager for more tangles? Are you ready to take tangling beyond pater - into the next dimension? Welcome to Zentangle 5 where tangles meet bling, encounter shrink plastic, dominate dominoes, and emerge as wearable art. Show off your passion for tangling with fashion jewelry artfully and uniquely tangled by you. Whether you make a bold statement to complement you jeans, accent an attitude, or just add a bit of bling to your day, you'll find an appealing project here; along with 40 new tangles to inspire your ever expanding repertoire of design possibilities. Zentangle 5 is all about pushing the limits, discovering cerativity and exploring new venues. Open your eyes to a wider tangling experience and enjoy!
    Show book