Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
And the Wind Sees All - cover

And the Wind Sees All

Guđmundur Andri Thorsson

Translator Andrew Cauthery, Björg Árnadóttir

Publisher: Peirene Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Relaxing Nordic hygge in a novel; the entire story takes place in two minutes.In this story we hear the voices of an Icelandic fishing village. On a summer’s day a young woman in a polka-dot dress cycles down the main street. Her name is Kata and she is the village choir conductor. As she passes, we glimpse the members of the village: a priest with a gambling habit, an old brother and sister who have not talked for years, and a sea captain who has lost his son. But perhaps the most interesting story of all belongs to the young woman on the bicycle. Why is she reticent to talk about her past?Why Peirene chose to publish this book:Reading this book was like embarking on a gentle journey – with music in my ears and wind in my hair. Yes, there is some darkness in the tales, and not every character is happy. But the story is told with such empathy that I couldn’t help but smile and forgive the flaws that make us human.'A heart-warming gem of a novel' David Mills, The Sunday Times'An exceptional novel, full of music, sun and longing’Fréttablaðið

Other books that might interest you

  • The Second Wife - cover

    The Second Wife

    Brenda Chapman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Gwen Lake is a forty-five-year-old police officer with a desk job, an ex-husband and a future not even close to the American dream. A year after her divorce, and more out of boredom and curiosity than anything else, she agrees to a meeting with her ex's new wife. She has no idea that the encounter will lead to murder. And she has decidedly mixed emotions when her ex-husband is arrested for the crime. Instead of accepting the lead detective's advice to book a Club Med vacation and leave the investigation to the professionals, Gwen decides to work the case on her own. Her life is about to get a lot less predictable and a lot more dangerous.
    Show book
  • River of Lies - cover

    River of Lies

    R.M. Greenaway

    • 1
    • 15
    • 0
    In rain-drenched Vancouver, detectives Dion and Leith work to separate truth from lies in two seemingly unrelated cases. 
     
    
    
    February is the month of romance, but in North Vancouver it’s also become the month of murder. While the North Shore RCMP slog through the rain in the search for whoever left a young woman to die in the Riverside Secondary School parking lot — their first clue a Valentine’s Day card — a toddler mysteriously vanishes from a Riverside Drive home in the midst of a dinner party. 
     
    
    
    With Constable JD Temple's full attention on the parking lot murder, Constables Dave Leith and Cal Dion work the kidnap … until a tenuous connection is made between the two cases, along with the thinnest ray of hope that the child could be alive and well in the hands of a childless couple. But when more tragedy rains down on the North Shore, lies must be unveiled before the ugly truth can emerge.
    Show book
  • In Winter's Grip - cover

    In Winter's Grip

    Brenda Chapman

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    After her mothers suicide, Maja Cleary turned her back on her family and Duved Cove, Minnesotauntil a desperate phone call reveals that her father has been murdered and her brother Jonas is the prime suspect. She flies home, knowing that she will have to confront shared memories of an abusive father. Even as she works to prove her brothers innocence, she cannot ignore the evidence that he had every reason to kill their father. The frigid, stormy Minnesota landscape sets the mood as she battles against time, the local police and the relentless snow.
    Show book
  • City of Wishes: The Complete Cinderella Story - cover

    City of Wishes: The Complete...

    Rachel Morgan

    • 4
    • 28
    • 0
    Cinderella retold: A human slave, a fae prince, and a Godmother who’ll grant any wish—if you pay the price.
     
     
     
    In a world of fae, vampires and shifters, where magic is real and wishes can be bought and bargained for, Elle is on society's bottommost rung: she's human.
     
    To make matters worse, she's also a slave, bound to her stepmother by magic.
     
    Her only hope at freedom is to wish for it.
     
    But the Godmother rules the illegal wish trade, and the price she demands is steep.
     
    Elle has never been desperate enough to summon her.
     
    Until now.
     
     
     
    This collection includes all 6 episodes in the CITY OF WISHES Cinderella retelling:
     
    1. The Memory Thief
     
    2. The Vampire Trap
     
    3. The Moonlight Masquerade
     
    4. The Eternal Night
     
    5. The Starlight Quest
     
    6. The Everafter Wish
    Show book
  • Risking It All - cover

    Risking It All

    Stephanie Harte

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    Gemma is about to risk it all for the man she loves. Will she survive entering into a life of crime? 
     
    Gemma has always been there for Nathan. He's the love of her life and she made a commitment to him, one she'd never consider breaking... until smooth-talking gangster Alfie Watson comes into their lives and changes everything. 
     
    Alfie doesn't care about true love – he wants Gemma, and the gangster always gets what he wants. When Nathan ends up owing him money, Alfie gets payback by recruiting Gemma to carry out a jewellery heist. To everyone's surprise, she's a natural. Until Alfie forgives Nathan's debt, she has no choice but to accompany the gangster on more and more daring heists – even though one slip-up could cost her everything. 
     
    Nathan might have fallen under Alfie's spell, but it doesn't take long for him to realise that he needs to save Gemma from his own mistakes if their marriage is to have any chance of surviving. But when that means taking on the East End's most notorious gangster at his own game, will he find himself up to the challenge? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers, Emma Tallon and Jessie Keane.
    Show book
  • Her Last Hello - cover

    Her Last Hello

    Tara Sue Me

    • 4
    • 6
    • 0
    Athena Hamilton arrived in Vegas with empty pockets and a heart full of hope. Fifteen years later, her pockets are still empty and hope is a four letter word no longer in her vocabulary.
     
    Seduced by a gentleman she thought was her dream come true, she lives in an inescapable nightmare. Now after fifteen years, she’s living on borrowed time. All it takes is one mistake too many and she’ll disappear like so many others she’s known before.
     
    A chance meeting with a childhood friend seems to provide the way out she’s been desperate to find. However, she soon discovers that all is not what it seems. Freedom is only an illusion, but hope might be found in the most unlikely place.
     
    NOTE: This book  was originally published under the title OBSCURED. The content has not changed.
    Show book