Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
After the Winter - cover

After the Winter

Guadalupe Nettel

Translator Rosalind Harvey

Publisher: Coffee House Press

  • 1
  • 8
  • 1

Summary

Claudio’s apartment faces a wall. Rising from bed, he sets his feet on the floor at the same time, to ground himself. Cecilia sits at her window, contemplating a cemetery, the radio her best companion. In parallel and entwining stories that move from Havana to Paris to New York City, no routine, no argument for the pleasures of solitude, can withstand our most human drive to find ourselves in another, and fall in love. And no depth of emotion can protect us from love’s inevitable loss.

Other books that might interest you

  • Finding the Dragon - Stonefire Dragons #10 - cover

    Finding the Dragon - Stonefire...

    Jessie Donovan

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    **This story isn't a standalone novella. Please read at least Reawakening the Dragon (Stonefire Dragons #5) first.** 
    On the day Jane Hartley’s online video series finally launches, she and Kai receive word that his younger half sister, Delia, is missing. Gaining permission to search for her in Wales, Kai and Jane work together to find the teenage dragon-shifter before she winds up in the hands of the dragon hunters, or worse. 
    As the danger amps up, Kai and Jane’s relationship is put to the ultimate test. Will Kai and his dragon choose Jane above all? Or, will a ghost from Kai’s past end up tearing them apart?
    Show book
  • Challenge Accepted - cover

    Challenge Accepted

    KB Alan

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Since being turned into a werewolf, Adam has been a loner. Practically a hermit. Okay, actually a hermit. When the local wolves and werewolves start experiencing weird behavior, he can’t resist the pull to step up and see if he can help. And runs smack into trouble in the form of the werewolves’ National President. 
    
     
    
    
     
    Myra’s term as President is nearly over, but she’s determined to track down the wolf who was attacked, and turned against his will. When she meets Adam, she only wants to help him live a full and happy life. Then she sees him naked. And gets to know him. And decides she wants a lot more for him than to just escape his lonely cabin in the woods.
    
     
    
    
     
    Challenge Accepted can be read by itself. It is not necessary to read the series to enjoy this book.
    
     
    
    
     
    Wolf Appeal Series:
    
     
    Book 1 - Alpha Turned
    
     
    Book 2 - Challenge Accepted
    Show book
  • The Planck Factor - cover

    The Planck Factor

    Debbi Mack

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    "Thoroughly intriguing! A real page-turner."— Zoë Sharp, author of the best-selling Charlie Fox series
     
    On a dare, grad student Jessica Evans writes a thriller, creating a nightmare scenario based upon the theory that the speed of light is not a constant—one that has a dark application. Her protagonist (the fiancé of a scientist killed in a car crash) is pursued by those who want to use the theory to create the world’s most powerful weapon.
     
    However, Jessica is soon running for her life when events mimic that of her protagonist. She’s threatened by terrorist conspirators who intend to use the knowledge to create an event that causes mass destruction—even threatens the global extinction of all life. As the clock ticks down, Jessica must outwit the enemies and avert an apocalypse.
     
    MORE REVIEWS AND ENDORSEMENTS“Does art hold a mirror to life? Or does life mirror art? New York Times best-selling author Debbi Mack builds this surprising thriller layer upon layer with an ending that will make you want to read it all over again.” — Donna Fletcher Crow, author of An All-Consuming Fire, The Monastery Murders“Mack takes her reader on a roller-coaster ride with science, imagination, and a terrible possibility.” — Peg Brantley, author of the Aspen Falls Thriller series"[A] sleek tour-de-force exercise in Hitchcockian suspense about domestic terrorism, in which the McGuffin is a novel-within-the-novel and the novelist and her work intersect in unpredictable ways. Reality and fiction clash and spar for supremacy until the final paragraph."— W.D. Gagliani, author of Wolf's Blind (The Nick Lupo Series) and Savage Nights ABOUT THE AUTHOR
     
    Debbi Mack is the New York Times bestselling author of the Sam McRae Mystery Series. She's also published one young novel. In addition, she's a Derringer-nominated short story writer, whose work has been published in various anthologies.
     
    Debbi is also a screenwriter and aspiring indie filmmaker. Her first screenplay, The Enemy Within, made the Second Round in the 2014 Austin Film Festival screenplay contest and semifinals in the 2016 Scriptapalooza contest.
     
    A former attorney, Debbi has also worked as a journalist, librarian, and freelance writer/researcher. She enjoys walking, cats, travel, movies and espresso--not necessarily in that order.
    Show book
  • Portrait of a Marriage - A Novel - cover

    Portrait of a Marriage - A Novel

    Pearl S. Buck

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A wealthy painter falls in love with an illiterate Pennsylvania farm girl in this novel from the New York Times–bestselling author of The Good Earth.  At the turn of the century, an upper-class painter from Philadelphia goes searching for inspiration. He finds his muse on a farm—the farmer’s beautiful and humble daughter. His portrait of her becomes one of his most inspired works, but his passion for the illiterate girl doesn’t stop at the easel: He returns to marry her and settle down to country life—a journey that means bridging enormous gaps between their cultures, breaking from his parents, and creating tension between their friends. Pearl S. Buck compassionately imagines both sides of the complex marriage, and in addition, creates a wonderfully vivid picture of America leading up to the Second World War. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Pearl S. Buck including rare images from the author’s estate.
    Show book
  • Undaunted: Blood Bond: Parts 7 8 & 9 (Volume 3) - cover

    Undaunted: Blood Bond: Parts 7 8...

    Helen Hardt

    • 2
    • 8
    • 0
    Breaking into a cemetery isn’t anything Dante Gabriel ever thought he’d do, but he has no choice. He must recover his father’s body so he can claim his estate. Help arrives from two unexpected sources, but their plan is interrupted.
     
    Erin Hamilton’s best friend is a wolf shifter. The man she loves is a vampire. His father is a ghost. She can deal with all of that, but new worries have surfaced. The missing doctor has returned to the hospital, and his strange actions are disturbing…but not as disturbing as the odd dreams that begin to plague her. She finds comfort and love in Dante’s arms, even as he slowly begins to change.
     
    More secrets are revealed, and Dante and Erin recruit his cousin and her brother to help them find the missing women and discover the secrets of the Vampyre Texts, even as external forces work against them. But as Dante develops some unusual abilities and the darkness targeting him becomes more menacing, he must proceed, undaunted.
    Show book
  • The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe and Savage Thriller - cover

    The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe...

    James Hayman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller! 
    Two identical women.  
    Two identical murders. Two lives brutally cut short  
    108 years apart 
    June 1904. 
    Aimée Garnier Whitby, a beautiful French artist and wife of one of Maine's richest and most powerful men, is found near death on the Whitby family's private summer island, the letter "A" mysteriously carved into her chest. 
    June 2012. 
    Veronica Aimée Whitby, the eighteen-year-old descendant and virtual double of the first Aimée, becomes the victim of a near perfect copycat murder. With another beautiful, promising young Whitby woman slain, the media begin to swarm and pressure builds for Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage to bring the killer quickly to justice. But the key to solving Aimée's death just might have been buried with her beautiful ancestor. 
    The latest McCabe and Savage thriller from USA Today bestselling author James Hayman is a crackling, twisty novel of suspense, perfect for fans of J.A. Jance and John Sandford.
    Show book